We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Australia's Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shanties

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Shanties to your Saves list
Sea Shanties
9a Cook Street | Amity Point, Amity, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Australia's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I almost didn't want to post this review because I'm scared next time I go to book the water front cabins will cost more and the place will be full!

Sea Shanties has to be seen to be beleived....North facing calm waterfront with resident dolphins and koalas. The cabins are more boutique / designer lodge style than cabins and I have heard the current owner is an interior designer/architect and it treally shows! I epxect to see them in Country Style!

We took the kids and had a ball they ran around, snorkelled off the private jetty played with other guests while my husband fished and I walked the dog (yes it is pet friendly).

At night we cooked in the open air pavilion and ate alone as a family but also shared our meal a couple of nights with others. My husband fished off the jetty at sunset I read a book and sipped wine all while the kids played in front of me with the dog and our neighbours!

We will be going back again in summer and also plan to book the entire place out for my husband's 40th!

To top it off the managers are friendly and helpful and the place is immaculate!

Room Tip: Go for the water front canbins-great value or book the whole place out with your extended family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am sitting on the private jetty watching the sunset writing this review, the grounds are so picturesque with a swing on a tree to bring you right back to your childhood overlooking the beautiful ocean... Great facilities, beautiful gardens, outside patio area to relax in and a minute walk to the private jetty and rock wall for fishing! The cute cabins have been renovated with all your creature comforts and very comfortable indeed! TV, DVD, table and chairs, fridge/freezer, big day bed! Private ensuite and wc, it's all lovely!! Hand feed kookaburras from the jetty and watch the dolphins during the day and evening... Friendly owners that make you feel right at home and comfortable, very peaceful and if you are wanting a quiet escape from life you have a true slice of heaven right here! Jodie & Jnr

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Has to be one of the best spots in Australia. Absolutely right on the water where there is a little jetty to view the beautiful dolphins when the "dolphin" light is switched. What magical creatures they are! Accommodatation has been beautifully renovated - not that we spend too much time inside because there is so much to do outside! Fishing and squidding is good - so is snorkeling. Everyone loved the outside cooking "shed" with fully equipped kitchen and barbeques.
One of the best parts of the day was sitting under the big gum trees (koalas overhead) sharing a beautiful bottle of something. I often dream of it!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

These "Sea Shanties" are presented with great style, bringing back the authentic seaside holiday ..... sand between the toes, the glorious sea out front, with jetty for dreaming or fishing, and even being able to bring the dog along. They offer pleasure and peace across Moreton bay, far from the pace of the city lifestyle ..... a little piece of paradise. The sunsets here are simply stunning too, and one is able to observe various sea creatures, especially the beautiful white dolphins at night, with the help of an observation light.
A marvellous freestanding kitchen building can be used for outdoor dining, if preferred to dining indoors, or at your cabin's portable outdoor table setting.

Room Tip: Cabins 1 and 5 are on the waterfront, but all are very close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were fortunate to be able to book Cabins #1 & #5 as recommended by another traveller and were not disappointed. We had a 180 degree view out to sea. The cabins were really great. They had a kichenette, big bathroom and very comfy bed but could sleep up to 5 people. The BBQ area was very well appointed with excellent cooking facilities and in the evening we were entertained from the jetty by the dolfins. Would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I first came to Sea Shanties a few years ago for my sisters wedding and have made a few trips back since. My sister booked the whole place out for the weekend and it was the perfect spot for a reception + accom for about 30 guests. The couple who run it are very cool, and really go out of their awy to help you. Cannot beat the location, right on the water, and snorkelling right off the rockwall, and spot dolphins almost every day. There is also a resident Koala (or two?) living on the grounds.

Sea Shanties has 8 cabins in total I think, but they are pretty well spaced so you get good privacy. Each cabin has its own kitchenette, which has everything you need to self cater. I recommend you buy your groceries/beer on the mainland though (Cleveland has everything you need) - as food is defiantely more expensive on Stradbroke.

Amity is bit quieter than Point Lookout (where most of the tourists go on Straddie) but I still love Amity, no traffic, very laid back, and still pretty much everything you need (beach, tennis court, parks etc) & only a 15 minute drive to Point Lookout when you want a surf beach, or have fish & chips etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Sea Shanties is a special place that should be kept a secret. Imagine .. sitting on a grassy lawn, watching the children play and trying not to jump out of your seat because a dolphin is passing you by. Or standing on the jetty and watching a ballet in the water below you being performed by mantarays. This is a place that magic is made of. The shanties are exactly what you would expect. Small, convenient and recently refurbished. Not alot of room to share with your three other 'roomies' but who wants to spend time indoors when you have a giant tree outside with a swing in it, other guests to chat to, tiny fish to mesmerise you on the jetty and lovely hosts to make sure you have a relaxing time. Bliss .. and best of all .. you can take your best friend (the dog) so they get to run around and be themselves as well!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amity
5.6 mi away
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Allure Stradbroke Resort
#2 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
6.0 mi away
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Spa Resort
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Sp...
#3 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Straddie Bungalows
Straddie Bungalows
#2 of 2 in Amity
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
#6 of 8 in North Stradbroke Island
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
5.9 mi away
Pandanus Palms Resort
Pandanus Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Point Lookout
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Islander Holiday Resort
The Islander Holiday Resort
#8 of 8 in North Stradbroke Island
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shanties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shanties

Address: 9a Cook Street | Amity Point, Amity, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Greater Brisbane > Redland City > North Stradbroke Island > Amity
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Amity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Shanties reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shanties, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.