We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic country romantic b&b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wiss House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wiss House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Wiss House Bed and Breakfast
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   7 Ann St, Kalbar, Queensland 4309, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kalbar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Fantastic country romantic b&b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Everything was great. Romantic and peaceful. Host Sara was fabulous. You must have dinner & brkfst. She is a great cook & it just made the whole experience. We will go back for sure. The area around kalbar was great for country drives and bushwalks & the food at the local pub was great.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thankyou so much Julie for the glowing review and taking the time to do it.
I look forward to having you back here one day , perhaps in winter when I can cook you a wonderful roast lamb meal and you can enjoy a different season out here.. Kind regards Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were fortunate enough to have the whole of beautiful Wiss House to ourselves for a Saturday night stay.
Sara was a wonderful host cooking an amazing 3 course dinner and then a hot breakfast on Sunday morning. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a great review and we are looking forward to hosting your stay with your friends ,which Wiss House is fantastic for. Four couples taking the whole house always have an amazing time . kind regards Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Wiss House is the perfect getaway just over an hour's drive from Brisbane not far from Ipswich. My husband was searching for a special place to celebrate my birthday and lucked upon Wiss House on the internet.
Picturesque and tranquil the atmosphere of the house makes you instantly relax. We were greeted by Sara the owner who made us feel extremely welcome with a freshly brewed pot of tea served in period teapot and cups with yummy brownies for afternoon tea.
The house is adorned with period furnishings, and photos of the original owners, Sara clearly has a great passion for the history of the house as the current custodian.
We had a lovely room with ensuite with a deep bath. The rooms are air conditioned and very comfortable.
Dinner was served in a elegant dining room - by candlelight for two. The three course meal was delicious and served at a leisurely pace. Sara is the perfect host, discreet but also very engaging.
At the end of the meal Sara surprised me with a cup cake with a candle to finish off the meal a lovely touch.
If you are looking for a perfect tranquil get away Wiss House does not disappoint.

Room Tip: Back bedroom has ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thankyou Bernadette for the fantastic review and it was an honor to meet you both. We really enjoy making guests special occassion's more special so you have great memories. We hope to see you again one day. PS - the local butcher tells me he is re opening- will let you know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to spend our 17th Anniversary. I searched around online and found the website for Wiss House B and B. The pictures looked lovely and when we arrived I found that they didn't disappoint. The House was impressive to say the least. Sara gave us a beautiful room with a lovely King sized four poster bed. We spent the evening enjoying an amazing three course dinner by candlelight in the elegant dining room. After we woke in the morning and worked our way through an equally scrumptious breakfast we went for a refreshing swim in the pool. Sara was a wonderful host who found every opportunity to go the extra mile and make our stay special - thank you so much for a relaxing and enjoyable night away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review Ben. Really glad you had an enjoyable stay.
We will be closed for the next week for our carpet cleaning, house washing and general all out cleaning maintenance so we wish you all a Very Happy Xmas and New Year and we will be back in 2014 with an ever improving product and service.
warm regards
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Upon our arrival at the Wiss House we were welcomed by the owner Sara who immediately made us feel very comfortable. The home was beautiful and our room was immaculate and extremely comfortable. All rooms in the house were furnished in lovely antique period furniture in keeping with the age and history of this wonderful home. Sara kindly assisted us with any of our needs during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for her as she took great pride in hosting her guests. The country breakfast that Sara served was one of the highlights of our stay. We highly recommend this B&B and look forward to our next stay at the Wiss House when visiting this region again. Thank you again Sara for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thankyou so much Rachael for your excellent review. Im so glad you both enjoyed the hearty breakfast and the effort l put in to make the rooms lovely (im an Interior Designer by trade) and hope you can come and stay again soon. It was lovely meting you both. Kind regards Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I came to Kalbar for a wedding from Melbourne. We were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this beautiful historic and charming house. We were warmly welcomed by the owner Sara who went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable and proud to share the history and grandeur of her home which she had spent the last 10 years caring and improving this beautiful property into a B&B that one could feel privileged to stay in this lovely historic home.
Our cooked breakfast was more than generous, anything we wanted, beautifully presented, seated at an antique table, with old world charm.
Very disturbing to read the last review, totally disgusting and totally incorrect. These people took advantage of Sara's hospitality disregarding any of the other guests staying at the B&B, using the historic property for the professional wedding photos and allowing their family to take over the house and property making it very uncomfortable for us but also for other guests staying in the house going to the same wedding we were attending. Not only did they not inform Sara of their intentions they were oblivious of other guests I the property and allowing children to run riot in the house with no regard for the house or other guests. Their comments are totally sour grapes taking no responsibility or consideration using a B&B for part of their wedding venue, on the cheap. The $150 was cheap, thinking they could take over the home for their wedding. Shame on them. Sara stand proud, we thought you were Great

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Ros thankyou so much for your amazing compliments but more than that letting other travelers see the truth about the last review. I take so much pride in what l do and it is such a shame when someone who was clearly taking advantage of me tries to ruin my reputation.
If l had known they were planning to take over the house with a photographer, videographer and full bridal party l would have asked them to book the whole house. So sorry for your discomfort with their antics. You are such a special couple and l hope you go ahead and work together. All the best and thanks so much for your support Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

One of my most pleasurable week ends of the year. Kalbar is a town of historical quant interest, from the buildings to the local wineries. Surrounded by national parks we had plenty to do in 3 days and wished for longer time in the country. Our hostess, Sara was the most pleasurable, creating a gourmet 3 course dinner I am still dreaming about. Sara being an interior designer has had a wonderful time re creating this historical houses ambience and authenticity. Strongly recommended a great place to go. We will be back Sara!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wiss House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiss House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7 Ann St, Kalbar, Queensland 4309, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Kalbar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kalbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wiss House Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage listed Wiss House is in the small rural town of Kalbar in the Scenic Rim. Wiss House oozes elegance, style and luxury with guests offered a chance to step back in time and experience what life was like for a wealthy merchant in the early 1900’s. Fully air-conditioned with four guest rooms, a guest lounge, an opulent banquet room with a magnificent crystal chandelier and pressed metal ceiling, guests are served gourmet meals on fine china using silverware and crystal glassware. Other features include guest lounge, wide verandas surrounding the house and a classic pool with spa. The area has stunning scenery with 5 national parks, waterfalls, cafes, art galleries and wineries close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wiss House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.