We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upcoming 4th (maybe 5th?) stay..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal 180 Merida-Campeche | Municipio de Maxcanu - Santa Rosa de Lima, Maxcanu 97800, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunsational Savings
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maxcanu
Certificate of Excellence
North Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Upcoming 4th (maybe 5th?) stay..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I stumbled upon this hotel from a trek in the dusty countryside about 8 years ago. It was truly an oasis in the Yucatan. I have returned many times with students, work colleagues, family and friends and intend to do so again. On one occasion, we happened to be in the area without a reservation and the front gate was locked. We went around back (it was off season) and they opened the hotel for my student and myself...we had the whole place to ourselves and they were apologetic for not having everything up to par and having to cook whatever they had on hand (with help from the villagers) UNBELIEVABLY hospitable, warm, caring and spectacular setting...almost afraid to write this as the tranquility is a welcome change from other types of holidays. Having said that, you must be prepared for it being isolated, in a village with the usual village noises that are unavoidable and nothing else around for miles..

Room Tip: There is not a bad room...I believe I have seen all of them..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, Director General at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear lechlitnerlaw,
Greetings from Hacienda Santa Rosa!!!!.
We received your comments and on behalf of the entire team we thank you so much for your sincere comments, we are so glad you found our property and services surpassed your expectations and made your vacation so special for you and your students.
Our staff is extremely dedicated to making your stay an unforgettable one, so I will share your comments with our team who I am sure will be thrilled with your recognition of their service with a smile attitude - that is exactly what makes this piece of paradise so special.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Yours Sincerely
Roberto Otálora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    24
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
78
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I was in Hacienda Santa Rosa for five days around Christmas 2011. It was overall an incredible experience. The Hacienda is beautiful and from the moment you step in you have stepped into an old world of too often forgotten elegance. The service is attentive and friendly and the staff did their best to accommodate our food requests (my husband is vegan, I am vegetarian). As a vegan-vegetarian couple it may be hard at times and the food can become a bit boring. The chef at the Hacienda ( who is, hard to believe, from the village) prepared every evening diverse and elaborated food with local fresh ingredients. We have rarely felt so spoiled. For once being a vegan was for my husband not a crippling thing.

The rooms are lovely and the grounds of the Hacienda spectacular.

The Hacienda supports the local businesses and integrates with the village of Santa Rosa. Employs locals and encourage visitors to walk around or to get a bike and cycle to the next village.
You can ask for a map of Santa Rosa and walk around the streets and into houses. Everyone is very friendly and welcoming. We walked into an old man's house. A man who has been weaving hammocks all of his life, we sat with him and he talked to us (although my spanish is really not that good the conversation had its flow), and we walked out with a very special hand woven hammocks. His house was small and you can see where he works. It takes him 2 months for hammock.

We have learnt a lot about Mayan communities and thoroughly appreciated the efforts of the management in supporting the local economy.

As for service, what to say, it was just incredible. We went to the seaside one day and the made us find in the trunk of our car a very caring basket with soft towels, mosquito repellent, water and whatnot. Everything is done in a warm caring way. It doesn't feel like an hotel, it feels a bit like family. The day we left they made us (gifted) a little package with bananas, water, avocado and tomato for the road. Any other place would charge you a fortune, they just wanted to wish us a good trip and make sure we were ok. it has never happened to me in a hotel before and I travel a lot.

I would go over and over and over again and I wish everyone would be so lucky to go too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, Director General at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Siuzie,
Greetings from The Hacienda Santa Rosa – we thank you for your visit and I also thank you for your sincere comments regarding your stay with us. I am so glad you and your husband had such a great experience with us and rest assured I have shared your comments with all of our staff – we are indeed privileged to have such valued communities both dedicated and friendly.
Thank you for taking the time sharing your detailed experience as it is moments and messages such as these which we cherish and encourages us to continue on the same path of delivering consistent bespoken service to each and every one of our guests.
It is indeed a pleasure to have Ambassadors such as yourselves spreading the word on our homes which we fondly call Paradise and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Your sincerely,
Roberto Otálora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We had a nice experience at Hacienda Santa Rosa but it wasn't nearly as nice a hotel as some of the other Starwood Haciendas in the area that I have visited. We were there to relax, which in our opinion included lazing in hammocks and enjoying some good regional food.

Pros:
-Well appointed rooms
-Beautiful tub
-Flowers all over
Comfortable king bed
-Attentive staff

Cons:
-Really mediocre-awful food and supremely overpriced. We knew it would be overpriced but we had no idea that they wouldn't deliver on the quality. Huge disappointment.
-All of the locals sleep in hammocks and the construction of each room of the hacienda includes hammock hooks. Unfortunately no one had the forethought to make sure that the hammock hooks were still sturdy and we weren't able to hang hammocks and relax in the manner that is most traditional to the region. This was a big disappointment since we were there to relax
-The hacienda is in the heart of Santa Rosa. The town is very small but there are many dogs barking at night. During the day there are trucks that drive around with speakers blaring offering all kinds of specials on items to the local community.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again but I'd definitely stay at a different hacienda managed by Starwood. The most important things would be to check out the food quality and the distance of the nearest village.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, General Manager at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear FlapperWashington_DC,
Thanks for your comments, feedback is the best way for improving our service and we appreciate for taking the time to write the review.
We are sharing your comments with our food and beverage manager, as well as the operations team so we can be sure Hacienda Santa Rosa has the same level of service and facilities than the other Haciendas of Starwood. We also wan to provide the same type of experience, so thanks again for your detailed description of your stay.
Best regards,
General Manager
The Haciendas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Outstanding as to setting, accommodation, service, food perhaps a bit less so, overall, the Luxury Collection Haciendas (Sheraton) can but be recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, General Manager at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear suesli,
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. If you have additional comments that may help us to improve, please send us an e-mail to thehaciendas@luxurycollection.com.
Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed there two nights in spring this year. We loved it - it was just perfect. Beautiful Hacienda with everything one can dream of. Very good restaurant; we recommend to book the romane package for couples - the dinner in the garden is an unforgettable event. This Hacienda is ideal to start a Honeymoon trip in Yucatan or for the grande finale of such a journey!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, Manager at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear RHW1974,
We thank you very much for your comments, we're very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The recommendation by word of mouth is very important for us.
We appreciate for taking the time to post this review
Best regards,
Hacienda Santa Rosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This is an absolutely beautiful hacienda, incredibly restored, that stands out like Disney World in the impoverished village of Santa Rosa.

The hacienda is aesthetically very beautiful. It's extremely quiet (aside from barking dogs and loud music just past the gates), and relaxing. This has wonderful potential to be a true 4 or 5 star establishment but there should probably be a management overhaul to accomplish this.

I felt terrible staying in the hacienda and seeing the extreme poverty just through the gates. If the hacienda staff were being adequately compensated for their work, I might have been able to justify the exorbitant prices for everything in light of helping out the village. However, the staff we spoke with admitted they are bringing home around $60-80/week.

I am happy to pay for quality but the prices here are eye-watering and the food and service do not reflect the price scale.
e.g. No one was around to let us in on our arrival and we were sitting outside the locked gates honking the horn for a while. The pool is scummy, the service is extremely spotty (although the staff are very kind and friendly), there was mildew in the bathroom and a damaged ceiling in our bedroom that had bugs crawling through it.

A good base for exploring the area although I wouldn't recommend more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, Manager at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear nnocentsabroad30,
We appreciate your comments, and would like to invite you to visit the link of Fundacion Haciendas del Mundo Maya where you will find information about the social projects in the communities we are located.
It is important to mention as well that we also have the silver certification by Earth Check.
Our prices are high because the locations of the properties and the projects we develop, those are with the participation of the Mayan population. We build the criteria and contents of community action and evaluation of these programs, make follow-up and help them from the perspective of self-motivation and self-sustainability. Together with the communities we assess the six basic areas: preventive health, education, infrastructure, productive projects, human development, and environmental conservation.
If you would like to know more details about our work, please contact us at thehaciendas@luxurycollection.com and we would be glad to send you documents, statistics and additional information.
Best regards,
Hacienda Santa Rosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

I was staying there and when they asked me permission to make the room for the night, they enter and rob me 900 dollars. I talked o the manager but no one new anything. They gave me back 200 Mexicans. The room price which is already very expensive doesn't include breakfast and the charge anything you want to eat or drink a fortune because they know you are there and there is nothing around. Donner was 150 dollars per person. Breakfast $30 dollars. Service charge for the room is also not included and is another $25 dollars. We paid something like 700 dollars for one night between dinner, some drinks and coffee in the morning. Do not take the sponge from the bathroom because they charge it 20 dollars. bring OFF, many mosquitos and insects in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maxcanu
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xixim
Hotel Xixim
#1 of 2 in Celestun
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Cabanas del Doctor
Las Cabanas del Doctor
#652 of 887 in Yucatan Peninsula
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sotuta de Peon
Sotuta de Peon
#1 of 2 in Tecoh
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maison del Embajador
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pueblo Maya
#301 of 544 in Quintana Roo
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamante K
Diamante K
#27 of 80 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Carretera Federal 180 Merida-Campeche | Municipio de Maxcanu - Santa Rosa de Lima, Maxcanu 97800, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Maxcanu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maxcanu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Mayan archeological zone, Hacienda Santa Rosa showcases its splendid building from the mid-19th century. This building, formerly an important property of the nobility, has become a luxurious residence through the generations. Just a 50 minute drive from Merida’s International Airport, the place is surrounded by natural beauties such as the Calcehtok and Oxkintok Caves, and cultural sites such as the Ruins of Uxmal and the town of Becal. An enormous door, meters and meters high, gives access to this wonderful hacienda which has 11 comfortable guest rooms and suites. Hammocks and wicker chairs, a private terrace and a garden make this place a perfect spot to live an unforgettable experience. Its aloe field is home to a Mayan style little house where one can enjoy enchanting moments outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Media 8, Inc., Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Santa Rosa Merida
Hacienda Santa Rosa Hotel Merida
Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel Mexico/Maxcanu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.