We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymooning at Tamarind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club to your Saves list
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Bay | Canouan Island, Charlestown, Canouan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlestown
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Honeymooning at Tamarind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Tamarind Beach Hotel and Yacht Club was recommended by a friend in the travel industry as the perfect honeymoon spot. It was described as a place to get away from it all. After six nights, I have to agree with my friend.
But it should be noted that Tamarind is not easy to get to. We had to take a puddle jumper from Barbados, and even then, the landing in the twin-engine, 50 passenger plane was not too smooth. But it was worth the stress when you finally see the beach and the rooms on Tamarind Beach Hotel and Yacht Club.
My new wife and I were upgraded to a suite that would remind you of the home from the Swiss Family Robinson show, except outfitted with most of the amenities that you would expect in an upscale property. It should also be noted that there is no pool, no kids club and no game room at Tamarind.
The hotel serves an experienced and international clientele. Everyone wants to swim with the turtles at nearby Tobago Cays. But be sure to go during high season so all you need to do it secure a few spots. if you go during low season, you are probably going to need to hire your own boat, which will be pretty costly. The more people that book on the same excursion, the more cost-effective the trip is.
There are water and sailing based activities if you like, but don't look for a bowling alley or movie theater on this small island. There are only a handful of restaurants and there is no hospital, only a clinic. There are barely 1,500 people on the the three by one and a half mile island. You can easily walk it or hike it in a few hours.
There are impressive views from the tops of the mountains. But the most secluded part of the island is the furthest from the airport. it is a private village with a hotel. You have to pass through a manned security gate. There is a golf course on that side of the island. My wife and I were able to take a tour and soak in the views but we mostly stayed on the Tamarind side of the island, where most of the locals live and where the few restaurants and stores are located.
The point of going to Tamarind is to relax and we did a fair amount of that. A majority of our day was spent on the beach with a cold drink in hand, watching the waves lightly crash against the store. You can snorkel along the shore. Edgerton loans out the equipment and can chart a safe and fun route for you. Peter runs the beach bar and can take a lunch order or make you a drink. Floyd is an ex cricket bowler. He stands six feet five inches tall so he is tough to miss if you need an extra towel or anything else.
The food is one of the best attractions of Tamarind. There hay have wood-burning pizza oven that serves up some great thin crust. It's kind of strange to enjoy such good pizza in the middle of the caribbean but it all makes sense because Tamarind is Italian owned and operated. The Palaba restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. For breakfast, I recommend the fruit plate, complete with papaya, mango, watermelon, passion fruit and pineapple. The french toast is also really good and goes great with the island blend coffee.
For lunch, I would order either a burger or a salad from the beach bar. For dinner, the seafood of the day is whatever the fishermen were able to catch. My wife had the barracuda wrapped in banana leaves and she really enjoyed it. There is also a restaurant/bar called "Pirate's Cove" which has a great wednesday night happy hour. They offer two for one drinks and play some popular dance hits.
When you are sitting on the beach, you can watch the catamarans take off from the bay, or just watch the crabs scurry from their sand tunnels. We pretty much had the entire beach to ourselves. We got a great massage from the lady in room 305. We were also able to use the free internet access provided by the hotel to check our email on my tablet. There is no internet cluster provided by the hotel.
The people who work at Tamarind make it very special. Berchall, Dalia, Felix and the manager Cinzia are all very warm and welcoming. You are sure to have a relaxing and enjoyable time but don't dare look for a Señor Frog's or Margaritaville! Canouan island is off the beaten trail and that's why we liked it so much.

Room Tip: All 40 rooms are oceanfront. We were lucky to be upgraded to a suite and it was a very spacious room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    50
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
81
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caribbean
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

My family and I spent 3 days at the Tamarind. The staff were great and the food was excellent. The pizzas were superb.
Wonderful atmosphere. From the time we arrived on the dock the staff greeted us and put our luggage in our rooms as we checked in.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown, Saint George, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I spent an perfectly relaxing weekend at this resort. I was most impressed by the use of the island's flowers on the bed, the dresser, in the bath room ,alluring and welcoming.
The food was tasty, I can still savor the callaloo and conch soup as we were entertained by the sweet sounds of the steel drum by Ken Isles and his son. We danced the night away.
a perfect place to enjoy sea,surf,wine and dine under the sun or the moonlight!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I spent seven beautiful days at the Tamarind Beach Hotel. We were upgraded to a suite on the second floor with a beautiful view of the carribean. The hotel is small (only about 40 rooms - all beachfront) and the staff is warm and friendly. We were not on a meal plan, however, the food was excellent and reasonably priced for an island. I especially liked their fillet mignon and my husband enjoyed the seafood! The pizza was also good, but wasn't served at lunchtime. We would split the hamburger or club sandwich at lunchtime - very big portions! We took another traveler's advice and bought a bottle of spiced rum and a bottle of vodka at the duty free shop in Barbados. We walked to the town to buy 7-up and cranberry juice so that we could make our own drinks. The room is equipped with a refridgerator and you can get ice from the kitchen staff. There is also an electric tea kettle and the room is stocked with complimentary teas and coffees.
The water and the beach are beautiful and relaxing!!! There were days when my husband and I were the only two people on the beach. I highly recommend the snorkel trip with Yanni on the catamaran. You will go to Mayreau and the Tobago Cays and will snorkel with tropical fish and sea turtles!! We also took the fast ferry to Bequia. I would not recommend it because it is an entire day spent on an island similar to Canouan only on a larger scale.
If you are making your own air travel, it would be wise to look into Liat airlines as opposed to SVG airlines. The planes are larger, more comfortable, faster, and less expensive.
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, intimate vacation, come to the Tamarind. We just spent our 25th wedding anniversary there and met another couple from Italy who were honeymooners! It's a great place for making beautiful memories!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite but I'm sure all the rooms are nice. I loved listening to the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed 6 days at the TBH and loved every moment of it. As one of the previous reviewers mentioned, we received warm & friendly greetings from the staff along with a complimentary tropical non-alcoholic drink. The reception area is absolutely lovely. You immediately feel welcome and can't wait to unpack and enjoy every moment of your stay.
During our stay, we met everyone from the owner to the gentleman who sweeps the walkway. The entire staff is to be commended. They're all extremely courteous and willing to help you. The rooms are large, beautiful & comfortable. The beach was so inviting that we really didn't spend any time on the patio/deck of our rooms. The water is crystal clear going into the most beautiful clear aqua color. It's absolutely spectacular! The food in both restaurants was great and the bar staff was so much fun. While in the Caribbean you simply must try their rum punch! Yummmmm LOL
We especially enjoyed our trip to the Tobago Cays along with a spectacular pre-arranged lunch on the island of Mayreau, which was arranged by Vaughn Martin. Naturally, we did plenty of snorkling as well as taking diving instructions from Vaughn and his assistant, Kai. Vaughn's office is right there at the Tamarind so it's easy to set this up. Vaughn is clearly an experienced diver/teacher whose company we enjoyed tremendously. This is a MUST DO!!!

Room Tip: I can only speak for our rooms, which were both on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

There were 15 of us staying before chartering a couple of yachts, and we all agreed that the hotel was an unexpected pleasure. The staff attentive both at the hotel and the restaurants. Relaxed and well appointed, right on a private beach. Perfect place to spend some quiet time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouport on Severn
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at theTamarind Beach for 7 nights in a ground floor beach front suite on a full board basis. The suite was huge and probably the best room we have ever stayed in at any hotel in the Carribean (and we have been to quite a few). There is a very large deck outside the room from which access to the beach is gained via a small gate and a few stepping slabs.

Only a quarter of the rooms in the hotel seemed to be occupied and because of this the hotel was very quiet. This meant that we did get very personal service from the staff, who were extremely natural and friendly.

Canouan is a small island and the hotel provides a tour, which takes about an hour. The main town is also right outside the hotel gates and we were surprised how friendly the locals were to us. Nearly everyone we met said hello and smiled.

What can we say about the food. They must have a great chef, as we could not fault it. During the week we worked our way through the whole menu and enjoyed everything we ate. The menu was very varied with Italian and Indonesian influences. The lobster, for which there was no additional charge, was massive.

There hotel does charge for water and all drinks. At each meal you are offered water for which you are charged 5.43 USD per meal. We had wine with each evening meal, which cost us 50.00 USD per bottle. There was a good variety of wines available at this price, but you could pay considerably more per bottle. A small bottle of beer was 6.52 USD.

The beach was public, but we were not bothered by any vendors, which can be real pain on some of the larger islands . The hotel provided recliners and beach towels. As the hotel is adjacent to The Moorings we found the constant comings and goings of the yachts etc to be very interesting and entertaining.

We would like to express our thanks to the staff and management, who made our stay very pleasurable and we certainly have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a suite rather than a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club

Address: Grand Bay | Canouan Island, Charlestown, Canouan
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Canouan > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club is a lively beachfront oasis with 40 seaside hideaways, surrounded by tropical gardens, on a long white sand beach. The low-rise property features two thatched-roof restaurants/bars: the "Palapa Restaurant", with a delightful open terrace right at the water edge, offering Italian and West Indian cuisine and the “Pirate's Cove” an informal Bar serving lighter fare. Beach bar, water sports (hydro bikes, windsurf, canoe and sunfish) and massage facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Beach Hotel And Yacht Club
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club Canouan, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.