We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location terrible food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amanzo'e

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amanzo'e to your Saves list
Amanzo'e
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kranidi, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kranidi B&B and Inns
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful location terrible food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Fantastic location interesting architecture disappointing food in the restaurant ,very friendly staff
fantastic beach and beautiful water magnificent views towards the islands of Spetzes and Hydra the shuttle service from hotel to beach takes 10 min and is a bit a bumpy ride but the rider will be awarded with fantastic water in one of the best bays of Greece

Room Tip: avoid far end rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Perfection has arrived in Europe!

I was lucky enough to stay at this fabulous property for 5 nights and leaving was like leaving family behind.
Under the expert guidance of hosts Char and Henry Gray this latest Aman will blossom to become one of Europe's finest. The resort is less than a year old and is an architectual gem.
The 38 villa's are all identical, with either ater or valley views. 110 m2 inside and 100m2 outside court yard and private pool space.
Understated, elegant, intuitive, warm, luxurious, spacious - what more could you want?

The spa, wellness, fitness areas are massive - a variety of pools, a full gym, pilatus studio, a great yoga area + coach, beautiful treatment rooms, incl a Watsu pool, Thai massage rooms you name it.

A pool + restaurant, a beach club ( 15 min drive ) + restaurant, a main (fine) dining room and a glorious bar and lounge.
The views are great, the food of high quality and a wonderful array of Greek wines.

The staff are plentiful and superbly trained. They are engaging, friendly and exceptionally proud of the product and the region.
I could go on and on, but it is class all the way. As a hotelier myself, I left re-energised, knowing that great hospitality and service still exists in a warm, genuine and understated way.

Please go, you will love it and you will leave refreshed and spoiled.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical - pick one, anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This new property is stunning. The grounds, public areas and rooms are all spectacular. Rooms are separate villas with a bedroom, large living room, two bathrooms separated by dressing areas and a large shower room and tub, plus a large patio complete with plunge pool (or larger pool for the more expensive rooms). Lots of white and gray marble and light wood, very calming and serene effect, albeit not particularly Greek-seeming.

The pool area is pleasant, with a separate pool for children so it stays quiet by the adult pool. The beach club is a shuttle ride away and is even better. You can swim in two pools or the sea, and when we were there we were entertained by the comings and goings of several large boats and yachts. We didn't use the spa or the fitness center but both looked beautiful. The open air bar and restaurant were very pleasant and are connected by a series of large patios where you can sit with a drink and watch the sunset over the water.

While I can't fault anything about the design of the place, there were still a few kinks when we were there in September, shortly after opening. Service was eager but not yet polished, for the most part - there were multiple errors in drink and food orders. None of this mattered in a relaxed vacation setting and with staff who were obviously trying hard, but I think most people who pay these rates for a hotel expect a step above the current service level. This will probably improve over time. The other area that could use some improvement was the food. It was best to stick with simple, fresh presentations as the more gourmet attempts were less successful. Our best meal was the farmers salad and little pizza we had at the beach club. I'm not saying the restaurant food was bad, just for the money charged we weren't overly impressed.

Overall I'd give it 4-1/2 stars but am rounding up because of the wow factor. We very much enjoyed our two days of relaxing at Amanzoe at the end of a week of more active touring elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It would be very hard to find enough words to describe this astonishing and wonderful new hotel. Sublime, beautiful, spacious, and luxurious – but mostly it is extraordinary. And I mean that literally – it is outside of the ordinary.
If you found this hotel in Asia, you would be amazed – but to find it in Europe is absolutely surprising. It has been created with only one idea in mind – to give the guest the very best and most wonderful environment and experience.
It is impossible to find one thing to describe above all others - the beach, the fantastic design, the acres of marble, the views, the pool, the food... All of them deserve to be mentioned. I think the most notable element is the sense of space - the design has been hugely generous at every level - the Pavilions are vast, spacious and airy - full of light. The public areas are beautiful and light - allowing you as much privacy as you wish, but still on a human and personal scale.
But finally, as always, the experience is made by the people. The staff and service are excellent, creating a superb ambience of peace and luxury.
Do not hesitate – go now!

Room Tip: All of the Pavilions are identical - each with its own pool - but there are differences in the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

LOVED being part of the excitement of the newest AMAN opens in GREECE! Great staff, architecture, archeology, topography, local, sustainable & organic food, and ambience. But what this hotel has beyond the rest is the HISTORY of the best voices, minds, and thoughts of Aman. Led by the Grays, Henry and Char went out of their way to show me the best of this property. True, other Amans are breathtaking, but none can claim to be a mythological odyssey, as this is the first Aman in the birth place of the sun god Apollo! Spectacular sun, lovely and safe walks to the beach at the bottom of the lovely hill (complete with horse and sheep petting along the way), private beach club, elegant decks all over the property for my morning and afternoon T'ai Chi, brought here by Simos and taken back by Panos, massaged by the best Aman massage I've ever had since Bhutan by Nicoletta, and the best spa in Greece, hands down. I would live here.

Room Tip: any room has a view of some sea and olive trees...what more do you want?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Massana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Amanzoe is just amazing, its stunningly beautiful and with a peace over it thats hard to find. The suites are grand, and fitted to perfection. The views are amazing, and only thing is that it will be even better when the garden is fully matured. The restaurants only carry Greek food, but that was okay for our short stay. For a longer stay i would properly get tired of it. But the food was delicious to say the least. The people where very helpful, and all our wishes for excursions where delivered with precision. One thing though just go there to stay in the resort, the citys and area are not very nice. And the food outside the resort makes you wish you ate at the resort. The beach club is just fantastic, and i recommend spending most time there as nothing else compares. The staff was very accepting of our baby daughter (1 year old). And we never felt not welcome as a family. Just one tip dont try to walk to the beach club, we almost got eaten by the farmers dogs on the way there. Ohh and by god take the helicopter there, the car transfer is just awful 3 hours of hell.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe room, not much more expensive and seems to have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montigny-le-Bretonneux, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had decided to rent a car from Athens airport. First 100km portion is highway, then the second half is a scenic mountain road. It takes about 2:30 hours. However the resort is extremely difficult to find and without the help of teenagers showing us the way on their motorbike from Kranidi we would still be lost. So best way to reach Amanzoé is to request an Aman car or helicopter.

The resort is in a soft-opening stage. But it was hard to believe that first guests arrived one month ago only as the service was so friendly, efficient and attentive. Perfect housekeeping (never visible). You never had to sign anything or to give your room number even on the first day as everybody seem to know you. Attention to detail is just amazing.

Choice in restaurant is somewhat limited. For lunch you can go to the pool restaurant (great salads, sandwiches like roasted lamb with pita bread) or to the beach club restaurant (fish, salads, pizzas). For dinner the main restaurant serves a refined & more elaborate cuisine. The Chef is a nice guy who previously worked in Paris & London. His 20+ brigade will rethink & adapt the menu after the first operating months to comply with guests expectations. For dinner for 2 starters, 2 main courses and 2 glasses of wine prices range from 120 to 140 Eur. For lunch 2 or 3 salads to share were about 50 Eur.

We went to the well equiped gym everyday. We saw 3 different trainers all very helping. We tried Pilates classes and had a lot of fun (there are 2 daily classes of Yoga / Stretching / Pilates).

The spa is beautiful, we had the best therapists there that we ever experienced. I also had a haircut, they call a hair stylist from Kranidi who spent 15 years in Chicago. She was just as kind as Amanzoe own staff.

With 38 pavilions only (each with their private pool) the resort never feels too busy. Monumental library, main pool (25mx12m), beach club pools (two of 25mx6m each), fantastic view both from the bar and the restaurant, I do not have enough words to say how beautiful and relaxed this resort is.

The beach is a pebble beach but after the first 5 meters it is a sand bedsea and in September the water temperature is at its best. Going there from the resort is a 10 minutes drive with one of the Aman cars (Cayenne, ML, E-class, Mercedes mini-van). We booked the 'Aquazoe' for one day (Pershing 62), it is a great way to visit nearby islands like Spetses and Hydra, even if a bit expensive (about 3.000 Eur). They also have a smaller boat called 'Amanzoe One' which is about half the price of Aquazoe.

Do not hesitate and just go as it will become a favorite destination very quickly.

Room Tip: Pavilion choice will depend on what you value most: view (to me best is 24/25/26/27/28 and 34/35/36...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanzo'e? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzo'e

Address: Kranidi, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Kranidi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kranidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanzo'e 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Amanzo'e reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanzo'e, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.