We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fare price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakhurst Gatwick B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tinsley Green
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakhurst Gatwick B&B
Save
You added Oakhurst Gatwick B&B to your Saves list
Radford Road, Tinsley Green RH103NW , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
1 review
“fare price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The price includes breakfast and transfer from Gatwick airport. The British breakfast was very nice, they even offer gluten free and vegetarian breakfasts. The room is very clean and it has everything you need (water cooker, hair dryer...etc.). The host, Jon, was very friendly and very nice to chat with. The backyard and some other parts in the hotel have still to be restructed because Jon wants to provide better service and quality for more customers. I would recommend people to go and I will definately go again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhurstGatwick, Owner at Oakhurst Gatwick B&B, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks for the comments, the driveway is now clear of tools and equipment and all of the potholes are now filled in, all the rooms are now in great order except room 1 which we have closed till new year. We hope to start all the new outside paved areas soon and make the outside perfect. Hope to see you again.

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Thanks to Jon, Keith, Tanya (and the sweet dogs!) I had a wonderful stay at this guesthouse. Everyone was very kind and accommodating, and I would highly recommend this friendly guesthouse ;)

My stay here was pleasant for reasons beyond the guesthouse itself; I was surprised by the level of attentiveness and care that the staff gave to me (picked me up at airport, always available by phone, put together a fruit bowl for me at 9 p.m. at night because I was craving it, etc...)

I consider this a safe, reliable, comfortable place to stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

doorstep of Gatwick north terminal.
SUPERB host
clean, warm room
parking
great value
… will return when ever i am flying from Gatwick North terminal.
Jon was great and offered to take me to the airport at no extra cost !!!
easy to find
close to eateries etc

Room Tip: only stopped in front room but it was warm and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed one night only: The Good: Breakfast, and the welcome.
The Bad:
Bed sheets were not clean, did have a used odor to them.
The Kettle in the room was filthy, dirty & covered in dust.
The rug had numerous coffee & tea stains.
Bed was not comfortable at all, mattress was very thin.
The shower needs cleaning, as does the whole room.
We did not enjoy the stay, was glad it was only for the one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhurstGatwick, Owner at Oakhurst Gatwick B&B, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
This review is rubbish, Im beginning to think I have upset someone! The bed linen is supplied by sunlight, crisp, white clean linen which is changed daily. The mattress is about 8 inches thick and we have comments about how comfortable they are. There is a stain on the carpet which we cant get out and an iron burn, the carpet is due to be replaced, but the room is 100% dust free and clean. Another thing is that we closed on the 8th of November to start a refit and this was left 4 days ago. I will report this review as a fake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tinsley Green hotels

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here the night before our flight and it was pleasant. You can hear the planes landing during the night but it's not a problem sleep wise.
The man does offer a car park for your holiday (£20 a week) and also transfers to and for the airport operative between 04:00-23:00 I believe.
We would return again when flying from gatwick. the room we had slept 5 and had an en suite bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhurstGatwick, Manager at Oakhurst Gatwick B&B, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thanks for the comments, sorry the place is a bit of a mess but we are now closed for a full refit, we were shutting permenently mid november but have now decided to re-open early December for a few more years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Leigh UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Too many dogs, 3 very large alsatians, very friendly though. Dog hairs everywhere, anyone allergic to dogs and their hairs is in for a bad time. No mention of the dogs anywhere in their literature. The shower grouting needs an application of mould remover, didnt fancy a shower. Breakfast adequate , Owner could be more understanding and cooperative

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhurstGatwick, Owner at Oakhurst Gatwick B&B, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
I will take your comments on board but I would like to add that only one dog is allowed in the house and would never go upstairs, when she gets into the hall she does leave some hair but I do try to keep her in the lounge, she wont be with us much longer so It will not be a problem any more. The showers are a real problem in 2 of the rooms, they both have extractors but it keeps going black, we do bleach on a regular basis but will have to remove the sealer and use a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here in June and on arrival outside was very unkept not good for a first impression.On entering hallway horrible smell of dog,scruffy paintwork and mingling carpet.Room not much better and bathroom dirty and mouldy sealant round shower could do with a deep clean.Looking out over back garden very disappointing with rubbish and full of cars.Used toilet on first floor and tiles falling off the wall and very poor in the cleanliness department.i would not stay here again even if they paid me.On returning to pick up car it was in a disgusting state and you would have thought it had been standing for 6months not 2weeks.As there are a lot of trees about It wouldn't take much to buy some cheap car covers to keep the crap off.
I totally agree with the review from Lisa and as to the other reviews they must be easily pleased with no standards.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhurstGatwick, Manager at Oakhurst Gatwick B&B, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
As you were in an en-suite room you should have used your own bathroom, the one on the 1st floor is not only private but was undergoing work due to flooding. I admit he driveway is taking a lot of wear and we closed on the 10th Nov for a month to start work on it. As for the cars, they are guests cars parked while they are on holiday. Its a sevice we offer. As for the state of the car, it was only there a week and does not leave the premisis do you not think it may be to do with the very bad weather that month, £20 a week, would you like to pay more or just let the pine neadles blow off when you started driving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakhurst Gatwick B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhurst Gatwick B&B

Address: Radford Road, Tinsley Green RH103NW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Tinsley Green
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tinsley Green
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakhurst B&B was set to close in November 2013, we have however decided to refit and re open the property. You can still book discounted rooms while the work is in progress and if the results are as good as when we last refitted you will be more than happy. We have to close some rooms while the work goes on and im sorry if you are unable to book your regular one. The works will not affect your stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakhurst Gatwick B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.