We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Aroha Dhanachuli

Save Saved
You added Te Aroha Dhanachuli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Dhanachuli Bend | Near Mukteshwar, Dhanachuli 263132, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Dhanachuli B&B and Inns
Delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

After reviewing a lot of properties in Uttrakhand I zeroed down to Te aroha. We enjoyed it thoroughly .I still have the beautiful memories of their beautiful and luxurious room,our own private terrace, restaurant with fantastic food,cafe flashback,recreation room(loads of books and movies to watch on only TV in the hotel),attic room,tea with cookies,the village trek and the most important thing...the silence with beautiful views(though Himalayas were not visible due to weather).
Their staff is absolutely wonderful and will help you in every possible way with a warm and genuine smile.

All in all its a great place for people who wants to live luxury with views and do nothing except relaxing with nature.

Room Tip: Front room - great terrace Morning sun and Black room- great himalyan range All suites facing vall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Te Aroha may attract you when have a look at the pics and read the reviews, but that's just a prelude. The property is mesmerizing; if you can afford a suite (preferably Master's Bedroom) then nothing like it. It's a perfect place to relax for a few days, unwind yourself, do nothing, eat well, flow with the ubiquitous silence, and lose yourself in the hills. The staff ensures you get all of this and more.

Te Aroha is clearly a work of passion by Sumant Batra, and it reflects in everything, right from welcome drink to the bathroom door handles to dining area! Perfect setting for a romantic holiday; elderly may struggle because of the large no of steps.

All in all, perhaps the best place I have been to in the hills. Heavily recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We arrived at Te Aroha around 12 pm and where immediately brought to the room. All rooms are beautifully furnished, no unnecessary luxury but with a lot of taste. The lobby and the new Cafe Flashback are just stunning.

I have never experienced a better service as in this place. Tips are not favoured only at checkout for the whole team if you wish to do so. Therefore all the service is included and you can perfectly relax why the staff is spoiling you with there amazing ginger lemon team with fresh baked cookies, snacks or a hot water bag for the cold nights.

The food served for dinner in the restaurant was very delicious!

We were making a roundtrip through India and I booked the place to escape the rush and heat of Delhi for sometime. Best decision I have ever made, I would love to come back if it was not so far from Germany...

The only thing we found difficult was the weak English skills of most of the staff. However, there strength seems to be to read your wishes from your eyes so this was after all not a real issue.

All in all, it is a place where you find peace and tranquility. I would have loved to meet the owner Sumant Batra and to compliment him on this great place he has created.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I had read a lot of good reviews about Te Aroha and was desperately waiting to take the plunge myself which happened this month. Barring my journey to and fro from the property there was not a minute thing which was out of place !! A fairy-tale house set in the picturesque and serene hills far from the madding crowd is what awaited me and my wife and the place will make you fall in love all over again !!! Excellent rooms, views, fabulous food, awesome service...I can go on and on about the wonder Sumant Batra and his team has created. Everything was perfect and not even a small thing went wrong during her 2 days stay. Its one of those places wherein you go to fall in love and forget all your worries ...I could live there forever and still can if Sumant employs me ;) Jokes apart, Te Aroha deserves every bit of accolades its got and this can only be experienced by going there. Just to reiterate what I said Sumant, Achieving Excellence might be easy but maintaining it is the real test. All my best wishes to Te Aroha and the team for making it a memorable trip and leaving us wanting for more....Like Arnie....I will be back !!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and have their own characteristics !!! We stayed in the Front Room and it had i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were desperately seeking the cool of the hills in the summers of 2012 - each year we spend a few days away from the crowd and in the hills. Te Aroha was suggested by a friend and business colleague. We left Delhi at 0545 hours and after an endless journey (due to weekend traffic) reached there by sunset. The place is well located on a hill with a view of the peaks.

The lodge/hotel is a ten room property with each room being different and offering different levels of comfort, view etc. The rooms are very well appointed with oil heaters, hot and cold water, comfortable beds, reading material in the sit out rooms, cookies and fresh fruits etc. The staff are simply superb and the Sumant Batra an ex lawyer and his friend and partner Vivek were superb hosts.

We spent two days enjoying the luxury, the hills, birds and the food - the village walk to the old Dhanachuli village was a sheer delight. I am happy to recommend this place to all those who like a comfortable yet simple lodge in the hills. Te Aroha is truly a lovenest,

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - but to enjoy the best of Te Aroha - a montain view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We visited Te Atoha with a Belgian couple. Right from the moment we stepped in, we were bowled over. The staff was very courteous, the welcome drink, the decor of the room, the dinner, everything was outstanding. The jungle walk & the village walk was again just amazing. We had been travelling with our friends for about 2 weeks, to different places, staying in different hotels. Sincerely Te Aroha stands out among all. Our Belgian friends share the same views.

Room Tip: All rooms are tastefully done & are totally different from each other. Each room has something s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

It was a lovely, peaceful, beautiful getaway destination. Te Aroha is tastefully done with an eye for details, excellent food, very warm, friendly and courteous staff. Lovely weather, good for quiet walks up the lane, and the view is superb from the hotel. Truly a boutique hotel. It is commendable of the owner Mr. Sumant Batra, to get this lovely haven done up so well in the quaint and peaceful place called Dhanachuli. Thankyou for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Te Aroha Dhanachuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Aroha Dhanachuli

Address: Dhanachuli Bend | Near Mukteshwar, Dhanachuli 263132, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dhanachuli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dhanachuli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Aroha Dhanachuli 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Aroha is a boutique resort located amidst the scenic surroundings of Dhanachuli. The original structure of a British style summer house that once stood on the property has been successfully preserved to retain its original charm. Furbished thematically, the 4 spacious suites and 6 luxury rooms offer spellbinding views of Dhanachuli’s landscape and the snow peaked mountains. Huge decks and terraces, antique furniture, massive glass windows and the high ceilinged lobby replete with carefully selected furniture can transport you through time to the bygone elegance of the colonial era. Our personalized service, presented in an atmosphere of understated elegance, is sure to leave you with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Te Aroha Dhanachuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Aroha Dhanachuli India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Aroha Dhanachuli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.