We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Sydney's best kept secrets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourside Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harbourside Apartments to your Saves list
Harbourside Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2a Henry Lawson Ave, McMahons Point, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McMahons Point
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of Sydney's best kept secrets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sydney's Harbourside apartments are not ultra modern but they are well-kept and in a class of their own. The location and view are world class. Staff are efficient and friendly. Apartments are very clean - and smell clean. The ferry is almost at the door. Buy a ferry ten ticket and ride around the Harbour. It's a short trip to Circular Quay, Balmain, King St Wharf and Darling Harbour/Pyrmont. A ten minute walk up the road brings you to some great cafes with outdoor seating and the Blues Point Hotel which has an excellent bistro and good selection of cold beers.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a 'Harbour View' apartment. Front left of the building is great becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    92
    21
    12
    10
See reviews for
69
86
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spent nine days in a one bedroom apartment on the ninth floor overlooking Lavender Bay. The view was lovely and we only had to go outside the front door of the building to get the full bridge and opera house view. The apartment was newly renovated, clean and comfortable with a kitchen complete with necessary utensils. The swimming pool area was right on the harbour's edge, more superb views, and it and the garden area were immaculately kept. We chose Harbourside because we knew how convenient it would be having a ferry wharf a few metres away,so easy to get to Circular Quay and from there to so many lovely areas, and a very quick journey to Darling Harbour with all its restaurants. The excellent bars and restaurants of Blue Points Road were also nearby, albeit a bit of a climb from the apartments. We have visited Sydney several times and this was the most convenient place we have stayed and the one we shall definitely stay at again. The friendly and helpful staff also helped to make our stay perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Had to visit Sydney and a visitor from overseas never been to Australia or Sydney and this place is prefect for the location.
The rooms have a view worth millions and is close all water transport to get everywhere in Sydney.
The only problem is the bit of a walk to go to the local pubs and places to eat. No dining on site.
I would recommend to all visitors to Sydney just to stay at least once for the views.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoeburyness
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stopped here for three nights recently. We were given a top floor room overlooking the bridge and opera house. Absolutely unbeatable views. Apartment itself was very nice, although the décor could perhaps do with a refresh. Only downside was internet access - it was available free on the ferry and loads of other places.....but to access within our room required a LAN cable and a very hefty charge of A$24 dollars for 24 hours. We just used the various free services from the ferries and local cafes and will perhaps wait until the hotel moves into the 21st century! local area was nice - lots of little cafe bars in Blue Point Road, ferry stop was right outside the hotel across to Central Pier. Best way from the airport seems to be a train to Central Pier then get a ferry from there to McMahon point.

Room Tip: .....Bridge view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Harbourside Apartments offer spectacular views of the Sydney Harbour and portions of the downtown skyline. If you are into photography, the vistas you get from your room for dawn scenes over the harbour is great! If you are here over New Year's Eve, you get the ultimate view of the fireworks right from your room without having to deal with the crowds and security around the popular viewing locations (which includes the park and the ferry dock right outside the apartments). The location is also excellent wrt public transportation given quick and fast access via the ferries (just a few steps out) to circular quay from where one can hang out around the Opera House, take other ferries to the zoo/beaches/etc or the train to elsewhere in Sydney incl. the airport. Overall the place looks decent and clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

just returned back to uk and spend 8 nights in 3 different apartments each one spotlessly clean with excellent views of the harbour and opera house.Staff were extremley friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble for them. i stayed with my two daughters and we all had a fabulous time the views are to die for and there is everything you need in the apartment to make your stay as comfortable as possible. very good location near to shops and ferry on the door step would not hesitate to book these apartment they are well worth it thanks to all reception staff you all did a great job in making our stay great

Room Tip: high fioor ask for harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed at the Harbourside Apartments every time we've visited Sydney over the last couple of years - maybe half a dozen times. The views from every apartment are fantastic. We love the convenience, value for money and excellent location. Our family of four stayed there recently and it was the first time we were in one of the "refurbished" rooms and it was also the first time we came away disappointed. Despite the fact that it was one of the newer apartments everything looked a bit shabby, right down to the mould in the shower. The oven didn't work, there were tins of paint under the sink, there was no bathtub (unlike in the older apartments) and the windows and fan were filthy. We were on the 14th floor and it got really hot during the day. They did loan us a baby bath and highchair at no cost, but they wanted to charge us $15 a day to borrow a travel cot and $30 a day for internet access which is just extortionate. We were also in one of the floors without a laundry so the whole stay wasn't very family friendly. My parents stayed in another apartment at the same time and their stay could not have been more different. They were upgraded free of charge to a 2 bedroom apartment, on a lower floor, and were advised that work was taking place at the time (something we learned as painters came past our windows!). I love Harbourside and will stay again but I was disappointed by the inconsistency and overall quality of the place this time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harbourside82, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourside Apartments, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear BLWC,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment regarding your stay. I do note your upcoming reservation with us at Harbourside.

I would hope that if you encounter any issues or have any comments regarding your stay that you will take the opportunity to liaise at the time with myself directly so I can ensure you enjoy your stay to its fullest.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Harbourside.

Kind regards,
Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Harbourside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourside Apartments

Address: 2a Henry Lawson Ave, McMahons Point, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060 , Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney > McMahons Point
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McMahons Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The panoramic harbour views from Harbourside Apartments set this property apart while offering the exclusivity of a waterfront address right on the edge of Sydney Harbour. Sydney CBD and Darling Harbour are accessed peacefully and quickly without fuss by ferry from McMahons Point wharf at the end of the driveway. Harbourside offers studio, one and two bedroom Apartments furnished in a modern contemporary style. Harbourside Apartments are serviced daily with free car parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbourside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourside Apartments Sydney
Harbourside Apartments Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourside Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.