We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merapi experts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vogels Hostel

Vogels Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaliurang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vogels Hostel
Save
You added Vogels Hostel to your Saves list
Kaliurang, Kaliurang, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Dachau
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Merapi experts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We went to Vogels Hostels to do the Merapi trekking tour. So we knew that the rooms are quite simple. But you don´t go to Vogels because of the rooms.

We had one of the rooms of the white bungalow and it was quite okay. The room is big and you have warm water. What is not too bad at is not so warm there in the morning.

The bathroom needs a little redoing but it works and has a western toilet and a shower, so that´s fine enough.

The food is absolutely tasty and fine.

So now the main thing: trekking to Merapi with Chris son Adrian

Chris told us the important things in the morning at 4 o´clock while we had a good breakfast with coffe, fried egg and toast. As he is a real expert he can tell you everything about this mountain of fire.
So he informed us about the dangers of the mountain and as there was an eruption about 3 days later we were thankfull for it.

After the infos we went with his son Adrian who was our guide. First we went to see the sunrise and have a good look at the mountain and the valley with the Pranbanan temple. As the Merapi was behind the clouds we had to wait a little bit longer to se it.

We went through woods and high grass and we were thankfull for our long trousers and jackets. We climbed up and down. Through the streams of cold lava and the flat stony regions the vulcano left after his eruption 2010. We saw the damage in a little exhibition in a village were standing motor cycles and a minibus and much more...that felt really scary.
We also saw damaged houses and all the destroyed forest, blank treetrunks with dead branches reaching for the sky. But we also saw that nature is coming back and is taking its place angain and that is a good feeling too.

Finally we got to the bunker were two journalists died 2006 during a pyroclastic stream, scary once again. And there we went onto the dangerous area were Adrian had to listen to the walkie-talkie if anything is okay. We walked over the area were the pyroclastic streams come down when the Merapi has a real eruption. In this area ther is not much what grows untill now.

We went on untill we came to a canyon built by one of the lalahrs and we could not go any further, there we take pictures. There the earth is breaking down at the edges and you must be really carefull, because the canyon has a depth of about 20 meters or something like that.

From there you have a great view onto the top of the vulcano and the cut the last eruption built up. You can see the upcoming smoke from the stones and the destruction the eruption has made. You can see the bare stone and ashes round the top were nothing is growing.

For us it was an absolutely great expirience!

You just can go up to the bunker with a jeep and walk into the bunker as well, and you can look at the top from down there either, but the way to come to the point is so interesting and fascinating, as you can see so much details you can not see if you go by car.

Adrian showed us various plants and animals on the way and told us so much about his experience with the vulcano and how everything changed by the last eruption. You can not get that by car.

The people are coming back again, and as they now life from selling the volcano ashes as the vulcano gave them something to life from.

At the bunker is a small warung were you can by some picture books from the eruption.

On our way back we found some monkeys in the trees and Adrian told us how happy he is that they finally came back.

The last expirience was walking trough really high gras that cuts if you are unprotected. So we had to wear our jackets and wearing a fleece jacket at 35°C was no real fun, but it was absolutely necessary! Without Adrian we never had find out of this labyrinth.

As we went back the mountain suddenly put out much more smoke and ashes as in the morning and Adrian was listening to the walkie-talkie again. As the warning status is at the highest level it was a little bit thrilling for us, but the eruption came three days later.

We were really exhausted as we came back to the hostel were a really big breakfast was waiting for us.

So you should be sligtly fit for the trekking and you need good hikking shoes. Also a long trouser and long sleeve shirts are necessary. And a good sun protection.

A little plus point is the Merapi museum not fa from the hostel. But it is not about the mountain but about the culture of the people. We found it really interessting. They also have english speaking guids there.

We absolutely recomend this tour!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We did not stay at the Hostel but reached there in the middle of the night for the 6h tour of the Merapi Volcano. The main guide Christian is 69, in a pretty good shape for his age. He gave us a good presentation speech of the hike, explaining the potential dangers and safety tips. We started at 5 am after a good breakfast, with a group of 14 people, Christian and his son. Very good hike, beautiful sunrise, a few stops here and there, up to the bunker and furthermore if conditions allow it, then we came back down. It's a good full 5h walk without the breaks. Some areas are a bit wilder than others with lots of bushes and trees to avoid but overall, very nice views and conditions. At the end, a nice lunch is served back at the hostel. Christian and his son are nice, they explain a lot and answer your questions and are very serious about safety, they know what they are talking about. Not to be missed, and very cheap !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We truly enjoyed our night at Vogels Hostel - big/clean room, great diner, and most of all, it's the perfect starting point for a trekking near Merapi Volcano. Christian (owner of Vogels Hostel & guide) is an inspiring person, having organized the trekking for approx 30 years, he has great knowledge on Merapi and the beauty/danger of same. Also his son, Adrian, who joined our group as a guide was very keen on sharing his stories with us and showing us fruits/herbs etc along the way. If you are in the area, please visit Vogels Hostel and take time for the Merapi trekking tour, you will not regret it - even if it's only for the breakfast offered after your walk ;)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anhee, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We went to kaliurang with high expectations. Vogels hostel was what we expected, but the walk was just a a hard bush walk. some nice views of the volcano, but no need to walk 5 hours for that. You can just reach the same point by car. I don't know how the walk is if you come from the north (Selo) but I understood you can nearly approach the top (less 100m), and the walk is easier. Anyway you cannot reach the rim because of the danger. Altogether we are unhappy we stopped in Yogyakarta.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Vogels in the Green Bungalow for 100,000RP/night. The hostel is somewhat dated and in need of a lick of paint, but the twin room was clean with a wickedly comfortable mattress and the shared bathroom has hot water. The food at Vogels is simple, tasty and super cheap!

We organised trekking to see Mt Merapi at sunrise through the wonderfully humble owner, Christian - we absolutely loved it!! The trek was well organised and with the meals included, great value. Christian met us at 4am to tell us about the history of the mountain of fire, his son then guided us over lava beds and through the jungle to view the majestic Mt Merapi. Great experience, would love to come back some day!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a very good place if you are interested into nature, landscape, you want a good trek and shoot some picture of a smoking volcano.

The hostel itself is not special: bathroom need restoration, the hot water system isn't "stable" enough to guarantee a decent shower. Connections with Jogyakarta are troublesome.

On the other hand the owner is friendly and speak a good english, the food in the hostel is good. The main "attraction" there is the volcano trip that Christian and his son run almost daily.

We were just 2 people that day, and we enjoy to walk. We had 6 hours of walk in the middle of the forest through a little village that was destroyed by volcanic ashes, to end on the border of an huge canyon. Along the way (thanks to our guide) we found a cinnamon tree, lemon grass, passion fruits and other delicious fruits i don't remember the name...

I went there in the rainy season (february), but i advise to go when dry because the volcano may be hidden by a thick layer of clouds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hostel is owned by Christian Ayam, a well know expert on Merapi. The hostel is clean and offers both mid-range and budget options. Christian organizes tours and hikes of Merapi which generally begin at 400 am and end later in the morning. The tour/hike also includes a 20-30 minute information bref on the history of Merapi including footage of the last two eruptions. It was extremely informative. I was extremely satisfied by the tour/hike and highly recommend both the tour and hostel.

Room Tip: Select the higher quality rooms - great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaliurang
10.6 mi away
Rumah Mertua
Rumah Mertua
#1 of 7 in Ngaglik
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.0 mi away
Fuji Villa Hotel
Fuji Villa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kaliurang
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Raffles Holiday Hotel Yogyakarta
0.1 mi away
Kampung Labasan Resort
2.3 mi away
Cangkringan Jogja Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vogels Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vogels Hostel

Address: Kaliurang, Kaliurang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Kaliurang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kaliurang
Also Known As:
Vogels Hostel Kaliurang, Java

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vogels Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.