We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club

Save Saved
You added Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Bay | Canouan Island, Charlestown, Canouan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Charlestown
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent and worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We found the Tamarind by searching boutique hotels in the Caribbean. We enjoy small resorts with great food in a peaceful beach side setting. And that's exactly what we found with Tamarind. Getting there is not easy. Having to connect through Barbados meant an extra night on either side of our trip in NYC because of connections. That being said, I would go again in a heartbeat.

The property is small, with ~40 rooms. As others have said, we were automatically upgraded to a suite, which was gorgeous. We were obviously there during low season. The food and beverage manager said last winter, they were full for 4 months straight. Large sitting area, beautiful bedroom in a plantation style with dark wood, white walls, and beamed ceilings. Huge balcony with 2 chairs and 2 chaise longues overlooking the ocean. Very comfortable king size bed. Large TV with cable. Spotty Wifi signal. The wall AC in the living room was sufficient to keep the whole suite cool. My only wish for the room would've been a coffee machine.

We participated in the food plan, which was well worth it to me. Beverages, including water, are not included. Our average bottle of wine was $50/night. Water is $6 per liter bottle. We weren't told anything about the plan when we arrived. On the last day, the food and beverage manager told us that some of our breakfast items weren't included, which would have been nice to know about ahead of time, but was ok with us. In the meantime, we enjoyed lobster, great fish dishes. The seafood brochette and the fish in banana leaves are worth special note. We weren't fans of the pizza, except for the giaderneri pizza. The main restaurant is "business casual" and doesn't accept shorts at dinner. The pasta at the Pirate Cove bar was excellent. The sandwiches at the beach bar were average. The open faced tuna sandwich was plain tuna with american cheese halfway melted on top. But the fries, and the hot dog, were excellent. Drinks were on the pricey side $7-9 with very low alcohol content, but great tropical flavor. No mojitos were available :( When we asked the front desk, they said tips were not included in the meal plan. That being said, we weren't billed on our final bill for all the gratuities we left. ??? Music playing at the beach bar and the Pirate Cove was usually Celine Dion/Elton John Disney type love songs, which was a little incongruous to us. There was a nice happy hour on Wednesday night with free chicken wings and 2 for 1 drinks with a DJ and good dance music.

The beach was wonderful! Very well maintained, great swimming right off the beach. We snorkeled off the beach daily, but there wasn't much to see except for shells. Good beachcombing! The beach is public, so was a little busier on the weekend. But, being low season, during the week we were often the only ones there. Despite that, we always had prompt delivery of beach chair pads and towels as soon as we walked on the beach. Kayaks and paddleboats were available at the beach stand, as were fins and snorkels, although we brought our own.

The service was excellent. From the very friendly front desk staff, to the beach attendants, and every server at the restaurants. Housekeeping came twice a day with fresh flowers on the bed and around the room, fresh towels, and were great about keeping the sand level low in our room. Given how much we were on the beach, quite an accomplishment!

My husband jogged almost daily around the island. He was denied access at the big resort, but otherwise saw the entire island. There are goats and chickens roaming around. We had a rooster behind our room who crowed all hours of the day. However, the sounds of the surf at night meant that wasn't a problem and I couldn't hear him from our bedroom. The people of the town were very friendly. We got limited groceries, mainly water, soda and beer, at a small shop in town. Beware of buying wine at these stores because it wasn't refrigerated and one of our bottles had "turned" in the heat.

The weather was gorgeous, especially at the beach. It did get warm and very humid away from the beach. But there was always a nice breeze at the beach and we spent most of the trip in our bathing suits. We had 2 brief rainstorms in the early afternoon. The umbrellas on the beach were sufficient, and it was warm enough, that even the rain didn't mean we had to leave the beach.

The snorkel trip to the Tobago Cays was incredible and a must do! We wanted to go again, but they were unable to book a catamaran for us and we would've had to go on a speed boat, so we declined. There is a 4 person minimum on a huge catamaran at $125 per person for about 5 hours. All you can drink and a nice lunch were included. Not only did we snorkel the Cays and see turtles and sting rays, but they took us to Mayreau, which was beautiful and had great swimming. We also stopped at a coral reef, which was excellent snorkeling with lots of fish. And we made a brief stop at another beach. Beautiful turquoise water, gorgeous islands.

Caribbean paradise!

Room Tip: Suite was beautiful! If you're traveling during high season, make sure to book one. During low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    47
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
73
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Tamarind Beach Hotel and Yacht Club was recommended by a friend in the travel industry as the perfect honeymoon spot. It was described as a place to get away from it all. After six nights, I have to agree with my friend.
But it should be noted that Tamarind is not easy to get to. We had to take a puddle jumper from Barbados, and even then, the landing in the twin-engine, 50 passenger plane was not too smooth. But it was worth the stress when you finally see the beach and the rooms on Tamarind Beach Hotel and Yacht Club.
My new wife and I were upgraded to a suite that would remind you of the home from the Swiss Family Robinson show, except outfitted with most of the amenities that you would expect in an upscale property. It should also be noted that there is no pool, no kids club and no game room at Tamarind.
The hotel serves an experienced and international clientele. Everyone wants to swim with the turtles at nearby Tobago Cays. But be sure to go during high season so all you need to do it secure a few spots. if you go during low season, you are probably going to need to hire your own boat, which will be pretty costly. The more people that book on the same excursion, the more cost-effective the trip is.
There are water and sailing based activities if you like, but don't look for a bowling alley or movie theater on this small island. There are only a handful of restaurants and there is no hospital, only a clinic. There are barely 1,500 people on the the three by one and a half mile island. You can easily walk it or hike it in a few hours.
There are impressive views from the tops of the mountains. But the most secluded part of the island is the furthest from the airport. it is a private village with a hotel. You have to pass through a manned security gate. There is a golf course on that side of the island. My wife and I were able to take a tour and soak in the views but we mostly stayed on the Tamarind side of the island, where most of the locals live and where the few restaurants and stores are located.
The point of going to Tamarind is to relax and we did a fair amount of that. A majority of our day was spent on the beach with a cold drink in hand, watching the waves lightly crash against the store. You can snorkel along the shore. Edgerton loans out the equipment and can chart a safe and fun route for you. Peter runs the beach bar and can take a lunch order or make you a drink. Floyd is an ex cricket bowler. He stands six feet five inches tall so he is tough to miss if you need an extra towel or anything else.
The food is one of the best attractions of Tamarind. There hay have wood-burning pizza oven that serves up some great thin crust. It's kind of strange to enjoy such good pizza in the middle of the caribbean but it all makes sense because Tamarind is Italian owned and operated. The Palaba restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. For breakfast, I recommend the fruit plate, complete with papaya, mango, watermelon, passion fruit and pineapple. The french toast is also really good and goes great with the island blend coffee.
For lunch, I would order either a burger or a salad from the beach bar. For dinner, the seafood of the day is whatever the fishermen were able to catch. My wife had the barracuda wrapped in banana leaves and she really enjoyed it. There is also a restaurant/bar called "Pirate's Cove" which has a great wednesday night happy hour. They offer two for one drinks and play some popular dance hits.
When you are sitting on the beach, you can watch the catamarans take off from the bay, or just watch the crabs scurry from their sand tunnels. We pretty much had the entire beach to ourselves. We got a great massage from the lady in room 305. We were also able to use the free internet access provided by the hotel to check our email on my tablet. There is no internet cluster provided by the hotel.
The people who work at Tamarind make it very special. Berchall, Dalia, Felix and the manager Cinzia are all very warm and welcoming. You are sure to have a relaxing and enjoyable time but don't dare look for a Señor Frog's or Margaritaville! Canouan island is off the beaten trail and that's why we liked it so much.

Room Tip: All 40 rooms are oceanfront. We were lucky to be upgraded to a suite and it was a very spacious room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

My family and I spent 3 days at the Tamarind. The staff were great and the food was excellent. The pizzas were superb.
Wonderful atmosphere. From the time we arrived on the dock the staff greeted us and put our luggage in our rooms as we checked in.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown, Saint George, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I spent an perfectly relaxing weekend at this resort. I was most impressed by the use of the island's flowers on the bed, the dresser, in the bath room ,alluring and welcoming.
The food was tasty, I can still savor the callaloo and conch soup as we were entertained by the sweet sounds of the steel drum by Ken Isles and his son. We danced the night away.
a perfect place to enjoy sea,surf,wine and dine under the sun or the moonlight!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I spent seven beautiful days at the Tamarind Beach Hotel. We were upgraded to a suite on the second floor with a beautiful view of the carribean. The hotel is small (only about 40 rooms - all beachfront) and the staff is warm and friendly. We were not on a meal plan, however, the food was excellent and reasonably priced for an island. I especially liked their fillet mignon and my husband enjoyed the seafood! The pizza was also good, but wasn't served at lunchtime. We would split the hamburger or club sandwich at lunchtime - very big portions! We took another traveler's advice and bought a bottle of spiced rum and a bottle of vodka at the duty free shop in Barbados. We walked to the town to buy 7-up and cranberry juice so that we could make our own drinks. The room is equipped with a refridgerator and you can get ice from the kitchen staff. There is also an electric tea kettle and the room is stocked with complimentary teas and coffees.
The water and the beach are beautiful and relaxing!!! There were days when my husband and I were the only two people on the beach. I highly recommend the snorkel trip with Yanni on the catamaran. You will go to Mayreau and the Tobago Cays and will snorkel with tropical fish and sea turtles!! We also took the fast ferry to Bequia. I would not recommend it because it is an entire day spent on an island similar to Canouan only on a larger scale.
If you are making your own air travel, it would be wise to look into Liat airlines as opposed to SVG airlines. The planes are larger, more comfortable, faster, and less expensive.
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, intimate vacation, come to the Tamarind. We just spent our 25th wedding anniversary there and met another couple from Italy who were honeymooners! It's a great place for making beautiful memories!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite but I'm sure all the rooms are nice. I loved listening to the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed 6 days at the TBH and loved every moment of it. As one of the previous reviewers mentioned, we received warm & friendly greetings from the staff along with a complimentary tropical non-alcoholic drink. The reception area is absolutely lovely. You immediately feel welcome and can't wait to unpack and enjoy every moment of your stay.
During our stay, we met everyone from the owner to the gentleman who sweeps the walkway. The entire staff is to be commended. They're all extremely courteous and willing to help you. The rooms are large, beautiful & comfortable. The beach was so inviting that we really didn't spend any time on the patio/deck of our rooms. The water is crystal clear going into the most beautiful clear aqua color. It's absolutely spectacular! The food in both restaurants was great and the bar staff was so much fun. While in the Caribbean you simply must try their rum punch! Yummmmm LOL
We especially enjoyed our trip to the Tobago Cays along with a spectacular pre-arranged lunch on the island of Mayreau, which was arranged by Vaughn Martin. Naturally, we did plenty of snorkling as well as taking diving instructions from Vaughn and his assistant, Kai. Vaughn's office is right there at the Tamarind so it's easy to set this up. Vaughn is clearly an experienced diver/teacher whose company we enjoyed tremendously. This is a MUST DO!!!

Room Tip: I can only speak for our rooms, which were both on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

There were 15 of us staying before chartering a couple of yachts, and we all agreed that the hotel was an unexpected pleasure. The staff attentive both at the hotel and the restaurants. Relaxed and well appointed, right on a private beach. Perfect place to spend some quiet time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club

Also Known As:
Tamarind Beach Hotel And Yacht Club
Tamarind Beach Hotel Yacht
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club Canouan, St. Vincent And The Grenadines
Address: Grand Bay | Canouan Island, Charlestown, Canouan
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Canouan > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club is a lively beachfront oasis with 40 seaside hideaways, surrounded by tropical gardens, on a long white sand beach. The low-rise property features two thatched-roof restaurants/bars: the "Palapa Restaurant", with a delightful open terrace right at the water edge, offering Italian and West Indian cuisine and the “Pirate's Cove” an informal Bar serving lighter fare. Beach bar, water sports (hydro bikes, windsurf, canoe and sunfish) and massage facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.