We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Lights Hotel

Southern Lights Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Lights Hotel to your Saves list
Southern Lights Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   19 Kingston View Drive, Kingston, Kingborough, Tasmania 7050, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Kingston B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Expensive Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here on January 3 and 4 in Room 30. Hobart was either booked out or outrageously expensive because of some boat race (!) and Taste of Tassie and we were simply marking time until we could find a home to rent to start our new life in Tasmania. I expected a lot more for $160 per night in an area away from the city. The room was large and comfortable but the decor was a tired 90's peach/apricot. Step outside and glimpses of the water were pleasant and parking was plentiful but it's in an obscure spot in suburbia and you have to go everywhere by car. Felt a bit "fleeced" with this one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed two nights in deluxe twin room with fabulous view over Kingston and the Derwent Estuary, clean room with small, adequate kitchenette, with toaster, kettle, microwave, utensils, and frig,freezer.Beds were comfortable. Quiet location even though friendly staff warned that there may be noise from the highway to Huonville. Hired a car so 'out of town' location was no problem. As with most motels had to move the chairs to beside the beds for T.V. viewing!

Room Tip: Front deluxe rooms have view and have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Room was only decent. Bed was clean. Cups were not clean. No bread toaster. No microwave. Garden bugs were in my room (i thought they were bed bugs). Shower is small area. Minimum facility. Wifi was given free but inaccessible from my room. You have to walk to the reception to get a better connection. The room has a modem but it is not a wireless router. Decent place but dont expect wonders out of it. It was so windy and noisy at night i get woken up so sleep quality is bad.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights and recommend this place to anyone.
Rooms were good, definitely clean.
Meals, first night battered seafood, excellent
2nd night 500g steak, cooked medium, perfect, think i will have put on weight. Staff were friendly and provided great service, gave us free real milk for our morning coffee, will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were very uncomfortable at this Motel NOT really a Hotel. Uncooperative management, ONLY view from room was the roof of the room in front. No comfortable seating, TV in wrong place, had to move table and chairs to get into single bed, inadequate shower stall, toilet running constantly. Southern Lights is billed as having views from every room. NOT SO!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

paid $160 per night in a 3-bed room (1 king bed and a double-deck bed). overpriced and could've found a better/cleaner/bigger/cheaper place to live. What's worse, it's near a tomb grave...
No room service on the first day after 10am. Someone (not room attendant) knocked the door at 9ish offering room service, but we were sleeping at that time. So she told us that there wouldn't be room service after. She also said she was not a room attendant, they would call one if we needed one. Of course we needed one, just not at that particular time point 9am in the morning!

Btw, We were the only customers in that motel! No one lived there!

Anyway, if you are looking for a clean place with nice surroundings and convenient transport, do not go to Southern Lights Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Lights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Lights Hotel

Address: 19 Kingston View Drive, Kingston, Kingborough, Tasmania 7050, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Kingborough > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Lights Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Lights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Lights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.