We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schmetterlinstal Butterfly Valley

Schmetterlinstal Butterfly Valley
Petaloudes, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Petaloudes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Cloppenburg, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Visited here and paid entrance of 5 euros.The walk is very steep in places so good shoes are required.Thousands of butterflies in the trees and on rocks all the same kind I was a bit disappointed there were no other species.Place to take a rest and cafe on the way up also.Train also runs from the carpark for those who don't fancy the walk up. Visitors must keep as quiet as possible not to disturb the butterflies.Souvenier shop also at this attraction.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Interesting, but probably need to go at right time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We visited this place in September and this may not be the best time to visit it. Also we got to the site at 5pm and it closes at 6pm not giving us much time to see everything. You need to allow 2-3 hours to see the place and visit the Monastery at the top. It is said that the valley is fully of butterflies who are attracted to a special type of tree. In certain months (definitely not when we visited in late September) the trees are covered in butterflies. Towards the end of our visit we did start seeing lots of butterflies on trees. The whole place is very interesting, but be prepared to walk lots and wear good shoes. It costs 5 Euros per person to visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Lovely walk.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went to the butterfly valley during our holiday,it was an enjoyable day. We went up into the valley on a tourist train for 3 euros each, you could walk if you wanted, but it was hot when we was there and also it was very steep.Most people go up on the tourist train.When you get to the top there is a little Monostary that you can go in and light a candle if you want. Then you cross over the road from the Monostary and make your way through the pretty valley.We thought we wasn't going to see any butterflys at first,but as you get further down into the valley you see thousands clustered on the rocks and when they wake up and fly about they are very pretty to look at.I would recommend this trip and you get a break from the red hot sun as its very shady in the valley.Also I forgot to mention that it was 5 euro each to get into butterfly valley.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cool pretty place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Been there in mid September. Some said that there are hardly butterflies to see but we've seen plenty. You take the tourist train to the top (5min), where there is a little, pretty and old monastery. Next to it there's a little cafe with great wind and view. From there you get in the shady valley. Beautiful place with lots of trees and creek with steamy water that accompanies you while you stroll. Tons of red-zebra butterflies fly around and cover the big old trees. We walked slowly and finished after about an hour and a half. Be sure you keep walking until the third exit near the museum.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful shady place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The butterfly valley was recommended by a friend and is well worth a visit. There are thousands of butterflies resting on the rocks and trees and quite a number just flying about as you meander through the trees up a winding path. There are quite a few steps to climb so wear comfy shoes but as its wooded the majority of the walk is in the shade. There is a cafe where you can stop to get refreshments and take in the view. You can also climb up to the church at the top of the hill. It was very hot up here but again there was a refreshments stop. A great place to take a walk around if you want to avoid the midday sun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmetterlinstal Butterfly Valley also viewed

 

Been to Schmetterlinstal Butterfly Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schmetterlinstal Butterfly Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.