We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit to MarcoPolo from USA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Motor Inn to your Saves list
Marco Polo Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   42 Parramatta Road, Summer Hill, Ashfield, New South Wales 2130, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summer Hill
third rock from the sun
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2nd Visit to MarcoPolo from USA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

previously stayed here Dec of '11. Honestly decided since I couldn't find room ANYWHERE else in sydney that was a decent price and location, to try here again. Downtown and surrounding hotels were either overrun by people attending the Aria awards or the techno music festival. since I needed a room where I DIDN'T have to pay anywhere from $25 to $60 per night for parking, upwards of $20 per day for internet, refrigerator and microwave. Plus safe, since again I'd be traveling with my daughters 22 & 18 (no mum this trip).
So I decided to call the hotel, spoke to "Calvin". I had asked for "Sharon" but he said she wasn't there any longer. finding out later that Sharon had sold the property.
OK, so I asked about a room for 3. got my quote $880Aud for 6 nights and booked it. I was going to stay at an airport hotel the night before we left but Calvin said he'd "match" the price I was quoted from the other hotel. WOW...that was unexpected!
So when we got to the hotel after going to JB hifi (checked it out in advance) from the airport to get a gps (instead of printing maps to find our way, picked up a garmin for $78aud priceless!!!)
we get to the hotel to find a cluster of cars and kids! by kids I mean 18-30 year olds checking in the small lobby (they were there for the techno concert/faire/convention). after waiting nearly 30 minutes finally get my room key, and go to room. During the confusion at the lobby due to the amount of kids in line (for each group of 3 or 4 they all felt they had to be in line for some reason) our room only had a queen and not the room for 3 as requested. so went back to lobby, calvin took care of it and gave us the key for a room with a queen and a twin,, since we had been there 2 years ago, we knew that the rooms were basic, clean and functional for what we required. TV, fridge, free internet, free parking, coffee/tea making, microwave. Since we were not in the Sydney area to entertain or hang out in the room, it was perfect!
This hotel/motel is perfect for what you pay for! they lock the gate overnight so if you're out late, you will need your key to get in.
Yes, they have limited parking that is un assigned, tight spaces BUT, the parking is free and not on the street!
the internet is quite adequate and they'll give you the codes just for asking.
we used 2 laptops, an ipad and 3 iphones and NEVER had an issue with the wifi.
there isn't a restaurant on the premises, that would be a good addition in the future.
up around the corner within walking distance is a Red Rooster restaurant, plus shops up and down the street.
didn't use the train or bus. but they are within comfortable walking distance.
our first 2 nights, the hotel was chock full with the young techno music goers. I expected it to be rambunctious, raucous and terribly loud with music and revelers. But by 1030pm, it was as quiet as can be! Calvin made sure that they understood that excessive noise wouldn't be tolerated.
The bathrooms haven't been changed, still small BUT they're a bathroom with a sink, toilet and shower that work with hot and cold water and were adequate.
The TV has cable, but we weren't here to lounge around and watch TV. so at night it was perfect to unwind with.
Microwave & refrigerator were clean and functional.
Cockroaches, only 2 in 7 days. BUT, show me a place in Sydney that DOESN'T have cockroaches.
I would suggest buying paper plates, cups & plastic utensils instead of using their traditional plates etc since I wasn't there to do dishes either..
blankets and pillows were abundant.
the beds are VERY comfortable which for a motel/motor inn is relatively unheard of.
They are NOT soiled or smell.
the toweling for the bathroom are fine. Their morning cleaning crew is very courteous and obliging of requests. (Thank you Bob)
overall, since this is my 2nd stay at this hotel, I again would stay here.
This trip was for family/business and this motel/motor inn is worth the price. pre High season rates, but again, clean and safe. average of $147 per night. But the internet and parking were basically included in that.
If you are going to this motel/motor inn expecting to be a best western - Hilton type of property, then you will be disappointed. because it is NOT nor do they make any claims that they are.
If you are going to this motel/motor inn expecting to have a central base location to sightseeing & touristy attractions, close to public transportation, clean, comfortable bed, tv, free parking, free wifi, refrigerator, microwave, safe environment, and a caring inn-keeper, than THIS IS THE PLACE!
I would reiterate, this is a motel/motor inn. if you want a place to stay and not venture out of your room where you can entertain guests, have room service, pay $45 per night to park, then stay at the Park Hyatt.
if you want a place to stay knowing that its secure, comfortable, clean and has a inn keeper that cares about his property and comfort of his guests, then stay at the Marco Polo Motor Inn!

would I stay here again? Absolutely

Room Tip: rooms in the back of the hotel (away from parramatta Rd) are the quietest. I wouldn't go above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn and for taking the time to share your experience.

We appreciate your comments, it is through such feedback that we are able to continually improve our property to meet and exceed the needs of our guests.

We are located only 5 minutes walk from Summer Hill Village, Franklin's supermarket, bars and restaurants ,where you will find the Summer Hill train station, with trains to the City,Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), Allianz Stadium, Olympic Park Stadium, or around attractions venues. You will also find a Red Roaster and McDonald's restaurant within 8 minutes walk from Marco Polo Motor Inn.

However we are thrilled to hear that you were pleased with the friendliness of the mentioned staff. It is very heart warming to us, to receive such a positive feedback.

Our goal is to keep our guests happy and help them to enjoy their stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at: 02 90379888 or bookings@marcopolosydney.com.au or visit our booking partners websites for your future reservation.

We once again thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back to Marco Polo Motor Inn in the future.

With best regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    35
    29
    13
    14
See reviews for
42
25
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I could rate it either 4 or 2, depends on your needs.
For a decent place to sleep, and on the morning go for your things, then it is more then good.
The train is a very short walk and the rooms are rather old but clean.
If you want it for pleasure, then, no, this is not the place, because its more like an upgraded hostel.
But Undoubtedly the best staff at the reception, very helpful and wellcoming.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moruya, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Do not make the mistake of booking a “family room” at this hotel.
Although it sleeps 4, it is a standard room with a double bed, a single & a trundle crammed in. No sofa or armchair, only 2 dining chairs: no room for a family to be together. The trundle fits under the bench. I recommend sleeping with a rolled up newspaper (for the cockroaches). You will pay $325 for the privilege! We could have had 3 double rooms for the same price.
BTW free parking yes, but be prepared to be parked in or to park others in, so multiple moves are needed

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Joanne,

Thank you for your recent stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn – Summer Hill, Sydney.

We value our guests and their patronage and strive to provide the best service we can so that their stay is a pleasurable and positive experience.

Because of our commitment to customer service, feedback is most important and we would like to acknowledge the review that was posted on Trip Advisor.

Our team apologises if we have failed to meet your expectation, we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

We have tried to locate your reservation in our system, but have failed to find any under the name you have provided.

Our focus at Marco Polo Summer Hill, Sydney is maintaining a competitive room rate and providing great customer service. Booking at the last minute can be more expensive due to low availability of rooms, but we always inform our guests about prices before booking them in.

Nonetheless, the price that you paid in November is a busy time in Sydney and is categorized as peak season. Due to the higher demand for accommodation at this time of the year unfortunately is reflected in the price of rooms not only at Marco Polo Motor Inn but all over the inner suburbs accommodation rate are higher as well.

Actually, the room rate that we offer our customers at this time is approximately one or two times less or equal to many other surrounding areas and city accommodation.

Regarding the issue of cockroaches that you had mentioned in your feedback, your concerns has been taken into consideration; however, our pest control team treats our motel on a monthly basis.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay and a marvellous time at Marco Polo Motor Inn Summer Hill, Sydney.

Our commitment is to satisfy our guests requests and make their stay enjoyable in a friendly environment.

We have taken your valuable feedback into consideration for our future guests.

Thank you for taking the time to share this with us, it really means a lot to our team.

Kind regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Convenient location, free car park, friendly and helpful staff, well equipped rooms with fridge, microwave oven, kettle, toaster, plates, bowls, cups and saucers, complimentary coffee and tea, towels, extra blankets and TV. The Summerhill train station is only a few minutes walk away. Very near Leichhardt (Little Italy) and Ashfield. I would stay here if in Sydney again.

Room Tip: Lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Chengmoh,

Thank you for your recent long stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn - Sydney, Summer Hill.

It is a great pleasure to receive such detail feedback.

We are very pleased to learn that you find our motel “friendly and helpful staff”, “value for money”, “free car park” and a “convenient location”.  Also, we are delighted to hear that you found our motel to have well equipped rooms, with “a few minutes walk away” to the Summer Hill train station with connections to Sydney C.B.D or Sydney airport or Sporting venues or Attractions. 

We are sure that a lot of potential travellers will find your experiences and recommendations very useful and we appreciate you sharing them with us. We are also glad that you had such a memorable stay and had the opportunity to enjoy so much of what makes Marco Polo Sydney and the surrounding areas so special. 

Once again Chengmoh, we thank you for posting your pictures in Tripadvisor and we hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us the next time your travel plans bring you back to Sydney.

For future reservation, kindly contact our friendly staff:
Phone: +61 (02) 9037 9888
Email: bookings@marcopolosydney.com.au or our partners websites

With best regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel was ranked 3-3.5 stars. Apparently it means something completely different in Australia than the US. This is a very low level motel, like a Motel 6 in the US. The location is OK (20 min from center) if you have a car. A few pluses: free WiFi, free parking, microwave and fridge in room, and staff is friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear 17suzan17,

Thank you for your recent stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn – Sydney, Summer Hill.

We also want to thank you for taking the time to post your review, we were pleased to have read the positive comments.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.

For future reservation, kindly contact our friendly staff:
Phone: +61 (02) 9037 9888
Email: bookings@marcopolosydney.com.au
or our Partners websites.

With best regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woy Woy, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Although it was a bed for the night, it certainly wasn't much more. The wifi connection provided impossible as the signal was so weak from my room it couldn't even load. The pillow was so hard I woke up with a sore neck. The reception seems friendly enough, and parking was included and secure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prahran, Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This motel is rated as 3 stars, and our room a standard queen. At best this place would probably be best suited to backpacker or extreme economy choices, but I felt that we had been misled by the star rating, especially at the rates charged which were not reflective of the poor standard of accommodation offered. Tatty curtains covered a window which overlooks a junk yard, the room was at best basic and had a slightly grotty feel to it. Defimitely not worthy of the rating. We booked for four nights and moved out the next day. I can only hope that the new management improve the facilities.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this motel as the costs do not reflect the poor quality of accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Ms Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are extremely sorry that you felt our accommodation was not up to your standards.
Despite that we've been incredibly busy, we desire to serve you well. Our staff has addressed your concern and will be happy to find you a clean and tidy room, and great view. However; you rejected our sincerely offered. Nonetheless, we thank you for staying for a night.

We value your opinion. We have installed the new 90% shaded cover on the full fence on the next day. Also, we inform our neighbor of your concern too.

For your information, we just changed the brand new block out curtain in most rooms including your room 2 days prior to your check in. One day before your check in, the guest praised on new block out curtain in the same room.

Our Double rooms facilities: 2 seated sofa; 3 pcs table; 26 TV with DVD player; Free Foxtel Cable Channel – Sports, Business, Movie, Kids, and more; Free coffee, tea, Chocolate, lot of sugars, and Milks; Iron & Iron Board; Mini bar;Microwave; Toaster; Extra blanket and Pillow; Clean and tidy room; Free Toilet amenities; Free undercover secure gate parking; Free wifi in rooms and public area; Security building. New installed key-less card for gate and rooms. 400 meter walk to train station, cafe, IGA supermarket and restaurants; Take train ride to all corner of Sydney; Bus stop at door, and more; Drive 7 km to City, and Major sporting venue; We offer free 32 monitor screen at the lobby for guest to surf the net and photo copy and fax facilities from Reception.

We are a budget motel; moreover, our aim is to ensure guests enjoy a comfortable bed and that they receive a clean and tidy room with excellent service. Everyday, our housekeeping strive to ensure that rooms are of a high standard before we assign them.

Our management team is already continuing to improve the facilities as we speak.

We appreciate your feedback and we will endeavor to improve on our guests expectations. Also, we strive every day to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay and a marvelous time at Marco Polo Motor Inn – Sydney, Summer Hill.

We apologise again for the disappointment you felt you had experienced.

Marco Polo Motor Inn – Sydney, Summer Hill.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summer Hill
1.5 mi away
Cambridge Lodge Guest House
4.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Enfield
Ibis Budget Enfield
#1 of 2 in Strathfield South
3.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
3.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney
2.8 mi away
Ibis Budget St Peters
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
3.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Burwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Motor Inn

Address: 42 Parramatta Road, Summer Hill, Ashfield, New South Wales 2130, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ashfield > Summer Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summer Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marco Polo Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Motor Inn offers budget 3 1/2 star accommodations conveniently located half way between Sydney City CBD and Olympic Park at Homebush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marco Polo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Motor Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.