We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A steamy two nights in Adelaide…...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tiffins on the Park

Save Saved
You added Tiffins on the Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tiffins on the Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Greenhill Rd, Parkside, Unley, South Australia 5063, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Parkside
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A steamy two nights in Adelaide…...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The weather was stinking hot and I was damp, tired and a little overwrought from driving a hire car in a strange city with faltering sat-nav - oh and the air-con on full blast, (this gave me a strange, but unwanted, wild new hair do).

Arriving at Tiffins felt like finding an oasis in a desert. The receptionist offered a very pleasant welcome to the damp woman with wild hair, which was much appreciated. I was also warned to book for dinner that night as they were very busy - it was the fringe Festival week. Following that quick and efficient check- in I was soon in my room.

A cool, comfortable and quiet space, crisp white linen, a roomy bathroom and a fabulous restaurant in the hotel restored and calmed me at the end of a busy work day. The food was so good that I ate in the restaurant both nights..

I recommend Tiffins on the Park to you and won't hesitate to stay there again when I next return to Adelaide.

BTW - There is a pool too - but I forgot my bathers :(

Room Tip: I chose a downstairs room away from the pool and the bar and also because I had three suitcases to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corporateaustfemale, Director of Sales at Tiffins on the Park, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us, we really appreciate your feedback.
We are so glad you were able to experience and enjoy our wonderful restaurant - 176 Bar & Grill - during your stay. Now that the Fringe season has ended we return to free live music in the bar every Friday night coupled with double bubbles, hopefully your next stay can include a Friday night.

Booking an executive queen or business class suite on the ground floor is definitely a great way to avoid the stairs to the first floor and your so close to the public areas like the resort style undercover pool adjacent to the bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
18
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place was only just ok. Rooms just clean enough, a bit of mould around, generally seems to be very dated décor. They seemed to be having electrical problems with no lights in hallways.

Pool was good.

Breakfast was one of the better I have had in a hotel setting, they are usually poor.

Upside is onsite parking at no charge, I would probably go to somewhere closer to the centre of town or out near the beaches.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corporateaustfemale, Director of Sales at Tiffins on the Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your honest feedback. We really appreciate it and will take on board all of your suggestions and endeavour to continue to improve our property. We are continuing to refresh the appearance and facilities of our guest amenities including the introduction of new furnishings, flat screen TV’s into all rooms and suites as well as fresh paint to all hotel interior & external areas.
Being a small hotel on the edge of the city parklands we enjoy being able to offer our guests a welcoming environment and an alternative to the typical busy city hotels. With complimentary inclusions like car parking & Wi-Fi in public areas we're also great value. Our resort style undercover pool is an ideal spot to relax and enjoy a beverage from the adjacent bar or order a snack from one of our menus.
Just a short stroll from the hotel you will find the Hutt St restaurant district where you can find a wide variety of cuisines to enjoy. Shopping areas of the city are a longer yet easy walk and we offer a 24 hour reception desk where our friendly staff can assist you with bus or tram time tables and any other needs you may have during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Victoria
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a large upstairs refurbished room facing the ring road. There was minimal traffic noise as the windows are double glazed. Nice large TV with limited channels. There were two towels, a bath mat and two facewashers provided along with soap, shampoo and conditioner. Twinings tea provided in room.
Fully cooked breakfast was good but didnt vary during our stay. Eggs are "cooked to order" but my request for an omlete was turned down because "all the ingredients they would use are available in the bain marie". Plenty of pastries fruit and cereal on offer. Basic coffee or Twinings tea are included with breakfast but cuppacinos and lattes need to be purchased.
Didn't try the restaurant for dinner.
There was an over abundance of eating establishments on Hutt Street within a ten minute walk. The CBD is a 30 munute walk. Busses available just outside the hotel.
The under cover swimming pool was crystal clear and a welcome relief after a hard day.
Free on site parking.
Very helpful and friendly staff. We would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corporateaustfemale, Director of Sales at Tiffins on the Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful stay with us. We really appreciate the time taken to do so and the praise for our staff and property.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the comforts of our completed refurbished rooms. As part of our ongoing refurbishment we are moving through the property refreshing paint, installing new furniture and flat screen TV’s into all rooms.
Breakfast in 176 Bar & Grill is available daily and offers the choice of a Continental selection or Full Cooked buffet style. Both options allow you to graze at your leisure on the assorted fresh cut & preserved fruits, yoghurts, cereal and pastries. The cooked option includes sautéed mushrooms, tomatoes, hash browns and bacon. On occasion various specials pop up like frittata, sausages and pancakes. Our chef offers eggs cooked your way, fried, poached or scrambled. We have begun to receive greater volume of requests for omelettes and when possible our chefs will be happy accommodate your desires.
Our resort style undercover pool area is a fantastic spot to unwind with the bar adjacent you can also enjoy a beverage or order from our variety of menu options.
Thank you for the glowing recommendation of our service and facilities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I am just home from three days, (two nights) in Adelaide

I stayed here at Tiffins on the Park. I had read the reviews before I booked. Bruce at reception was excellent on the phone when I made my reservation. Everything he told me was true, I was made to feel welcome upon arrival

I was more than happy with my stay. Some aspects of the building may be a little tired but it is solid, my room was perfect. Clean, fresh, comfortable bed, great shower, I was in the rear of the building and it was totally silent. The bar fridge was silent also
The air con was fabulous, with the free parking there was always a space. The staff were simply fantastic. It's easy to find, it's well located on the south side of the city and I loved the green canopied driveway

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to family and friends and I will certainly stay there on future Adelaide visits

Thanks for great hospitality and a great place to stay

Best wishes AA

Room Tip: At the back, my room was 119 and don't open the alarmed emergency exit like I mistakenly did
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corporateaustfemale, Director of Sales at Tiffins on the Park, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
It was wonderful to read about your stay, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We truly pride ourselves on our friendly staff and our atmosphere, it is fantastic to know you felt this as soon as you arrived. Being a small hotel on the edge of the city park lands we enjoy being able to offer our guests a welcoming environment and an alternative to the typical busy city hotels. With complimentary inclusions like car parking & Wi-Fi in public areas we're also great value.
We are now 1 year into our revamp of the property and are improving the look & feel daily. Since your stay we have painted 176 Bar & Grill, started painting guest rooms and the exterior of the property and are introducing new furnishings.
We hope to have you stay with us again soon. Thank you for your great recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I would say it is a 2 1/2 star in USA. Needs some updating. Some "mold or dirt" on shower base. Very dirty windows, but no view anyway. Parking good and free. Bed ok. Quiet location. No lift to 2nd floor. Staff friendly. Need a car to get to town area - about 20 min walk.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corporateaustfemale, Director of Sales at Tiffins on the Park, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your honest feedback. We really appreciate it and will take on board all of your suggestions and endeavour to continue to improve our property.
Since our new management team came on board 1yr ago we have been tirelessly working to improve our guests comfort level and the presentation of the property, inside and out, while still maintaining the value for money we are known for. On your next visit you will see further evidence of this, over the Christmas & New Year break we have painted several more of our guest rooms, 176 Bar & Grill and also the exterior of the property. Outside we have removed most of the old shade cloth canopies and overgrown garden beds. We had added new chairs in 176 Bar & Grill as well as new booths in the bar area. We have started to re-grout our guest bathrooms 1 at a time, this is a lengthy process but is well under way.
As we are a smaller hotel on the fringe of the CBD park lands we are a great alternative to a city hotel and only a short stroll to the Hutt St restaurant district. Shopping areas of the city are a longer yet easy walk and we offer a 24 hour reception desk where our friendly staff can assist you with bus or tram time tables and any other needs you may have during your stay.
We have a wonderful team of staff and are pleased to know you found them to be the highlight of your stay. We hope that on your next visit to Adelaide you stay with us and can experience all the improvements for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
via Alice Springs
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Tiffins is where I stay regularly for business due to its location. The restaurant menu is slightly eclectic but good food is the result. The rooms are standard but no pen and paper is unusual. The mattress could be turned regularly - it can be uncomfortable sleeping on a hillside! The shower tile grouting needs cleaning. Staff are very friendly. The bartenders have a good memory too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corporateaustfemale, Director of Sales at Tiffins on the Park, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay and for your feedback. We are so glad that you found our staff to be a highlight of your stay. We have added a casual dining menu in our bar booths & pool area and will have a new dinner menu coming February 2013.
We offer a 24 hour reception staffed with friendly representatives who are happy to help you any time day or night with requests of any kind.
New furnishings are currently being introduced to the restaurant area and guest rooms. We have also started to re-grout our guest bathrooms 1 at a time, this is a lengthy process but is well under way.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is very tired and in severe need of a makeover. Whilst clean, the shower tiles were cracked and need fresh grout. Overall the room and hotel give off an atmosphere of "shabby". The location is pretty good but I think there are better alternatives for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corporateaustfemale, Director of Sales at Tiffins on the Park, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your honest feedback. We really appreciate it and will take on board all of your suggestions as we endeavour to continue to improve our property. We are currently working daily to refresh and improve the functionality and presentation of our entire property, after 1 year under new management we have made many repairs and changes and will continue to do so. Over the Christmas & New Year break we have painted several more of our guest rooms, 176 Bar & Grill and also the exterior of the property. Outside we have removed most of the old shade cloth canopies and overgrown garden beds. We had added new chairs in 176 Bar & Grill as well as new booths in the bar area. We have started to re-grout our guest bathrooms 1 at a time, this is a lengthy process but is well under way.
We continue to offer our guests a well-placed alternative to city accommodation with free onsite parking and Wi-Fi in our public areas, under cover pool area and friendly staff.
We would very much like to see you again on your next visit and hope that you will come back to see all the wonderful changes happening daily at the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tiffins on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiffins on the Park

Address: 176 Greenhill Rd, Parkside, Unley, South Australia 5063, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Unley > Parkside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Parkside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiffins on the Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in tranquil parklands in the sophisticated Eastern suburbs of Adelaide, Tiffins on the Park is far more than simply a place to stay. You can be assured of a warm welcome and that unique personal touch to create the special feeling you only get at home.Positioned on the doorstep of Adelaide’s CBD and central to all landmark tourist attractions; shopping precincts; galleries; restaurants; and Adelaide Airport, Tiffins is perfectly located to cater for your every desire.Spacious with understated elegance - Tiffins’ 54 suites and guest rooms are perfect for both business and leisure travelers. Adelaide’s leader in boutique accommodation combines the ultimate in contemporary facilities with friendly and personalised service. Tiffins on the Park is home to Adelaide’s renowned 176 Bar & Grill Restaurant, offering fantastic food in unique surroundings with poolside bar and parkland views.Tiffins on the Park offers three private function rooms for up to 100 guests, as well as a unique poolside bar, ideal for dining, cocktail functions and drinks.Not only does Tiffins offer you the ideal place to hold corporate functions and conferences, it is also perfect for those more personal occasions including weddings, birthdays, dinners and more.Offering personalised canapé and set menus, beverage packages, decorations, audiovisual equipment, conference catering packages, a range of set up options and friendly, professional staff, Tiffins is your solution. Tiffins' renowned 176 Bar & Grill offers a relaxed and elegant dining experience in unique and stylish surroundings. Our talented team of Chef's combine their experience and extensive knowledge to present a fantastic menu with the best Adelaide has to offer. With a menu focusing on fresh produce with a selection of char-grilled aged beef and the freshest seafood. Your dining experience will be complemented by a boutique wine list showcasing South Australia's best regions and the best in local and imported beers.Private dining rooms and poolside dining also available. Open for lunch Monday to Friday offering innovative meals as well as traditional favorites with a modern twist. With meals starting at $11, Tiffins is the ideal destination for a quick bite or leisurely lunch. Breakfast: 7days 7am – 9.30am, Lunch Monday – Friday 12noon – 2.30pm, Dinner 7days from 6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tiffins on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiffins on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.