We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Snack” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cricketers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cricketers to your Saves list
The Cricketers
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Clavering, Saffron Walden CB11 4QT , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Clavering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bury st. edmunds
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice Snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Popped in as we were house hunting in the area. Lovely pub with ridiculously low old ceilings. Staff very helpful. Shared an antipasti which was nice and eat outside - all very pleasant. Would like to visit again and try a main meal/stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    91
    46
    28
    10
See reviews for
72
132
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here yesterday, beautiful room in the pavilion part, 4 poster bed, room was lovely and spacious, very clean, as was very nice en suite bathroom. Beautifully decorated. stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast package, £130.00 . Excellent value for £62.50 each, dinner wa beautiful 3 course meal, anything you wanted off the menu or from the specials board, I had the roast Cornish monkfish in put lentil stew, cooked beautifully, with gorgeous hand made chips with their skins still on and vegetables, would have given 5 stars, but because of the disturbed sleep, I have to score 4. Food and service a 5 but sleep quality a 3. (Please see room tip.) breakfast was superb, full English for me with home made sausages and perfectly cooked poached egg, husband had the lowestoft kippers and said they were the best he had ever tasted.

Room Tip: Pavilion room 1, 4 poster bed, beautiful room but noise from room above was very annoying! Very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed on the dinner, bed & breakfast offer run by The Cricketers. From the moment we arrived to the time we checked out our party of eight were made to feel welcome. The quality of the food & the ingredients used were all top quality and the price of the package was very reasonable. All eight of us booked our next visit as we checked out, what better recommendation do you want.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We visited 3 years ago for dinner and really enjoyed our meal. So as a treat this Easter we went for the £130 overnight stay special. When booking I asked do I need to book a table and time for dinner, but was advised as we were staying a table would be reserved for us. So we just thought we'd arrive at 6.30 and eat at 7.30 /8 ish, however when we arrived on Easter Sunday we were told the kitchen was closing at 8.......not ideal as we had to dump our bags in then hotel room and head straight for dinner.

Service was good, food was pretty good, my husband had the pie of the day, the pastry was great and I had the lamb. We did not have dessert. We retired then to the bar area for a port. Sadly then dinner was not as memorable as the previous meal we had had. Pleasant meal, but considering we had travelled from Hertford, not really worth the drive.

We slept well in a comfortable but outdated room. Headed for breakfast in the morning.
It started well, a nice fruit and yoghurt mini pot, which was very fresh. The service was hit and miss, we had to ask for menus and the call the waitress to make an order. My husband had poached egg on toast which came out in a pool of water, the bread was absolutely drenched. He removed the wet toast and just ate the eggs. The breakfast was very dissociating, clearly not the same chefs or care was taken over the food, as the night before.

When we checked out, nobody asked us if we had enjoyed our stay, we're not ones to complain of make a fuss, but we wanted to tell them we enjoyed our meal the night before and slept well but we wanted to share the disappointment over breakfast. The owner took it rather personally and was curt, whilst his wife simply ignored us and went on to answer the phone to take another booking.

I'm sorry to say we won't be investing in an overnight stay again. We'll either try again with dinner, or just stick to dinner in Hertford.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I went there to celebrate a birthday, have been before a few years ago, and OMG it was worth the wait! We had a table in the bar, not in the restaurant, but the food is the same. Starters and Main courses were hot, freshly prepared, beautifully presented and unbelievably tasty. For dessert, thought I'd try the chocolate brownie with Salty Caramel sauce. Can't rate it highly enough - I think it was the best dessert I've EVER eaten. Don't miss it - it's fantastic. The house red wine was excellent, as was the service. 11 out of 10!!

Room Tip: Didn't stay there - just went for a meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had a lovely experience at The Cricketers,Clavering. Had lunch with a bunch of friends and what a lovely lunch it was, for starter I had carrot and coriander soup, yummy! then I had fresh salmon in a gorgeous sauce, with mashed potatoes (that were divine) fresh carrots and cauliflower, then apple crumble with ice cream, delicious. The ambience was fab as was the service. My Husband had lamb with roast potatoes & fresh vegetables - they even came round with a big bowl of extra roast potatoes....needless to say, he accepted. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just got in from a meal at the Cricketers Clavering could not wait to write this review which I have never done before. Took my husband and daughter of 15 for a meal for my husbands 50th could not rate high enough. The food was of another class the staff were very very friendly and helpful. Will defo reccomend and return maybe next time will stay over as didn t wan t to leave lovely atmosphere and felt special. Well done all at the Cicketers for getting everything SPOT ON.
The Devereuxs

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cricketers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cricketers

Address: Clavering, Saffron Walden CB11 4QT , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden > Clavering
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clavering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cricketers 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Cricketers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cricketers Hotel Clavering

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cricketers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.