We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxed, and easy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pineapple Fields Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pineapple Fields Resort to your Saves list
Pineapple Fields Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banks Rd., Governor's Harbour EL-29924, Eleuthera   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wash DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, relaxed, and easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I was recently a guest at Pineapple Fields...the perfect place to get away from the rat race that can become our lives. The beach is spectacular with pink sand and very few people. The pool area is lovely, the landscaping is beautiful, the units are clean and bright. I really liked the idea of having breakfast in the unit and being able to sit outside for lunch/dinner at Tippy's. The food is delicious and not expensive compared to a lot of resorts out there. It was crowded every night with a lot of friendly, fun people...great atmosphere! I also love the island of Eleuthera in general....the locals are warm and friendly. I’m recommending this boutique hotel to everyone I know b/c I want them to experience the same easy and perfect vacation that I did...you will not be disappointed!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    64
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
117
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

A perfect getaway for quiet, clean relaxing weekend. The apartments, the location, the grounds, the staff all provide a wonderful vacation experience. Right across the road from a gorgeous, secluded beach, this resort's units contain small kitchens and amenities that made our girl's weekend absolutely ideal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

I traveled with my daughter to Eleuthra. Hadn't been for 20 + years. This is a great spot for small families or a couple. Lovely grounds, great pool..restaurant (tippys) and deli are handy, friendly office staff. Clean units, with all you need ( though not much kitchen stuff if you plan to cook much), and quiet neighbors. Xena the resident pot cake dog is adorable, and ushered my daughter home the first day from the deli and it was love at first sight! You need a car though to get anywhere else but Tippys. The Beach House restaurant which became one of our favourites is fairly close by. We'll be back for sure.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our trip to Eleuthera was our first visit to any Caribbean Island: I can't imagine why we would go anywhere else the next time! Pineapple Fields provides a most excellent piece of heavenly peacefulness. THe rooms are calm, bright, breezy, clean and well-appointed. The staff —and indeed the other visitors we met too— are all friendly, easy going, helpful but never obsequious or overbearing. The place makes NO DEMANDS on you whatsoever which results in a most relaxing atmosphere that is a great compliment to the absolutely fantastic site. Pineapple Fields sits a step away from the most unspoiled and unpopulated white sand beach that I've ever seen surrounding a sea of INTENSE aquamarines and purples. Tippy's the resort's restaurant sits directly on this mazing beach and offers a wide menu of VERY FINE food. We dined there day and night for our four-day stay and didn't even begin to tire of the food —nor did we get to try everything either. THe chef's, Peter and David, do a top-notch job and the presentation is always as fine as the flavor. But despite classy food that could hold its own anywhere, the Tippy's atmosphere is still breezy casual and perfectly at home with bare feet and bathing suits too.

One funny experience that speaks well for the place too—— One afternoon I noticed numerous police cars and a television crew around the cottages and at Tippy's. The next morning more police cars. I began to worry (slightly) that there was some mishap afoot so asked our lovely housekeeping staff what was happening. It seems that the Prime Minister of the Bahama's had spent the night in the building next to us while on a campaign circuit!
I simply could not recommend Pineapple Fields more highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

If you've found Pineapple Fields, you have found a little slice of paradise. The island of Eleuthera is an unspoiled utopia and Pineapple Fields, Tippy's and Banks Road Deli all contribute to that feeling of paradise. We have visited Eleuthera twice now and stayed at Pineapple Fields both times. I would go back in a heart beat. If you want crowded beaches and poor food this place is NOT for you. We have had truly relaxing vacations here, enjoying miles and miles of beaches, great food, good music and friendly people at Pineapple fields.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Flying into Eleuthera was a breeze from Nassau and the bird's eye view of the island when arriving was incredible. Driving to Pineapple fields, the sense that you're really entering paradise is magnified. And then you arrive! The colourful buildings, the gardens, the sounds of waves crashing - this is when you begin to forget the rest of the world. The fabulous staff, the delicious deli nearby with world-class croissants, the extremely comfortable lodgings and the gorgeous pink-sand beaches (complete with Tippy's beachside bar!) make sure that you don't soon remember it until it's time to leave. Truly a wonderful vacation we had.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Eleuthera is a small island with a wonderful, peaceful vibe...good people everywhere. Pineapple Fields was a great reflection of all that. The grounds are beautiful, the staff friendly, the rooms were superb...even the cable TV package was excellent...including 2 Canadian channels so I could keep up on news from back home. The stunning colors of the Atlantic are a two minute walk away. Just down the road, is the Leo Levy Nature Preserve. Five dollar admission. Well worth it.

The pool was very nice...and very comfortable...lots of shade/sun areas...and the water was pretty easy to get used to considering it's not heated. The office has a computer for internet use...and a great selection of DVDs.

Tippy's across the street...had amazing food. Make a reservation for supper because it's not that big and it's such a cool place with a great ocean view and beach...that everyone wants to go there. The deli on the property had great coffee, cappuccino, fresh baked goods and a decent selection of wine, cheese, olives and other food that could be prepared in your room.

A few times we needed some room maintenance for a stuck door and a room safe that locked us out...it was fast and friendly. The women who came by daily to dust, vacuum and clean up were also first rate.

But the way the outstanding way the property is run comes back to the owner David...who is very approachable and genuinely nice. Example: the morning after we arrived my wife became very ill with what turned out to be double pneumonia. I told TJ in the office that my wife needed medical attention and we didn't have a car yet...could she get us a cab to get to the clinic in Governor's Harbour? David overhead this...reassured us that everything would be all right...that the clinic was very good. He took us there himself right away...and told us to call him for a ride back after my wife got treatment. Amazing. By the way...after receiving oxygen, medicine, doctor care, nursing care and medication...and a follow up visit...the total coast was $80. I nearly dropped dead and needed treatment myself after hearing that. Imagine how over-inflated North American healthcare really is.

David also has a really sweet dog named Zena...who will adopt certain guests. She adopted us and stayed in our suite sometimes and followed us around.

We used Stanton Cooper to rent a car with. Ask almost anyone on the island...they know him and he has a good reputation.

Visiting Harbour Island was a highlight...and exploring the place and its narrow hilly streets on a rental golf cart was alot of fun. But so was just hanging around Pineapple Fields and Governor's Harbour...or taking the car north...and south...and checking out all the little settlements along the way.

David told me not to overlook what could be improved when I wrote my review. Okay David...two things. I think the outside area where the bakery is...for sitting, eating and just socializing...could be spruced up a bit. It doesn't match the rest of the place. The chairs are falling apart. A few nails and some paint would do the trick. And...we had a first floor unit. There was a fair amount of animal (bird?) poop on the back veranda railing. I think this should be cleaned up on a daily basis when housekeeping makes the rounds.

Finally...other reviews have commented on how expensive everything is...or how far everything is from Pineapple Fields...or how renting a car didn't match their expectations. Didn't you read in before you went? It's a small island where almost everything is imported. Go to Mexico or Jamaica if you want to be a pampered tourist...who can't leave the resort without being set upon by beggars and worse. We would go back to this unspoiled paradise again, no problem. The extra money is well worth the relaxation and peace of mind.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pineapple Fields Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Fields Resort

Address: Banks Rd., Governor's Harbour EL-29924, Eleuthera
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera > Governor's Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Governor's Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pineapple Fields Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort and restaurant are located on the most beautiful beach in the Out Islands. The property features an oversized pool, acres of lush tropical landscape, a gourmet deli, boutique and sporting/rental shop. One-bedroom units feature a master bedroom and bath, living room with a queen size pull out sofa-bed, full kitchens, verandas with teak furniture, cable TV, ceiling fans, AC, wireless internet and in-room phones. Two-bedroom units include a second bath and bedroom with (2) twin beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pineapple Fields Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineapple Fields Eleuthera
Pineapple Fields Hotel Eleuthera
Pineapple Fields Resort Eleuthera, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pineapple Fields Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.