We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice place to take the kids for a week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home Farm Holiday Park

Home Farm Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edithmead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Home Farm Holiday Park
Save
You added Home Farm Holiday Park to your Saves list
Edithmead Lane | Edithmead, Edithmead, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a nice place to take the kids for a week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We took our touring caravan to home farm for a week at the end of july and we had a very nice time, the site has enough facilities to keep you on site all week even if you have kids but is only a five minute drive to burnham on sea if you choose not to. the large outdoor swimming pool is really nice and kept our kids amused for hours, the on site shop is decent and well stocked with all the essential items and toys, ice cream, and even dog stuff. there is also a caravan spares area at the back of the shop selling spares for awnings aquarolls and toilet fluid etc. the toilet blocks are excellent and cleaned constantly throughout the day {they are cleaned more times than i have ever seen on a caravan site before} so if you don't want to use your own caravan facilities the showers and toilets are a good standard and that includes the disabled toilets too but remember to bring your radar key if using disabled facilities. there is also a very decent indoor pool but we never had to use that because the weather was ok. the club house is a very decent size and there were some decent live acts on every night and you can buy food and slush until quite late from the servery area. the staff are very friendly and efficient and the pitches mowed as soon as someone leaves, our caravan pitch was the only let down, we had a hard standing pitch near the toilet block and was a weird size, the caravan had to be pushed right back to the end of the hard standing so the back of our caravan was hanging over the grass due to the tarmac not being long enough, the only problem is when someone comes with another 20 feet plus caravan and pitches behind you they too have to have the rear of the caravan hanging right over the back of the tarmac so the rear of the caravans are very close together. so if home farm make the hard standings a proper size and install some super pitches {we prefer these} they will get five stars from me next year. the local supermarkets are tesco, morrisons and lidl and there is a funfair a couple of miles up the road at brean/berrow with gift shops etc and of course the miles of sandy beach. home farm is a great place to go for a holiday on the somerset coast.

Room Tip: avoid pitches close to toilet block
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
20
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We love this park. We have been a couple of times now and will continue to visit. We arrived with our tourer, the lovely girls in reception introduced us to a young chap driving a golf buggy who showed us to our hardstanding. Loads of room for awning and a car next to us. The shower facilities were clean & warm. The clubhouse was great fun, perfect for kids, even younger ones, two arcades, entertainment and a couple of bars, was really enjoyable. The food served was ok, not great but not awful, they do nice take away pizzas plus plenty of really nice pubs near by for meals out. 5 mins off the M5, very easy to fins and easy reach to lots of attractions. Definately recommend, the kids will love it and you will have a break too.

Room Tip: Dogs & pets are allowed but the dogs stands are in their own field
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just come back from our second stay here and the camp is not without fault but generally we have had 2 really good stays here. Location is brilliant - literally 5 mins from the M5 - and there are lots of places to visit within an hours drive. In terms of the camp itself, we had no problem with the staff, they were always helpful and pleasant enough. Facilities are well maintained and clean and the club is better than some horror shows we have seen over the years but expect the usual standard of kids games, bingo and bands/singers varying from very good to awful. Prices for drinks and food were reasonable. We did have an issue with our pitch because we were put in Orange because we had dogs and the the pitches are for caravans under 21 ft but we were larger we I made clear on booking. That said we squeezed on and fortunately the area has free pitches around us so it didn't feel too cramped.The outdoor pool is good and as other have said the leisure club is quite expensive but if you are fortunate enough to get the weather this shouldn't be an issue. Camp shop stocked loads of useful things to counter the inevitable forgotten item and as expected it was slightly more expensive than usual but aren't they always? Went to a couple of lovely pubs for something to eat within a 5 minute drive and eat from the takeaway in the camp club which was better than I expected it to be to be fair - the pizzas in particular were excellent. Some really poor reviews on here but i wouldn't be put off completely as we have been twice and would be willing to go again. Worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucksall
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed in july for 2 nights thank god ,on route to Weymouth , never stayed before and wouldn't stay again . Pitches to close to eachother , kids up till late on play area,un supervised kids everywhere parents nowhere to be seen , balls , frisbies bouncing of your van , . asked for pitch away from play area and guessed what we got, a pitch 1 row opposite, lady with baby had to shout at group of kids rooted outside her van late at night, great if you have kids but not if older teenagers , swimming 8.00 PER SESSION , indoor pool ,. outdoor free but would recommend wet suits , friendly young man poolside told us bout best places to eat eg carvery down the road .Toilets clean ,clubhouse big , entertainment average , chips lovely , free wifi but crap reception.need to make pitches more spacious , if your no good at reversing caravan avoid these pitches .Big massive rocks convienietly placed on corners not great when turning corners with your caravan , but great at stopping you ruining their grass .

Room Tip: pitch away from play areas , dog area sounded nice and quite , borrow a dog!!! also there is a railw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Awful place. Once they've got your money they don't care....

Turned up in the dark (I did warn them) then they expect you to drive around the entire site in your caravan looking for the one free space. Why don't they allocated numbered spaces? No-one particularly interested at all.

Swipe card access. Never even worked once when I was there. Queues of people trying to get in/out of the site.

Bad attitude of staff. See above. All you got was bad attitude from staff telling you it was your fault the swipe card wasn't working.

Won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A rather large group of us stayed in the static caravans. My family and i had a 3 bedroom, sleeping 6. I must say that the single beds were tiny and almost impossible for an adult to sleep in. The fridge exterior door was broken, but nothing we could not work around. those who used the indoor pool enjoyed it. The check in process was very thorough and the young lady who assisted us was very polite. I was a little put out when the older receptionist spoke to the young (and obviously still learning) receptionist rudely and abruptly in front of me, which was completely unnecessary.
I found the entertainment started very late and once it had started seemed to be over with very quickly. I found most staff that i encountered friendly but very overworked/stressed (maybe a few more bar staff would be a good idea when bookings are high).
Overall we enjoyed ourselves, however i do wonder if my experience would have been the same had we not been with the large crowd we were.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Ive read some of the reviews, and i beg to differ, the park is great, clean, toilets/showers are also clean and No matter when you go in to use them they are ...clean. I think the clubhouse is great, good entertainment, good food, the indoor pool is lovely allthough you do have to pay, the barrier can be tempremental but... it works... the park itself is clean and tidy, and i have been going here for years, and i shall continue to do so. Nearby is Burnham,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Farm Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Farm Holiday Park

Address: Edithmead Lane | Edithmead, Edithmead, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Edithmead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Edithmead
Number of rooms: 850

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Farm Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.