We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly perfect ....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal 180 Merida-Campeche | Municipio de Maxcanu - Santa Rosa de Lima, Maxcanu 97800, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunsational Savings
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maxcanu
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Truly perfect ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed there two nights in spring this year. We loved it - it was just perfect. Beautiful Hacienda with everything one can dream of. Very good restaurant; we recommend to book the romane package for couples - the dinner in the garden is an unforgettable event. This Hacienda is ideal to start a Honeymoon trip in Yucatan or for the grande finale of such a journey!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, Manager at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear RHW1974,
We thank you very much for your comments, we're very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The recommendation by word of mouth is very important for us.
We appreciate for taking the time to post this review
Best regards,
Hacienda Santa Rosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    24
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
78
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This is an absolutely beautiful hacienda, incredibly restored, that stands out like Disney World in the impoverished village of Santa Rosa.

The hacienda is aesthetically very beautiful. It's extremely quiet (aside from barking dogs and loud music just past the gates), and relaxing. This has wonderful potential to be a true 4 or 5 star establishment but there should probably be a management overhaul to accomplish this.

I felt terrible staying in the hacienda and seeing the extreme poverty just through the gates. If the hacienda staff were being adequately compensated for their work, I might have been able to justify the exorbitant prices for everything in light of helping out the village. However, the staff we spoke with admitted they are bringing home around $60-80/week.

I am happy to pay for quality but the prices here are eye-watering and the food and service do not reflect the price scale.
e.g. No one was around to let us in on our arrival and we were sitting outside the locked gates honking the horn for a while. The pool is scummy, the service is extremely spotty (although the staff are very kind and friendly), there was mildew in the bathroom and a damaged ceiling in our bedroom that had bugs crawling through it.

A good base for exploring the area although I wouldn't recommend more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, Manager at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear nnocentsabroad30,
We appreciate your comments, and would like to invite you to visit the link of Fundacion Haciendas del Mundo Maya where you will find information about the social projects in the communities we are located.
It is important to mention as well that we also have the silver certification by Earth Check.
Our prices are high because the locations of the properties and the projects we develop, those are with the participation of the Mayan population. We build the criteria and contents of community action and evaluation of these programs, make follow-up and help them from the perspective of self-motivation and self-sustainability. Together with the communities we assess the six basic areas: preventive health, education, infrastructure, productive projects, human development, and environmental conservation.
If you would like to know more details about our work, please contact us at thehaciendas@luxurycollection.com and we would be glad to send you documents, statistics and additional information.
Best regards,
Hacienda Santa Rosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

I was staying there and when they asked me permission to make the room for the night, they enter and rob me 900 dollars. I talked o the manager but no one new anything. They gave me back 200 Mexicans. The room price which is already very expensive doesn't include breakfast and the charge anything you want to eat or drink a fortune because they know you are there and there is nothing around. Donner was 150 dollars per person. Breakfast $30 dollars. Service charge for the room is also not included and is another $25 dollars. We paid something like 700 dollars for one night between dinner, some drinks and coffee in the morning. Do not take the sponge from the bathroom because they charge it 20 dollars. bring OFF, many mosquitos and insects in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed at the Hacienda Santa Rosa for two nights in mid-February. The experience was definitely memorable but it's not for everyone. Santa Rosa is a 4-hour drive from Cancun, but it's not too hard to find.  You can spend a whole day getting there if you plan to stop at Chiten-Itza on the way. We took the cuota (toll road) and it was better than most highways in the US. The roads in general are great and easy to navigate. Try to avoid driving at night because the last half hour of the drive is on small, unlit roads. 

Our arrival at the property was great. We were greeted by Daniella, the property manager, who checked us in and gave us a mini-orientation. The resort is an original hacienda (plantation house) which has been restored and now has 11 guest rooms. We were upgraded to room 4 which had it's own plunge pool. The overall room was amazing. Beautiful authentic-looking furniture, 15 ft ceilings with dark beams, luxury bathroom and not a single bug anywhere. The entire stay we were amazed by the cleanliness of the room considering that we were out in the countryside.  The phone didn't work, but we didn't really need it so it wasn't a major problem. While the room was great, the location on the property wasn't. We could hear barking dogs, motorcycles and loud music both nights. Granted we were there on a Friday and Saturday night, but the loud music definitely ruined the ambiance. 

The biggest problem with the resort is that there is absolutely nothing to do. It's great if you don't mind sitting around and reading, but we were bored after only two days. Also, while the staff was nice and polite, we didn't get the over-the-top service that others mentioned in their reviews. The food was good but the menu was extremely limited.  I'm sure the cooks would make you something off the menu if you asked but I wouldn't want to eat all my meals at the same restaurant for more than 2 days. The Hacienda property is extremely picturesque and I had a great time walking around and taking pictures. There is a pool, but we wouldn't use it because it didn't look particularly inviting. A few reviewers mentioned the botantical gardens but we were disappointed to find them all dried up. Maybe it was just the wrong time of year. The last issue that we had was at check-out. We informed the staff that we needed to leave early and we still had to wait a half hour for someone to show up who could check us out. 

We enjoyed our stay and our day trip to  the Uxmal ruins nearby, but we would probably try another Hacienda next time. 

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembr
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

This is one of the best if not the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The level of service is top notch. The only time they say no is when they say no problem. Also great staff like Edgar who gives great ideas of the local areas and what to do. Finally this is a place to relax and go away from the big city or resort style hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

My new husband and I spent two nights in Hacienda Santa Rosa on our honeymoon road trip through the Yucatan in November 2010, and the experience was definitely a highlight of our trip. I say experience because the hacienda is much more than just a hotel, it was a whole experience of the location, the hotel and grounds, the staff, and the surrounding community.

Location: The hacienda is located in the very small town (pueblo) of Santa Rosa, which is less than 1,000 people and abuts the property. We came from Uxmal and drove about a little over and hour at a leisurely pace, and afterwards continued on to Mérida, about another hour or so from the hacienda. I would say it is out in the middle of “nowhere” because there are no cities in the near vicinity, although there are pueblos every mile or two throughout the countryside.

Hotel: Hacienda Santa Rosa was a working henequen plantation around the turn of the 20th century. The property consists of two large buildings which house the guest rooms and reception, plus a smaller out-building which has the Spa and a store. The old henequen fields (which are now a botanical garden) are on one side of the main buildings, with a large lawn in front and a garden in back. All around the property is a wall and fence, beyond which lies the town of Santa Rosa. From the pictures on their website, I gather that each room is different so I can only describe our room (number 1) which was the most basic room type and located in the main building between reception and the pool. The room had very tall ceilings (about 25 feet) with wooden walls, giving it a barn-like feel. But the decoration was anything but – very elegant period furniture and modern bath fixtures. The room was divided into two smaller rooms, the bedroom with sitting area in front, and the extremely spacious bathroom in back with separate tub, shower, and toilet areas, plus a large double sink. The two rooms together were very large, and the suite had the original tile floor. The linens, towels, and bath amenities were high quality, and the maid did an excellent job decorating the entire room and bathroom with different flower petal arrangements each day. I almost didn’t want to mess them up! The bed was soft and warm, and we enjoyed using the iPod docking station. There was a nice flat screen TV but we didn’t even turn it on the whole time. The room had ceiling fans and an individual air conditioning unit. Overall we were very pleased with the room, which was romantic, relaxing, and very tranquil.

Grounds: As described above, the two buildings which house the rooms are in an L-formation and surrounded by other smaller buildings, the lawn and gardens. In the corner of the L-shape is the hotel pool, which although chilly in November was so pretty that we had to get in if only for a few minutes. The hotel’s one and only restaurant is on the patio facing the garden behind the hotel, although they told us that sometimes they will set up tables in front facing the lawn and have a bonfire. We took a tour of the botanical garden with Don Victor, the head gardener, who was charming and very knowledgeable. The garden is stocked with local plants and herbs with medicinal qualities, and the plants are used in the hotel kitchen as well as for the local medical clinic. Don Victor carefully showed up each plant, plucking off a leaf or stem and showing us how the plant is used in traditional Mayan herbal medicine.

The Staff: what can I say, the staff is what really made our stay unforgettable. With the exception of the general manager, all the staff from the waiters to the maids to the gardeners and Spa therapists were all local people from Santa Rosa. The Mayan culture is very strong here, and all of the staff spoke Mayan, most as a first language. My husband and I have lived in Mexico for four years but have never had such a close experience with a real, modern, Mayan culture. We spent much of our stay chatting with staff and people from Santa Rosa, including the women in the handicraft workshops which are behind the hotel (embroidery, hammocks, silver filigree – amazing!). As mentioned in a previous post, Starwood has an extensive initiative with their haciendas and the local people to provide not just jobs but also healthcare and other services, all while preserving the culture and the small town way of life.

If you are looking for a one-of-a-kind experience to see the real Yucatan and interact with local people while relaxing in a first-class hotel, then I would definitely recommend Hacienda Santa Rosa.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beloeil
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We spent three nights at the Hacienda Santa Rosa and we definitely plan on going back on our next trip to the Yucatan in December of 2010. It was such a wonderful experience! Well worth the cost for us.

This was our second hacienda experience. We had stayed two nights at Hacienda San Jose last year. Another Starwood hotel. We loved San Jose as well, but Santa Rosa gave us more personal attention, was smaller and warmer in atmosphere and there were so many things for us to do in the area! We were torn between not wanting to leave the hacienda to better enjoy the pool and gardens, and driving or cycling (they have bicycles for the guests) around to discover the wonders of the many villages. We ended up visiting Uxmal, a must, had a meal at hacienda Ochil, biked to little haciendas around Santa Rosa and visited a museum in Santa Elena.

The hacienda is really beautiful. The rooms are all gorgeous and luxurious. We had the least expensive of the 11 rooms and were very happy with it. It did not have its own little outdoor jaccuzi, but it was located right in front of the large pool and we had a beautiful view of the trees around it. I cannot say enough good things about the property and the meals that we had at the restaurant there. Both breakfasts and nightly meals were heaven.

The staff was incredible. From the manager, Daniela, a charming young lady who introduced herself and gave us the historic of the hacienda and of the village around it, to Joel our waiter and Veronica, our cleaning lady, everyone was so attentive, warm and eager to please. They made us feel special.

The Hacienda has a special program that helps the Mayan communities around all of the 5 Starwood haciendas. They make sure that they hire mostly Mayan people, residents of the nearby towns. They also oversee coops which employ more than 230 women who make and sell beautiful handicrafts, such as jewelery made from silver filigree, baskets, embroideries, etc... We went shopping in the village of Santa Rosa and it is difficult not to let yourself be tempted by the beautiful things you see when you know how much your purchases will directly improve the living conditions of these wonderful people. Bravo Starwood Haciendas for this great initiative!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maxcanu
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xixim
Hotel Xixim
#1 of 2 in Celestun
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Cabanas del Doctor
Las Cabanas del Doctor
#656 of 887 in Yucatan Peninsula
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sotuta de Peon
Sotuta de Peon
#1 of 2 in Tecoh
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maison del Embajador
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pueblo Maya
#301 of 543 in Quintana Roo
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamante K
Diamante K
#27 of 80 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Carretera Federal 180 Merida-Campeche | Municipio de Maxcanu - Santa Rosa de Lima, Maxcanu 97800, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Maxcanu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maxcanu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Mayan archeological zone, Hacienda Santa Rosa showcases its splendid building from the mid-19th century. This building, formerly an important property of the nobility, has become a luxurious residence through the generations. Just a 50 minute drive from Merida’s International Airport, the place is surrounded by natural beauties such as the Calcehtok and Oxkintok Caves, and cultural sites such as the Ruins of Uxmal and the town of Becal. An enormous door, meters and meters high, gives access to this wonderful hacienda which has 11 comfortable guest rooms and suites. Hammocks and wicker chairs, a private terrace and a garden make this place a perfect spot to live an unforgettable experience. Its aloe field is home to a Mayan style little house where one can enjoy enchanting moments outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Santa Rosa Merida
Hacienda Santa Rosa Hotel Merida
Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel Mexico/Maxcanu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.