We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food teamed with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion Hotel

The Red Lion Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Red Lion Hotel to your Saves list
The Red Lion Hotel
Main Street, East Haddon NN6 8BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 East Haddon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food teamed with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Was recommended to come here and what can i say, the service was excellent, we were in and out within the hour as we weren't drinking that night. The staff were attentive and the food was exquisite. Had the scotch egg starter which was lovely and the beef in red wine was to die for, the meat melted in your mouth! Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Mari,

Thanks for your kind review, they are always passed onto the staff, who take great joy in hearing our guests opinions.The scotch egg is a particular favourite of mine too.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    35
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
39
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fantastic experience. We were guests at a wedding there and stayed for three nights. Food and service excellent. Bedrooms: tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Staff delightful. Plenty of parking for guests. Lovely gardens and outdoor areas.

Room Tip: A real gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, they shall be passed on to all staff who take great delight in customer feedback. Hope to see you again one day in our little pub in the countryside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were welcomed by a lovely young Asian girl that greeted us with a bouncy personality and she was attentive to all our needs. She made our evening enjoyable and recommended food that I would not usually try and they all tasted fabulous, especially the Chicken and Duck liver pate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a superb meal here this evening.The service was outstanding,just so attentive.
The cleanliness of the restaurant is above average.In the area are several establishments who are striving for perfection ,my advice is to go and see how it's all done here then maybe you will get it right.
Impressed that you didn't have to pay for sauce to accompany your meal.Also meal comes with more then a tomato and a mushroom !

Go and see for yourself ,it's simply the best.

Room Tip: The best in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had to arrange a quick place to stay during my mother's funeral. I came across this hotel by chance, but returned for another stay. Good service and food in a quiet village.
Not far from Althorpe for Lady Diana tourists.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I chose the Red Lion based on the quality of the rooms and the quality of the dinner menu.

We stayed in the Pigeon Loft, which has a bath in the main room separated by a frosted glass screen. One thing to note is that the water pressure is very poor, it took 30 mins to fill the bath sufficiently. Apart from that, it is a very comfortable room.

The dinner was excellent. We both had the scotch eggs for starters, which were very good with the right level of softness in the yolk. I followed with the slow cooked beef, which was also very good. We finished with a cheeseboard, rather than dessert. The cheesboard wasn't that aspiring with only 5 cheeses being available despite 8 or so being listed on the menu. Finally, I found the dinner staff to be a little too attentive with frequent questions such as "is everything ok?".

To summarise, I would recommend this hotel and I would stay again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Fantastic place to meet for an informal or business lunch ,Great food under the watchful eye of Nick and his team, We had breakfast on this occasion witch was freshly well cooked and little touches you would expect,

Room Tip: Book early as only a few individual styled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Haddon
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
7.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 27 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 27 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
9.7 mi away
Fawsley Hall
Fawsley Hall
#1 of 1 in Fawsley
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
3.1 mi away
Murcott Mill Farmhouse
Murcott Mill Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Long Buckby
5.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street, East Haddon NN6 8BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > East Haddon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Haddon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is nestled in the peaceful, idyllic village of East Haddon, surrounded by picturesque Northamptonshire countryside, just a few miles from Northampton. We are handily placed with ready access and egress from the major Motorway routes M1, M6, A14 & A1 being all within easy reach. Our warm and cosy pub boasts an intimate lounge area, large dining room & manicured gardens making it a great place either as a hideaway from the cold winter’s weather or somewhere to quietly luxuriate in the warm glow of a Summer's day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.