We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful country retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Firs Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monk Soham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Firs Farmhouse
Save
You added The Firs Farmhouse to your Saves list
Monk Soham IP13 7HD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Monk Soham B&B and Inns
MERSEYSIDE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful country retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

From the moment I set eyes on this farmhouse I knew I was going to love my stay, and I was right. John and Jean are a lovely friendly couple. Jeans homemade cake is divine. I highly recommend this rural idyll.

Room Tip: Two rooms to choose from, both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanthefirs, Owner at The Firs Farmhouse, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Very thoughtful of you to post such a lovely review. Many people read reviews but don't always think of writing them so it is much appreciated. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

From the moment we booked, John and Jean were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. As we were coming up from London for a wedding, they even helped us to find a local cab firm to take us to the wedding venue and a recommended a pub that was still serving food late on the Friday night. We booked all three rooms in the B&B for the weekend. They were all spotlessly clean with everything that we needed, including fresh milk and water in the fridges. Each room had its own unique style and the whole house had a friendly and homely feel with lots of interesting things to see. Breakfast each morning was beyond our expections, and the hearty farmhouse food was just what we all needed after a late night!! Our only regret was that we didn't have more time to explore the beautiful surroundings so we're sure to be back.
Thank you both again for a wonderful weekend, from the Enfield Crew. PS the cork screw is in the post!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you are looking for the beauty and tranquility of the English countryside, The Firs is an excellent choice. The Firs is an old farmhouse with parts dating back to Tudor times, brought up to date very carefully by the present owners, Jean and John, who are very welcoming. Expect low beams, low doors and steep staircases - that's how houses were built back then - and it's all part of the charm. "Air conditioning" here is opening your windows wide.

The rooms, both the bedrooms and the downstairs lounge and dining room, have been brought up to date without being "modernised", although the bathrooms could grace any modern home. Breakfast was superb - "full English" with local bacon & sausages, plus plenty of fruit, cereals and bread.

The house is surrounded by a moat and has a garden on two sides which is surrounded by fine trees - with wildlife attached (we watched a lesser spotted woodpecker foraging one morning). Beyond that, The Firs is set in its own fields - if you like walking, then you are spoiled for choice. Cycling is also a good option here, with miles of quiet back roads to enjoy, with relatively little traffic and few hills. The "center" of the nearest village (Bedfield) is about a mile away - and there is a pub there. The wider area has the towns of Framlingham, Eye and Debenham, all well worth a visit.

All this for about £70 per night for two. What a bargain.

One thing to be aware - this is a very rural location and all the roads leading to it are small country lanes. Take a good map to enable you to find it - it is on the road from Bedfield to Monk Soham Green, a little way off from the main A1120.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms! One is smaller, with a 4 poster bed and a separate large bathroom along a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanthefirs, Owner at The Firs Farmhouse, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
So kind of you to post such a lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed, your time with us and the beautiful Suffolk countryside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had only one night at The Firs Farmhouse but it was so comfortable and calm that we felt as though we'd been away for longer. We were made to feel very welcome by the proprietors Jean and John and their relaxed manner meant we instantly felt at home. It was a great location from which to explore the area, with lovely walks around Dunwich and Walberswick. The room was beautiful, clean and cosy and the breakfast was absolutely wonderful. A real treat! Julia and Ben Colyer.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I have just stayed for three nights at The Firs Farmhouse. This is absolutely old English charm at it's very best. A wonderfully restored 500 years old building filled with the most comfortable furniture and every possible amenity to make your relaxed stay a most memorable one.
The proprietors Jean and John Richardson extended the warmest welcome and served the best breakfasts imaginable, using locally produced products. In the grounds comprising a moat. are a menagerie of contented pet animals including a pair of goats and a flock of geese. I am looking forward to my next return visit.

John Tomsett, Evesham

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I would recommend this lovely restored home to anyone traveling in the Suffolk area. It was such a relaxing, friendly, comfortable home and atmosphere and I can't say enough about the wonderful breakfast. We were made to feel very welcome and would definitely stay there again!
Laurie & Dennis Duncan

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanthefirs, Owner at The Firs Farmhouse, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thanks so much for your lovely review it is very much appreciated. May be you will visit England again one day if so we hope to see you. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed at the Firs Farmhouse while working near by. The welcome was warm and friendly. The Bedroom was extremely comfortable and clean. The Breakfast was the best I have had at any hotel by a mile. If you are in the area and need a bed and breakfast look know further.
Andrew Taylor c/o W H Peacocks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanthefirs, Owner at The Firs Farmhouse, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you very much for the super review it means a lot to us that people take the time to post a review.
Thanks again, Jean and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Firs Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firs Farmhouse

Address: Monk Soham IP13 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Monk Soham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monk Soham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Firs Farmhouse is a charming, lovingly restored 16th century grade 11 listed farmhouse. It has many original features and is part moated, the moat being an ancient monument and is set in 3 acres with uninterrupted views across the gentle Suffolk countryside. We have two beautiful double bedrooms which are furnished in keeping with the age of the farmhouse. Both rooms have views across this peaceful and tranquil part of Suffolk. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Firs Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.