We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club to your Saves list
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Bay | Canouan Island, Charlestown, Canouan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlestown
Oxted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Exceptionally friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is also a yacht club and although we were anchored in the bay we used this hotel for the yacht services that it provides. We did not stay in the hotel so unable to comment on rooms etc. The staff were all so incredibly helpful especially the girls in reception. We hired a golf buggy from the hotel to explore and do a couple of airport trips which was great fun. The food is good with two restaurants to choose from and there is entertainment several nights of the week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    50
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
79
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

As the title says if you want total relaxation then this is your place. You wont be bothered by anyone and you get so relaxed it becomes an effort to walk to the restaurant in the evenings!
The only thing I could find wrong was that there was no room service for food. The rooms have beautiful balconies where we would have loved to have sat having breakfast.
The staff were wonderful and I couldn't fault any of them, Felix ran a great restaurant with superb staff and the beach staff were brilliant especially Floyd who brought us coconut in the afternoons.
I'd like to think if I am lucky to go to heaven it may be like this!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We decided to go back to STG after our stay in Bequia last year which was heaven.

This hotel was the end of our holiday after 5 nights in union island,

We were picked up from the ferry from union island and taken to the hotel. As it was still early in the morning we were met with smiles at first from reception but asked immediately to pay for the remainder of our stay (we had already paid for 3 nights as a deposit) but asked for the 4th. We felt this was a little overpowering. We went for breakfast and then asked if we wanted to book a table for that evening, as it was two for one drinks evening and would be busy. (We thought this was another ploy to get us to stay and again overbearing as we had just arrived. In fact we did stay fir food that evening and it was busy. A lovely atmosphere. The rest of the evenings were quiet.

The rest of the stay was lovely, the rooms were very clean and we had a lower ground floor with direct access onto the beach. The beach boys were very attentive and had our towels and sunbed covers ready each morning and they cleaned the beach each morning, the beach bar was also well managed and we had lunch one day and was quick and very efficient and plenty of food.

The drinks were expensive.

We ventured out to the rest of the island (apart from the resort at the top - canouan resort) which did not allow anyone through. We hired a beach buggy and found some beautiful beaches, not many places to eat out and once again very quiet. Mangoes restaurant delicious lobster.

All in all a quiet place (as we wished) at the end of our trip to st Vincent's.

Lovely

Room Tip: Downstairs room have a gate direct onto the beach in the far block at the end of the beach away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If your idea of the Caribbean is going to sleep hearing the ocean, crystal waters and palm trees, this is the place for you! Definitely off the beaten path, it reminds one of the BVIs years ago.
The hotel itself rates 5 stars for the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to be helpful and make your stay a nice one.The front desk staff really go out of their way to accomodate every request. Restaurant and beach staff are great, making every effort to make you feel comfortable.

The rooms have a great low key island feel, with shutters and wood floors. The rooms are right on the beach, with porches for relaxing. (Porch furniture could be a lot more comfortable though.)
The beds are VERY comfortable and perfectly made up, including a daily accent of fresh flowers.
Internet access in the rooms could be a little spotty, but always available in the lobby and on the beach.
That said, I would give the hotel 3.5 stars for the general condition. The bathrooms, while adequate, are overdue for some updating. The fiberglass showers, with shower curtains, are a bit of a letdown in an otherwise nice room. Love the ceiling fans - you don't even need the AC! Overall maintenance of the property could use some work, although the staff works hard at keeping it very neat and clean. Painting of the buildings, sidewalks, landscaping - all could use a little refreshing. The setting, however, is gorgeous, right on the beach of a beautiful bay. The hotel photos are quite accurate.
As far as the food goes,I stayed mostly with the local fresh fish and vegetables. With Italian management, they offer pasta and pizza from a wood oven, as well. While food in the islands is expensive in general, I would say for the price, the quality is just average. The hotel could benefit from a daily happy hour, to attract the sailing crowd in greater numbers, but average around $7.50 US. They do offer some good Italian wines too.

All in all, I had a great stay as a single traveler. It was exactly what I was looking for. Take the time to go out on a boat, as the Grenadines are stunning. Absolutely loved the island - great group of local people, very friendly and hospitable. Go now - it won't be like this for much longer.
I will be back for sure!

Room Tip: First floor - you can walk right out to the beach. Second floor - more privacy. #300 building - le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A place to go if you want peace and quiet... not a lot happens here which is much of the attraction. Canouan is at the moment a great little island and generally unspoilt. The people are very friendly and we saw no hassling. Mangrove Restaurant along the beach worth a visit - have the special if there is one.

A trip to Tobago Cays is a must.

We flew in to the tiny airport - actually fun, and so different from the norm. Left by fast ferry Jaden Sun to Kingstown, St Vincent, another different and interesting way to travel.

The Hotel is comfortable and laid back in the best sense. Great friendly service, average food though the fish was good. We had a suite - great high ceiling, dark wood panelling, comfortable, large bed, decent balcony - exactly the right mix for the setting (who wants a modern hotel room? This is so much better).

We wil certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Location is superb. On a magnificent palm-fringed beach sheltered by the bay and backed by green hills, with white sand and clear beautiful water - like a dream. Just amazing to wake up to in the morning, especially as ALL rooms look directly onto the sea, not 30 feet away from your windows! First floor rooms are best as you can walk out straight out of your room's patio onto the beach - very nice!

Rooms are nicely done and have some character, lovely decor reminiscent of a sailboat cabin with white paneling on the walls and dark wooden floors, doors and blinds. Lovely. But two things stood out as odd:
1. shower stall is not appropriate for this level of hotel - it looks like cheap fiberglass motel shower with old showerhead and much-too-used shower curtain. Water pressure/temperature is good though.

2. Bed was comprised of two twin beds pushed together. They were comfortable to sleep on - but why not put a queen there?

Food is hit and miss. Stay away from tuna carpaccio - terrible. Anything that comes with mashed potatoes - terrible - the potatoes are the ones from an instant potato mix... - not acceptable for a boutique hotel that charges US$350 per night and US$24 per plate of food. Breakfast sausages are awful. Was served a rotten yogurt at breakfast once. Juices are all from a can or from concentrate, disappointing considering the tropical location and the hotel rates. But club sandwich, burger, smoked swordfish and smoked salmon are good. Pizzas are good as well. Cocktails are good and well priced - and there is a happy hour with 2for1 on Wednesdays. Breakfast is included in nightly rate as is standard with such hotels.

Lastly service, which really is the last thing worth noting here.
- Smiles from staff are hit and miss like the food.
- Waiters are slow and half the time need customers' help placing something on the table. They'll just come and look at you until you make room for what they brought on your table...
- Breakfast service is disorganized and tables are being wiped with some sort of rag that smells of bleach right before you sit down. After complaining about the rottem yogurt at breakfast, the waiter simply picked up the yogurt with no word of regret or alopogy and silently brought another one of different flavor than before - again with zero commentary.
- Our room had a door lock problem where on average it took 2 minutes to turn the key 'just so' in order to get into the room. This problem presented itself right away when we were shown to the room on arrival, and the hostess actually couldn't get the door to open and asked my husband to try. After a few tries he did manage to open it... But instead of the door being fixed the next day, it remained this way for the duration of our stay.
- Calling housekeeping for a bottle of water meant a half hour wait and a second phone call to remind them of the request.
- Beach, although beautiful needs a bit more cleaning. They do rake the sand to make it nicer and clean the area where people lounge, but the sea brings all kinds of garbage to shore - there are plastic bottles, plastic bags, sardine cans, pop cans etc. floating around now and then or sitting in the clear clear water for everyone to see. But no one goes in to fish it out... Which seems odd to me. However as far as guest service, the guys minding the sun beds and the beach bar are great. Always attentive, friendly and available. We had lunch on the beach most days because of this, since it was just more pleasant and convenient than having to go into the restaurant.

Overall, this is a good hotel that needs better management and better staff training.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forchheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It's a nice hotel with friendly stuff and clean rooms. The hotel offers all service which can be expected of an hotel from this class.

But it's still a tourist hotel, I think you get more atmosphere if you're going to some rental apartments close to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club

Address: Grand Bay | Canouan Island, Charlestown, Canouan
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Canouan > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club is a lively beachfront oasis with 40 seaside hideaways, surrounded by tropical gardens, on a long white sand beach. The low-rise property features two thatched-roof restaurants/bars: the "Palapa Restaurant", with a delightful open terrace right at the water edge, offering Italian and West Indian cuisine and the “Pirate's Cove” an informal Bar serving lighter fare. Beach bar, water sports (hydro bikes, windsurf, canoe and sunfish) and massage facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Beach Hotel And Yacht Club
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club Canouan, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.