We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On The Bay Resort - Bribie Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added On The Bay Resort - Bribie Island to your Saves list
On The Bay Resort - Bribie Island
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   6 Dolphin Drive, Bongaree, Bribie Island, Queensland 4507, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay 3nights&Stay 4nights!
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with my Wife. The apartment and furniture were a fantastic modern fit. Very relaxing and breath-taken from the water late night views. Surrounding areas, beach, supermarket, restaurants were excellent. I will be recommending my experience with family and friends and looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

On arrival, had just spent 7 nights in noosa, which was rain sodden for last 4 days!! Accom in Noosa was fantastic, so to come to this place!!! We stayed in a 2nd level apartment and yes we had views of ocean, we also has view of penthouse apartments which are looking forlorn. Bribie is a quite place so could def do with more entertainment and family atmosphere.

Looking around place on arrival, the whole place looked worn out an dated, got to reception to check in an then put cars in car park, all was good an management seemed ok.

Had spent less that 2 hours in room and we have a 2 yr old child who is hard work as most families would understand. Had a knock at the door with both management standing there, holding shells in their hands, saying they had just found them below our balcony, was a feature owner had put in and they want the rest back. Of course we apologised immediately an realised they had been thrown over by our daughter. As you would understand I was not happy that she had done this, but the reaction from the management was terrible, as we apologised they just ignored us an stood there waiting for rest of shells we had hidden!

Would of recommended this place to others but after our dealings with Victor Meldrew and his wife, there's not a hope! Needs a good clean up an accurate views posted on website! Garbage charge is a joke!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I knew from the beginning that $205.00 per night for a one bedroom apartment in this complex was a lot more than it was worth, but wanted something a bit nicer than the other bribie accomodation and I stayed 2 nights and got the 3rd free as part of a deal. The advantage is a great stroll, 10 minutes, to restaurants, and accross the road from the bay which is fantastic on sunset to walk over and sit with a drink. The room was clean, it had water views but that's through trees and the verandahs are far from private from other unit blocks. The bathroom is an ensuite which makes it hard for privacy, and one of those showers that make you hang to get home to you own. As other reviews have said, the rules and regulations about garbage etc put you off from ever going back as for the price per night, it should absolutely be included in the price, no matter what the owners rules are. your made to feel like s schoolie. I would only reccomend staying here for th location and ONLY if you get a very, very good deal on the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed for a week with our family in a two bedroom appartment. It was great, very spacious, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We checked into On The Bay on the 23rd of December for ten nights. We found the location to be great. We stay on Bribie every second Christmas and no the island very well. We only had four times that we needed to interact with the onsite manager and found her pleasant each time. Once on checking in, one was to get a replacement battery for the gate opener to the garage, and the two other times to have bulbs replaced in the hallway light and the main bedroom light. Neither were working on arrival. Not a hassle for us. We stayed in a two bedroom two bathroom unit on the third level, number 25. This unit had no insect screens on any windows or doors and given the humidity and rain whilst we were there we were forced to run the air-conditioning alot, which of course with power bills these days only reduces the owners return on investment. The kitchen was reasonably fitted out with kitchen utensils for our stay. We had a room service halfway through our stay but no toiletries were replaced which is poor. The unit was air-conditioned but we found this didn't flow through to the main bedroom so were forced to run the fan in that room given the lack of insect screens. The units have a nice pool but it has no shade over the pool at all and no BBQ facilities to use. The sign in the units suggest you to go across the road and locate one in the park to use. The complex could definitely benefit with a BBQ being put into the pool area and a shade sail over part over the pool. My biggest gripe about the unit was the metered pulse phone for local calls given the cheapness of phone plans these days it is ridiculous that this still exists.

Storage in the second bedroom was virtually non existent there was one little three door cabinet between the two single beds and no shelves or drawers in the wardrobe. Also couldn't figure out the purpose of the slated blind between the second bedroom and the main living area. The unit decor I'd really nice except for the bedheads in both bedrooms the look like they have been purchased from a different decade (70's/80's) and don't fit in at all.

The beds were great, had a great sleep every night, hardly heard any noise from other tenants.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
159 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Staying with my daughter and 12mth granddaughter and was told I had to have 2 bedrooms under body corp rules. Wasn't prepared to argue and spoil holiday. Asked for a cot when booking and not told of extra charge but was told on arrival it would cost $30 for 3 nights. Luckily daughter had a portacot with us. Both Bathrooms had poor ventilation and in 1 we couldn't open window without getting in bath to reach it, then others patio could see into us on toilet. Pool paving is falling to bits. Brochure shows view from managers unit not for tourists. Shame really as the place was really clean, new and well positioned.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at On The Bay Resort - Bribie Island, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
The individual owners of the apartments here at On The Bay Resort set the maximum number of guests permitted to stay in their apartments, surely that is their right. The cost ($30 includes linen) to hire porta-cots is clearly outlined on all websites, it is of course a user-pay system, so it was quite lucky that this lady had her own porta-cot. The windows in bathrooms are located very high up on the wall this ensures privacy, I would think that this is the normal location in modern buildings, exhaust fans are also fitted. Yes the view in the brochure is from the Managers unit as at the time of creating the brochure, not other units were completed/ furnished. I hope that this has clarified some confusion about On The Bay Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

It was suppose to be a different experience for me & my partner as we thought we would celebrate my partner's birthday up at Bribie Island. It took me awhile to decide where we would stay at Bribie & On the bay resort looked decent at their website.

I booked for us to stay for few nights which wasn't cheap & to be honest it wasn't worth it. When we got there receptionist greeted us & showed us our room. When we opened the front door oh my gosh the room smelled like cigarette smoke. What a disgusting smell!

Apartment was nicely decorated & fully furnished. Few downsize we had to remove all rubbish in the apartment or pay $100 for cleaning surcharge, toiletries wasn't supplied, no gym, no spa & the noise from the neighbours at 6am every morning was very annoying even the weekend so we didn't have much sleep!

There was few small stores like Woolies & IGA about 5 -7 mins drive. Nearest shopping centre was at Morayfield which was 35mins drive from the resort.

Overall it wasn't what we expected & the resort needs to improve on the sound quality of the neighbours & offer daily room service would be great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bongaree
16.8 mi away
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
On the Beach Resort
On the Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Bribie Island
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sylvan Beach Resort
Sylvan Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Bribie Island
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fairways Golf & Beach Retreat
0.1 mi away
Bribie Waterways Motel
Bribie Waterways Motel
#1 of 2 in Bribie Island
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bribie Island Hotel Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Bay Resort - Bribie Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Bay Resort - Bribie Island

Address: 6 Dolphin Drive, Bongaree, Bribie Island, Queensland 4507, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Greater Brisbane > Moreton Bay Region > Bribie Island > Bongaree
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Bongaree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — On The Bay Resort - Bribie Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 Star Luxury, Self-contained 1 or 2 Bedroom apartments. 45 mins north of Brisbane Airport. 10-mtr Lap Pool, 60mts to safe, sandy beach, or 5 klm drive to safety patrolled surf beach. Elevator to all floors, fully equipped kitchen, own laundry, leather furniture, comfortable latex pillow-top beds, large TV, DVD & CD, large balconies with water& Sunset views. 100 mts to the wonderful Saltbar restaurant. Undercover, security gated parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your On The Bay Resort - Bribie Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On The Bay Resort - Bribie Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.