We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamelin Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamelin Bay Holiday Park
Save
You added Hamelin Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list
Hamelin Bay West Road (Off Caves Road) | PO Box 4, Hamelin Bay, Western Australia 6288, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
stockport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed in an ocean front cottage for 4days in Nov. I have to say the website pictures don't do it justice. We had a very comfortable, relaxed and peaceful stay, with some spectacular sunsets. It was a pleasure to come back to after a full day of exploring Margaret river. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay in an Ocean View Cottage and had the opportunity to experience a beautiful "Hamelin Bay" sunset. What a perfect way to relax after a busy day of site seeing!
We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

A friend and I were looking for one night stay as we criss-crossed South West WA and found this little gem. We had heard about stingrays that swim to the shore for human company and this, coupled with the chance for a beach getaway, was intriguing.

We booked ahead and the service around bookings was great. Very detailed information on how to get there and we didn't get lost (even though we were very late and arriving in the dark). The key was in the late arrivals box with a map to our cabin. The only issue I would have about the booking was having to pay for two nights even though we only needed one. I understand in peak times this is the case but not in other times. Also we missed out on the beach cottage but the cottage we had was great. There are also other accommodation options such as camping available.

The cabins were very clean and well appointed. Linen provided, air-conditioning if needed, verandah with outdoor dining, a kitchen with everything you need and enough space inside and out. If I had the time I could see being quite content here for a number of days or a week. The cabins are well-spaced so you aren't living on top of each other. The beach is only a few minutes away and there is a kiosk, playground, camping grounds, camp kitchen. Everyone seemed to observe 'camp rules' so were considerate about noise. It is a bit of a drive to 'civilisation' (you need to make sure your bring your groceries - including water as there is only bore water - but the kiosk has essentials). If you are looking for a get away and peace from the hustle and bustle then this is the place.

Unfortunately, the weather was stormy so no stingrays and the beach was littered with smelly seaweed. But we had a great walk along the beach up to the headland which is well kept, well signed and has a magnificent view down to Cape Leeuwin. I imagine on a great summer's day it would be great to get out for a swim, kayak or maybe a surf? Or take to the hiking trails with the fantastic Karri forests which surround the area or drive to nearby towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. We are so glad that you discovered us on your travels around the South West of WA. Our famous Hamelin Bay stingrays have been rather illusive over the past two weeks however they are sure to come out of hiding with the warmer weather approaching. The stingrays certainly are a delight to watch when they are in the bay.
This region offers so many fantastic activities including beach combing, snorkeling and caving just to name a few.
We would also like to mention that our minimum two night booking policy only applies to weekend bookings (Friday and Saturday nights). We welcome one night bookings mid week.
We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

It was some great accomodation for my partner and i while we were visiting margaret river and its surroundings! All the furnishing was simple but comfy. We were only 5min away from the beach and loved our afternoon walks to the beach. The lady at the reception/office was very nice too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to review Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable in your accommodation. November certainly is a lovely time to visit us, as the weather is generally pleasant for beach walks and it is nice to get in just before the crowds arrive.
We hope you can come and stay with us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just got back to Perth after great extended weekend at Hamelin Bay. Stayed 3 nights in ensuite rooms had 2 cabins between family. Great facilities for us that like the extra comforts. Had our own shower and toilet, self contained unit, cooked and enjoyed a few beers around the fire at night fantastic spot near Augusta, Hotel great lunch spot, Margaret River close by and all the caves that's if you can pull yourself away from the beach fishing & swimming.

Room Tip: Ensuite rooms are really good for privacy and comfort but all camp is so family friendly that it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. This location is certainly perfect for a family holiday with a mix of cabins and cottages and camping to suit all budgets. We are conveniently located between Margaret River and Augusta and we have the caves and wineries at our door step.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after a two day Cape to Cape walk which was hard going and the cabin was a welcome relief. It was clean and located right near the beach. The cabin was comfortable with heating/cooling and everything you needed to cook and clean up. The water was hot and pressure was perfect. There was a decent sized TV with digital TV providing plenty of channels. The ladies at the reception and kiosk were friendly and very helpful accommodating to our individual needs (even throwing in a free mud cake on arrival after our hike). An outside BBQ was also provided. Beware the sand flies and mozzies so make sure you bring plenty of aeroguard. We thought our cabin was a little pricey however it was school holidays and we had three adults and one child.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your helpful review on Trip Advisor. Hamelin Bay Holiday Park can certainly be a welcome oasis to a weary Cape to Cape walker. We hope you enjoyed your challenging adventure along the track and would be delighted to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here in late September, they had issues with the power blackout as a result of storms in the region (as did many other places). However, the staff were friendly and explained the issues, offered a discount. The cabin was near the beach, clean tidy and very spacious for 3. Short 2 minute walk to the beach and lookout area. You would require vehicle transport as there is not a great deal in terms of shops within walking distance. Perfectly located to cover other points of interest such as caves, walks and Augusta.

Room Tip: Booked the beach cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hello
Thank you so much for reviewing Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. Trip Advisor is such a useful tool for travellers and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
The power outage certainly made us realise how dependent we are on electricity and we thank you for being understanding of our predicament.
We hope you will visit the region again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Never again... Paid for 3 night left after 2. Stayed in beach cottage toilet broken sofa broken not kid friendly dishes dirty floor oily Customer service poor the only thing it has going for it is where it is

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park on Trip Advisor. We value constructive feedback to help improve our holiday park and to ensure our future guests have an enjoyable stay.
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We would have liked the opportunity to rectify the problems you experienced with your beach cottage accommodation. We were unaware of any issue until after your departure. Our staff are always happy to attend to any maintenance or cleanliness issues immediately.
In reference to your comment about our customer service we would like to say that our staff are extremely polite and helpful at all times and would have been more than happy to attend to your concerns.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamelin Bay
18.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
18.7 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
19.5 mi away
Edge of the Forest
Edge of the Forest
#3 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
9.7 mi away
Baywatch Manor Augusta YHA
19.0 mi away
Riverview Tourist Park
Riverview Tourist Park
#21 of 52 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamelin Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamelin Bay Holiday Park

Address: Hamelin Bay West Road (Off Caves Road) | PO Box 4, Hamelin Bay, Western Australia 6288, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Hamelin Bay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hamelin Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located around 20km north of Augusta and 40kms south of Margaret River, Hamelin Bay is well known for its stingrays. The number and size of them are amazing. You will be in awe of these inquisitive creatures. They will casually swim alongside you, and on some occasions even feed out of your hand. This is an incredible free experience, with no huge crowds and no appointment necessary! Hamelin Bay Holiday Park offers over 100 camping sites, with a mix of powered and unpowered. The park also has several caravan sites. If you prefer onsite accommodation then Hamelin Bay Holiday Park offers four different styles of cabins and cottages. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.