We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service in Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal 180 Merida-Campeche | Municipio de Maxcanu - Santa Rosa de Lima, Maxcanu 97800, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maxcanu
Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best service in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

We have just returned from a two week holiday in Mexico, the first 6 days spent at the Hotel Esencia near the Playa del Carmen, then on to Hacienda Chichen Itza with the last 6 days spent at the Hacienda Santa Rosa. We weren't sure quite what to expect, but we were very pleasantly surprised by Hacienda Santa Rosa. It's a bit out of the way, and the village of Santa Rosa is small, and clearly poor, but as we discovered, quite typical of the area, and better than many other villages we passed through.
The Hacienda itself has been tastefully restored / refurbished, and even when it was baking hot there was always a cool, shady spot somewhere. Our room / villa was spotlessly clean, and had plenty of room. But what really made our stay special was the air of calm about the place, and the truly exceptionally good service we enjoyed. We had forgotten our driving licenses, and yet with the help of the Hacienda's manager, Cesar we rented a car from Merida, and the Hacienda provided Felipe as our driver for 5 days. Felipe not only drove us everywhere, he acted as our tour guide as well. From our experience he was probably the best, certainly safest driver on the roads ! The service at Santa Rosa was excellent and so much better than that at Hacienda Chichen Itza and overall, better that at the Hotel Esencia. The food was also very good, and Santa Rosa was so flexible in that you could have your meals whenever and wherever you wanted. Nothing was too much trouble for Edgar and the team who were very attentive but in a nice, discreet manner. We had booked on a room only basis, but the meals were very good, freshly cooked / prepared and really very good value compared especially with Esencia who were expensive, and priced everything in US$ compared with Santa Rosa who priced in Pesos. We would hesitate to stay again at the Esencia but would not hesitate to stay again at the Santa Rosa. Whilst driving around, we went to Campeche and looked around the sister hacienda there, the Hacienda Puerto Campeche, which we also liked the look of. It had a good feel, and has the advantage of being on the edge of the town, within a few minutes of the centre. So, on a future visit we might travel around more, staying at Campeche and other sister haciendas, perhaps, the Hacienda San Jose. We would absolutely stay again at Santa Rosa. It is more suited to couples than to young families, and whilst it may be more isolated than some other luxury haciendas the quality of accommodation, calm and excellent service made it for us.

  • Liked — Fantastic service, good food and calm relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — A few pesky mosquitos
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    19
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
66
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

This hacienda has been restored beautifully as a small hotel. The restorers have kept all of the original character, so don't expect shining chrome and white tiles: you get wooden beams, terracotta tiles and sometimes peeling plaster. We loved this but it might not be everyone's idea of luxury. The grounds are also gorgeous - lots of secret places to sit. Wandering around the garden was a pleasure.
We disagree completely with another reviewer who says there is nothing to do here. There are any number of pretty villages with old haciendas and several imposing Mayan ruins within easy striking distance. You can also get to Campeche for a day, which is a very pretty old Colonial town by the sea (it is a UNESCO world heritage site, enough said). What you do need, though, is a car. We hired a jeep and were very happy for 6 nights here.
Our only criticisms are about the food and service, and here we do agree with other reviewers. The food is OK but not varied or interesting enough. We were very bored of it by the time we left. The service is well meaning but blundering and we were very surprised that the hotel ran out of some basics like tea bags and fresh milk.
Overally, this place lacks sophisticated management but it is very charming . Come here for beautiful surroundings in a fascinating area and relax about the rest.

  • Liked — The building
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

We travelled around the Yucatan peninsular - and arrived on New Years Day our fourth day in Mexico from Playa Del Carmen. After the hustle and bustle of Playa (which could be anywhere on the Costa del Sol) it was a breath of fresh air to arrive at the Hacienda. Yes, it is remote, but it is authentic Mexico, it is the country side, so yes you drive through a small village with dogs, and children running along side the car etc. - it made me laugh to read the other review - that he found this offensive?? What you mean there were actually Mexican's living in a Mexican village - can you imagine!

I went with my mother and daughter - and although there were no other children of her age there she (my 4 year old) loved it... We had an enormous room, with a beautiful bathroom and our own garden with a little plunge pool which ran hot and cold water (which my daughter spent hours and hours in) It felt very 'old Mexico' so yes, it's not the four season's, but yes, it feels very true to the original traditions of 'Hacienda's. The food was not cheap - but no where in Mexico is the food cheap -it was the same price as in Playa del Carmen and considerably nicer. They made an effort to accommodate my daughter and were absolutely charming. We stayed for 2 nights and on the first morning went horse riding - which my daughter loved, we went through the village and then around the estate (which is not that big). We had our own transport (which I would recommend as it gives you freedom) and visited a few of the other villages in the area - which was interesting and again was more like the Mexico you imagine that other tourist resorts. We walked through the village outside of the hacienda and a local woman showed us how to make tortilla's and gave us a handful (for free) which we then took back to the hacienda and ate with fresh guacamole which was fab.

So yes, this is not a resort - nor des it pertain to be - it is a very beautiful, sophisticated and charming hotel. The staff are very kind ad attentive and I think they act on discretion rather than being 'in your face' about the service. If you want something (a drink at the pool) it is pretty easy to walk the 5 feet to reception and request it.

It is not that easy to find - so if you are driving try and go in daylight and get good directions. Knowing a little Spanish is also helpful.

Incidentally there is a 'games' room - they had Chess Boards, Backgammon boards, etc...

The pool fits in with the hacienda - it is not an eternity pool - it is fresh water (and therefore cold) and is there for a refreshing plunge....

It is not a 'cheap' hotel - but it is luxurious in a very old fashioned and natural way. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for a few days peace, a look at inland Yucatan, and a bit of rest and respite or want a secluded and romantic holiday/honeymoon, I would highly recommend it. However if you prefer to be entertained and like large resorts - I would say it's not for you. But I don't think this is how they pitch themselves.

  • Liked — Charm and authenticity
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

I feel obliged to write a review of Hacienda Santa Rosa because I don't believe that the other reviewers captured the uneven quality of the hotel. My wife, son, and I stayed for 6 nights, and, except for not trying the horseback riding, we did just about all there was to do there, which amounted to very little. The following are some rambling thoughts.

First, we used our starwood miles for the stay, and if we had had to pay $500/night or even $150/night, I would have been livid. The resort, if one can call it that, is by no means luxurious. The pool is an old, unheated cistern and it was freezing cold. Sitting by the pool nearly each day, we never once were approached by someone asking whether we needed anything or whether we wanted a drink or snack.

Basically, we had a nice room and we were left alone, entirely alone, which would have been fine, if there was something to do! In sitting by the pool (and of course there is no game room, no hot tub, nothing but that old cistern filled by rain water, hence unclorinated and eye-reddening), you just sort of read a little and wait for the next meal, and then go back to your room for the bathroom. There are few other guests around, so you're fairly alone. This may sound delightful and restful, but it got pretty dull after a day or two, and it would have been nice to break up the time with something...a place to walk even. The hacienda is on a small piece of property surrounded by Mexico's version of tobacco road, meaning that if you enter the local village with its roaming, yapping pregnant dogs and garbage wrappers lining the roadside, there isn't much to see.

The one thing that tugged at my patience was the price gouging. Examples abound, from the $9 bottle of water that I was charged on the last dinner (there is no consistency here, and sometimes fresh drinking water seemed free, other times prohibitively expensive) to the $150 each way transfer from the airport, which was outrageously steep. Thankfully I read another review in which the company Orbitur was recommended. Orbitur charged $60, but make sure you make the reservation at the Hacienda; I emailed Orbitur directly and the rate was much higher.

The general service was offered with the best intentions, and the staff was very nice, but it's entirely an amateurish operation, with no real management. There's an emphasis placed on 'pretending' it's a four- or five-star hotel without being one. Flower petals on the beds, back of toilet, sink, etc. twice a day, for 6 days--I remarked to my wife that all I did was throw away flower petals. The food is middling, about average for a mexican restaurant here in Los Angeles I would say, but the presentation mimics a three-toque meal, often in amusing ways. While the daily soup was fine, nothing my wife couldn't cook up in a few minutes, the whole routine of bringing it out in a separate small pitcher, placing in front of me the soup dish with a few croutons on the bottom, and then pouring the soup from the pitcher with the flourish of a swirl truly bordered on the absurd. A simpler example: If you order Hot Chocolate it will cost you about $5; while in the kitchen I saw a Mexican version of a huge container of Swiss Miss that required some hot water and which probably cost $5. I ordered it before I saw the container, and it's brought out in a small steaming cup and served as if made fresh. So much is pretend here-- but you end up paying for real hot chocolate prices.

So, yes, you're generally paying resort rates with substandard food where waiters and maids work 6-day weeks at 12 hour days and are paid about $80-100/week, if our driver was correct in telling us their salaries.

Our day trip to Uxmal was wonderful, and the most memorable one we spent.

While there, a British couple remarked to my wife that one of the other Haciendas was far more luxurious, I don't know which one.

I would absolutely never return to the Hacienda and would never recommend it. Unless you don't mind paying hundreds of dollars a day for 'pretend presentation.' And I cannot tell you how boring it is for children. Nothing to do whatsoever. If you want to visit Uxmal for a day, and money is no object, then it is a nice, clean base station.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

From the elegant rooms, beautiful gardens to the friendly courteous staff a stay at the santa rosa is a treat of the highest order.
Two comments however:
check before hand that the services you are expecting are available - Horse riding was unavailable when we were there -
food- during our stay it lacked imagination and certainly failed to live up to the claims of the advertising. We'd pretty well exhausted the menu by the third night and as there's nowhere else within reasonable distance you're stuck with it. Other guests (vegetarians) were very disappointed.
Overall a great experience, but with some minor niggles that an establishment of this quality should be able to put right easily.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms, friendly staff, stunning setting,
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argentina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We loved this place and can only echo the other views by reviewers. Everything was top class, but in a low key way that made you feel very relaxed and at home. This was definitely one of the highlights of our stay in Mexico.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The surroundings to the hacienda
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

We stayed here 2 nights during a 10 day tour of the Yucatan and wished we could have stayed 2 weeks! An absolutely pristine experience. Staff are so friendly, the food is amazing and the rooms are enormous! We woke to birdsong each morning which was just lovely. Anyone thinking of going to Mexico should definitely spend a night or 2 at this Hacienda.

  • Liked — Serenity, enormous rooms, history of the place
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Carretera Federal 180 Merida-Campeche | Municipio de Maxcanu - Santa Rosa de Lima, Maxcanu 97800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Maxcanu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maxcanu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Mayan archeological zone, Hacienda Santa Rosa showcases its splendid building from the mid-19th century. This building, formerly an important property of the nobility, has become a luxurious residence through the generations. Just a 50 minute drive from Merida’s International Airport, the place is surrounded by natural beauties such as the Calcehtok and Oxkintok Caves, and cultural sites such as the Ruins of Uxmal and the town of Becal. An enormous door, meters and meters high, gives access to this wonderful hacienda which has 11 comfortable guest rooms and suites. Hammocks and wicker chairs, a private terrace and a garden make this place a perfect spot to live an unforgettable experience. Its aloe field is home to a Mayan style little house where one can enjoy enchanting moments outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Santa Rosa Merida
Hacienda Santa Rosa Hotel Merida
Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel Mexico/Maxcanu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.