We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful evening meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pollards Inn

Pollards Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pollards Inn to your Saves list
Pollards Inn
Village Square | Willaston, South Wirral, Willaston CH64 2TU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Willaston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hawarden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful evening meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Booked for 5 for this evening. Our first visit and we will be back. Lovely atmosphere and surroundings. Service was very friendly and attentive. The food was beautiful, the starters were large and beautifully presented. Four of us had the Steak and Onion pie!! It was packed with succulent steak and the portions were huge. Not one of us could manage a sweet!! At the start of the year we decided to eat out once a month and dine somewhere different each time, my husband says this one is going to be hard to beat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
24
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Pollards Inn to attend a birthday party being held there. Staff were friendly and courteous with excellent service throughout our stay. Our bedroom was very spacious and well appointed - food delicious throughout our stay. Breakfast superb.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We called in on our way back from the good food show in. Although busy they were very quick to see us seated etc., The food was good with a great choice. Wine not silly prices. Thanks for a lovely evening.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Went out for a birthday meal. Been meaning to go to Pollards for ages (been to their excellent beer festivals but not a meal) and was not disappointed. Had a nice seat with my wife next to the fire (very welcome on a cold night) and the food was excellent well presented and the staff courteous. There was also a good range of real ales to wash the food down with.
We shall return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Had a bar snack on a Saturday evening.

Had two hot pots which was very nice. Nice and filling.

One mussels which was avian nice.

But one Sea Bass was not good. Only one fillet of Bass which was slightly over cooked and accompanied with a Salmon type mousse which was Luke warm and cold in parts. Then a load of potatoes which was out of proportion to the fish served. Also needed veg.

Also each dish was covered with water cress as garnish which is old fashioned and unnecessary.

Staff were friendly and I would go again but could be better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

A group of 8 of us visited for Sunday lunch. We all enjoyed the food, and there is a fantastic selection of real ale on draft. However, what let it all down was hopeless staff. Maybe I'm being unfair? Perhaps they haven't been trained properly (if at all). In all, the customer service falls way short of what the website offers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

visting friends in Wirral. I thought finding a room would be simple. I had no luck at all with any of the chains or independents. Stumbled on the Pollard Inn on the web. Phoned to find the last room was available.
Nice friendly low key greeting and booking in procedure. Room was very clean and tidy with huge bed. Had a quck beer in the bar, which had a great selection of real ale, then off to a party near by.
Great nights sleep and a freshly prepared full English breakfast the next morning.
The staff were genuinely friendly not the corporate charm offensive, which gets up my nose.

Will seriously consider in the future for a laid back one night break as the restaurant menu looked enticing.

Enjoyed the stay and can reccomend a room at the Inn.
Sean

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willaston
1.6 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#1 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
2.5 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
2.0 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#1 of 5 in Ellesmere Port
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral - Heswall
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pollards Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollards Inn

Address: Village Square | Willaston, South Wirral, Willaston CH64 2TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Willaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Willaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pollards Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pollards Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.