We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon voucher 2 night stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wiss House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wiss House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Wiss House Bed and Breakfast
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   7 Ann St, Kalbar, Queensland 4309, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kalbar B&B and Inns
Gold Coast, Qld
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Groupon voucher 2 night stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having just returned from our stay at Wiss House I would like to say what a wonderfully charming B & B it is. Sara is the most gracious, friendly and hard working host and we couldn't fault the meals we were offered that she worked so hard to make for us. The stunning decor just takes your breath away and all the antiques and old photos are so interesting. A real little hidden jewel. We were also lucky enough to be in town for the Kalbar show and then went on our wine tasting experience that was part of the coupon we bought, both of which we thoroughly enjoyed. All up a very relaxed and pleasurable weekend and extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: We had the large four poster king bed in the front room and although it doesn't have a private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great time away for peace and quiet, beautiful scenery and friendly country folk! Lots to do in surrounding areas as well. Sara was amazing and made us feel right at home! We admired her knowledge of the history and passion for the house. Definitely worth a visit! Great value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Well, after our accommodation at this hotel we feel so refreshed. it was time to relax and unwind. The hotel is spectacular, the food was stunning, friendly and great customer's service, spacious rooms, beautiful decoration, great music.In conclusion the hotel is lovely . Thanks Sara

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thankyou Yolanda and thanks for mentioning the great music as previous guests would not be aware we now have a pianola which anyone can play because the music is on rolls and you just peddle! There are 80 rolls of old time music, Great fun. Hope to see you both here again soon. Kind regards Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife Natalie and I spent 2 days at Wiss House B&B. The house itself is beautiful and makes you feel like you have stepped back in time. It is very cosy. It was the perfect place to expore the scenic rim, and is only a short drive to Boonah, Aratula, Lake Moogerah, Mt French and Cunninghams Gap. The hospitality and service from our host Sara was fantastic, and I would recommend Wiss House to anyone who wants to get away from the city and just Relax.

Andrew.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thankyou very much for the great review and hope to see you again. I'm really pleased you had a good time here. Kind regards Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerang, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We found Wiss House to be an excellent base, perfectly situated to explore the many attractions that the Fassifern Valley has to offer.Our 3 nights was nowhere near long enough to enjoy them all. What a treat to return each afternoon to be welcomed by Sara and share her beautiful home, elegantly and tastefully furnished. Her love and knowledge of the historic house and surrounding areas is a credit to her. If you love Australian history and crave the quiet experience of a country town without sacrificing creature comforts then Wiss House will be for you. We are already planning to return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thankyou Joan for your wonderful review and I'm looking forward to seeing you both again soon. Perfect weather (27deg celcuis everyday and 14 overnight.) to explore the Scenic Rim and its magic. Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Myself and my partner recently stayed for 2 nights at Wiss House, Kalbar.Totally agree with the other comments posted. A beautiful Queensland style house made even more welcomeing and friendly by the owner and host Sara. A perfect base to get away and explore the stunning local countryside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
What a lovely young couple and Katie l wish you all the best and thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated. kind regards Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beenleigh, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed and loved every moment of the peace and quiet , the house makes you feel that you have stepped back in time . Sitting on the veranda and listening to the birds having a drink was beautiful , if you need a relaxing getaway this is the place you are well looked after by Sara , who looked after all our needs and made sure we were comfortable . We also got dinner which was absolutely Devine so different a lot of taste and presented excellent .
Definitely would go back
Thanks again Sara

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thankyou so much for your great review and loved having you here, Hope you can find time to come again. Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalbar
3.8 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
5.0 mi away
Boonah Motel
Boonah Motel
#3 of 3 in Boonah
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
24.2 mi away
Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Spicers Hidden Vale
Spicers Hidden Vale
#1 of 1 in Grandchester
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
21.5 mi away
Bestbrook Mountain Resort
20.5 mi away
Spicers Peak Lodge
Spicers Peak Lodge
#1 of 3 in Maryvale
5.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wiss House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiss House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7 Ann St, Kalbar, Queensland 4309, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Greater Brisbane > Scenic Rim > Kalbar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kalbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wiss House Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage listed Wiss House is in the small rural town of Kalbar in the Scenic Rim. Wiss House oozes elegance, style and luxury with guests offered a chance to step back in time and experience what life was like for a wealthy merchant in the early 1900’s. Fully air-conditioned with four guest rooms, a guest lounge, an opulent banquet room with a magnificent crystal chandelier and pressed metal ceiling, guests are served gourmet meals on fine china using silverware and crystal glassware. Other features include guest lounge, wide verandas surrounding the house and a classic pool with spa. The area has stunning scenery with 5 national parks, waterfalls, cafes, art galleries and wineries close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wiss House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.