We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional place, words can not describe it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Aroha Dhanachuli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Te Aroha Dhanachuli to your Saves list
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Dhanachuli Bend | Near Mukteshwar, Dhanachuli 263132, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Dhanachuli B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional place, words can not describe it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just returned from TeAroha and finalizing the dates for next trip. The most rejuvenating place in India I have visited. Great resort, great service, delightful food and polite staff. If you have not visited it yet, you are missing the most beautiful hill resort experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are different so which ever you will get will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

It was an ad-hoc summer escape and we decided to follow the advice of a friend who'd visited Te Aroha last year. As I sit in Delhi a few days later, I can't help but feel glad that we decided to stay at Te Aroha. The resort is nestled in Dhanachuli, a place so far unspoilt by too many tourists. The only thing around the resort is the tiny local market, with a sprawl of a couple of shops. However, it's proximity to Mukteshwar means that you can drive down there in about half an hour, and do some trekking, temple visiting, bakery hopping etc etc.
Now for the place itself. it is unlikely that you'll find Te Aroha's name splashed across advertisements. It doesn't even have direction boards to guide travelers. It's quiet whites and loud yellows are visible from some distance and the moment you step in, Voila!, it's something that you least expected.
Sure its well made and all of that. More so when you consider that in its past life it was a summer house that has been expanded to form a resort. I won't even call it a resort, what with only 9 rooms and not a huge area. What Te Aroha is then is just a hide-out. It is here that you can switch off from the world, just soak in the hills, revel in the scenery, breathe fresh air and above all, feel free. There is a lot of emphasis on detail, and it is visible in your room. The antique furniture, the mattresses, the cushions- they all give you a feel of being handpicked.
The common areas too are very nicely done. And Cafe Flashback, when it opens, will be a place to remember. The food the Chef dished out was delectable, and the choice of dishes very well matched. it's hard to believe that Te Aroha has managed to achieve all this with a staff comprising mostly of local people.
Te Aroha's staff, I believe is their biggest asset. The forever smiling, not refusing any errand, and managing well in English, the sight of these people donning a really impressive uniform, warms you up to the core. The personal touch that Vivek and his wife Swatantra Kalra, one of the partners, added to our visit was also very heartwarming.
I strongly recommend this place to anyone wanting to escape- in the true sense of the word. Not to mention that the drive, after Haldwani, is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Mini Suite and Suite come with better views, so opt for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Te Aroha Dhanachuli, is magical! It takes you to the highest levels of luxury, hospitality, courtesy! The experience was truly once in a lifetime and we wish to return soon for a longer time! We would like to congratulate the entire team at Te Aroha for the lovely time we spent there.

Room Tip: Each room, i would not like to call them rooms, each nest has been done specially. We stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Te Aroha is a place which you perhaps will not find amidst the usual clutter of advertisements by various resorts and hotels. I guess it wasnt meant to because it just wanted to stand out and did not need to be advertised at all.

THe house of love (as it means in the maori language) far exceeds what one expects and grows on you as you start to unwind in its luxury and get pampered. In a nut shell the place is just perfect if you want to disconnect, enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains, the chilly weather, cozy interiors and ofcourse if lucky the company of its very dedicated owner.

The food surprisingly was a very good variety of north indian and continental cuisine and the icing on the cake was the kumaoni dinner especially cooked for us to give a flavour of the kumaon dining experience. The staff again was very very well trained, well mannered, accomodating, courteous.

Dont forget to have lots of their masala chai which was actually "tasty" and if you are lucky to attend a tea tasting session, do pick up some of their grand blends of green tea. There is a fine balance of maintaining the sanctity of the place by adding a good dose of a walk through the jungle and a walk to an abandoned village and when you have had enough there is a fantastic collection of books and DVDs to sack out with over a drink in its cozy lounge.

Good for the young and wouldve loved to send parents over but there are a lot of steps within the hotel and maybe be a tad difficult for the elderly however firmly believe that the elderly would enjoy this place as much if not more.

Overall an experience to definitely have if one wants to disconnect and rejuvinate!

Room Tip: look out for the couples spa room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The focus at this boutique property is on service and attention to detail, and it shows. Sumant Batra has the vision to make this a luxury niche getaway, and he's succeeding. Having visited right after our wedding, we were looked after but never disturbed. The service is top-quality, the views and the rooms reminded us of resorts in the Swiss/French Alps or the Canadian Rockies, but the real clincher was the quality of the food. The Chef- Chatur Singh, could hold his own at any of the top stand-alone continental restaurants in Delhi or Mumbai, and the quality/presentation of the food was fantastic. We were upgraded to the Master's Bedroom, so we really had a great experience for the two nights that we were there.

All in all, a must-visit.

Room Tip: the view is the USP of this property, so make sure you choose a mountain-facing room or suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

DhanaChuli is a 90 km ride from Bhimtal. A bit inwards but every bit worth it. Te Aroha is a fantastic dream come true for the traveller as it was for the owner. The place has some real nostalgic memorabilia collected by the owner. We had a wonderful 1 day trekking accompanied by the local travel guide arranged free by the Inn. The weather too cooperated with us. In the afternoon we played chess and watched some movies in the Inn's DVD entertainment room. They have a nice DVD collection. They have a exclusive POKER room too. The Manager Deven makes a beautiful Cappuccino, just as in Costa Coffe or Coffe Day. The AMBIENCE is the best.
I enjoyed every bit of it, but being the global traveller I am, my expectations were not met in 2 quarters. One, food made by the chefs was not great. The dishes lacked individualistic taste and were more like BAR food. Second, even though it was summer, it was cold out there and I wanted to enjoy a hot shower. But since the geysers were located outside the rooms and were exposed to the elements, the water from the shower used to be just warm. I wonder what must be the situation if I were to visit the Inn in winter, say December or Jan. I would like to suggest to the owner/management to do something about these sole issues, through this platform, which is otherwise HEAVEN.

Room Tip: The rooms named - guest bed room and the master bed room at Te Aroha fall just below the kitchen. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This place was unexpected !!!!Salute to the staff as well.....Their hospitality was awesome......Loved every bit of it ....felt like i was out of this world....This place is sure for nature lovers....Highly recommended......Also they had done beautiful arrangement for my parents as I had told them that it was their wedding anniv....The whole staff including GM was present to cut the cake at 2300 hrs even thou their dinner timings are till 2200 only.......Their candelite dinners are breathtaking........simply superb

Room Tip: for a couple master bedroom is the best and for a family who wishes to take two rooms - morning sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Te Aroha Dhanachuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Aroha Dhanachuli

Address: Dhanachuli Bend | Near Mukteshwar, Dhanachuli 263132, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dhanachuli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dhanachuli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Aroha Dhanachuli 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Aroha is a boutique resort located amidst the scenic surroundings of Dhanachuli. The original structure of a British style summer house that once stood on the property has been successfully preserved to retain its original charm. Furbished thematically, the 4 spacious suites and 6 luxury rooms offer spellbinding views of Dhanachuli’s landscape and the snow peaked mountains. Huge decks and terraces, antique furniture, massive glass windows and the high ceilinged lobby replete with carefully selected furniture can transport you through time to the bygone elegance of the colonial era. Our personalized service, presented in an atmosphere of understated elegance, is sure to leave you with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Te Aroha Dhanachuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Aroha Dhanachuli India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Aroha Dhanachuli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.