We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How About 4.8?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pineapple Fields Resort

Save Saved
You added Pineapple Fields Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pineapple Fields Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banks Rd., Governor's Harbour EL-29924, Eleuthera   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“How About 4.8?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Once we got deciphering instructions for the TV remotes (1st afternoon), extra pillows (2nd day), and gave up on the promised in-room wi-fi (3rd day), we thoroughly enjoyed this stunningly pleasant apartment. The colors of the buildings, furnishings and decor were exactly as pictured on the TripAdvisor site, maybe even a bit brighter. The complex is a set of about 8 two story apartments, and we were glad to be upstairs. The surf and sand out the LR side and the tranquil pool area outside the BR side were perfect for decompressing. And the entire staff could not have been more cordial, welcoming and hospitable. Kudos especially to the boss, David Barlyn (an exemplar of the Cornell Hotel Management program) and the ever-cheerful office czar, Tamara Johnson and the housekeepers. The unit was well provisioned with kitchen and serving items, and more than adequate for a few stay-in meals. Wi-fi seemed to kick in after a short stroll toward the pool or an adjacent unit. There are a cheerful restaurant (Tippy's) and a deli (Bank Street, adjoining the office) close at hand. We tried the AC only one afternoon when the customary breezes abated and it was quiet and efficient. We were glad to have a rental car to get to town (other restaurants, a grocery and wine shop, etc.) and to explore the island. (Go see the glass window bridge.) This was a second trip in three year for us, as one of our adult kids somehow landed a teaching job at one of the schools on the island, which winds up this summer.

Room Tip: Upstairs units should have better views and no noise from traffic on top of the unit. We were in Bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    58
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
109
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bahamas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful island ! Rooms were well appointed, offering everything one needs yet maintaining an island feel.David sands gives Eco tours which were relaxing and informative. Food was really good, particularly Tippys at pineapple fields.

Room Tip: You'll probably need a car if you plan to see the island...we didn't but David's tour sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep Creek, Rock Sound, The Bahamas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Its a great place to spend a weekend or a week. I love the property with its native landscaping, patios, pretty pool and tons of hidden outdoor showers. The location is ideal. The quality of the rooms is the best, from linens to fixtures to kitchen accessories. You will feel completely comfortable, relaxed and that you are getting good value for money. Don't stay anywhere else in Central Eleuthera.

Room Tip: I love the 2 bedrooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Palm trees sway,waves splash and a great place to relax and avoid the worst month of winter ,February.The staff is very helpful and knowledgable. The units are well equipped and if you must have TV, stereo and internet - all are there. Denise at the Bank Street deli on the property,brews expresso and bakes great chocolate croissants every morning except Sunday. A great restaurant is next door, Tippy's. This hotel is wonderful place to stay for a week or a month.

Room Tip: Upper units Have ocean 24 hour and wonderful breeze. Down units in beautiful gardens and no steps t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yemassee, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at Pineapple Fields during a birthday weekend celebration. Our condo was clean, comfortable and efficient. The service was terrific and the grounds were lovely.The resort had a relaxing and calm feel to it, which was wonderful. We would return with enthusiasm.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Pineapple Fields is just the best -- lovely unspoiled beach with miles to walk; clean, attractive condos; excellent housekeeping (cleaning daily); attentive (but not hovering) staff; total relaxation. We've travelled all over the world and have been going to Pineapple Fields for years and always enjoy our time there. This last visit was ten days. Already looking forward to next time. It's different from other resorts b/c it's quiet but there are plenty of activities if you want them; it's low-key but elegant and first class; it offers privacy but plenty of opportunity to socialize if you want to. Our goal is to relax, read, swim, sun, and generally hang out -- perfect for Pineapple Fields. Food at Tippy's is great -- good service, excellent cuisine with good variety; the Deli has freshly-made muffins, breads, croissants with snacks and deli fare to buy with more good service.

Room Tip: All the units are great; second floor units have a better view os the ocean but first floor units ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here in January 2013 and had an outstanding time. We have vacationed all over and own rental properties ourselves. Here is why we liked it. The condo (we rented a two-bedroom) was well laid out, with all the necessary equipment and amenities and all in great shape. The "resort" has a nice pool, well-landscaped and very attractive grounds, and you can walk about one block to a beautiful beach and a great restaurant (Tippys). There is a new nature preserve and a well-stocked deli also within short walking distance. We ate at the restaurant, Tippy's, every night; great food, very casual layout and dress, and right on the sand and beach with a tremendous view. Never a bad meal and a nice people mix of young and old, European, American, and other, couples and families. You do need a reservation unless you get there before 6:30 but they are very helpful with those. The maitre D is also the owner and his gruff Austrian demeanour hides a sweetheart. He also owns the deli. The deli had equally great food and nice staff. The Pineapple Fields folks could not have been more friendlier or helpful. We sunned and snorkeled, visited the nature preserve, read and swam and generally hung out for a week. The snorkeling was good, and there is world-class snorkeling and surfing a short drives away. The preserve was fascinating and hosted a high-end lecturer while we were there. We also rented a car for a day and drove (left hand driving but no big deal given almost literally no one else on the roads) around the island. Well worth it.

We booked some fishing and other activities but high winds nixed them, but they are also available to do from PF.

What is great for us might not work for others. There is no immediate nightlife beyond Tippy's or a long drive to other resorts, and no glamor or glitz or heavy bar scene. And Eleuthera is much less-developed (and larger, 100 miles long) than other islands. In short, this is not Harbor Island - although there is nothing wrong with Harbor. Active teenagers who need more than sun and sand and water might get bored fast. And you need a car to go anywhere outside of PF and most people rent for the week (easy to do, they just give you the car and keys, no agreement).

The units are cleaned and restocked every day, and you can rent any beach equipment you didn't or couldn't bring. Our unit was well laid-out and nicely decorated. Well designed for chilling out. Cable reception excellent and a broad offering.

It is hard to find any negatives about our stay. Our unit had a supply of the worst novels we have ever read but they were a great source of entertainment. If we had to find a legitimate complaint it would be that the Internet WIFI was spotty at best in our unit. If you need to be robustly connected for sure that would be a challenge. We didn't really care. Oh yes, we ran into the owners of the new horseriding stables and asked for rates - $US235 an hour per person. Eh. We passed. Everything else was surprisingly reasonably priced for an island.

We really did not have any complaints at all and had a great time relaxing. Cannot recommend it enough for people who want to do the same. And of course, Eleuthera itself is beautiful.

Room Tip: I'd chose a second floor room and ask for one with good internet if that is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pineapple Fields Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Fields Resort

Address: Banks Rd., Governor's Harbour EL-29924, Eleuthera
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera > Governor's Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Governor's Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pineapple Fields Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort and restaurant are located on the most beautiful beach in the Out Islands. The property features an oversized pool, acres of lush tropical landscape, a gourmet deli, boutique and sporting/rental shop. One-bedroom units feature a master bedroom and bath, living room with a queen size pull out sofa-bed, full kitchens, verandas with teak furniture, cable TV, ceiling fans, AC, wireless internet and in-room phones. Two-bedroom units include a second bath and bedroom with (2) twin beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Pineapple Fields Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineapple Fields Eleuthera
Pineapple Fields Hotel Eleuthera
Pineapple Fields Resort Eleuthera, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pineapple Fields Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.