We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley to your Saves list
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Wolgan Road, Wolgan Valley, New South Wales 2790, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolgan Valley
Burradoo, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sensational!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have been lucky enough to visit Wolgan Valley twice this year: in February and May. Both of my stays were truly amazing! The breathtaking scenery as you drive in and the spectacular setting of the resort make this a very unique place. We saw waterfalls coming over the top of the cliffs one day and perfect blue skies and sunshine the next. We went horse riding, bike riding, walking, swimming (both in the resort pool and our own suite pool), took a very interesting wildlife tour and also a nocturnal tour and a visit to the spa. All of the staff were very friendly and extremely knowledgable about the property, especially Kristie and Lee! The guest services staff were extremely friendly and polite, nothing was too much trouble for Mac and Jason! The abundance of locally sourced high quality food and wine was outstanding and a credit to the head chef Damian. During my second visit, in Damian's absence, young chef Tyson did an excellent job. The service in both the country kitchen and the main dining room was first class, the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and attentive, thanks Monique, Carys and the team. Loved the cheese room!!
Our suite was luxurious and comfortable, opening up the pool doors to the warm sunshine and views of the spectacular escarpment around us was a special treat.
To conclude, I cannot fault this resort, it is a truly wonderful and unique experience to visit Wolgan Valley, it is worth every cent and I am looking forward to my next visit later this year!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    69
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
76
366
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SIngapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I were lucky enough to spend two nights at the resort. We went in April and I must say the timing was perfect. We were lucky to have warm sunny days with cold clear nights - ideal for this resort as there were no flies which we heard could be an issue during summer.

The resort is definitely 6 star quality and we couldn't fault it. The accommodation, individual chalets were like the sort of country house you'd design if you could. Well built, high quality, great beds and showers, heated lap pool, fire, all the mod cons including ipad, bar fridge (full and at your disposal), couldn't be ore impressed.

The food at the main lodge was outstanding and basically on tap with good quality drinks, wine beer etc. We eat at the lodge 2 nights and didn't have the same food twice largely due to the degustation menus changing every day, they allowed us to switch back and forth with the a la carte menu too. Very very good food with excellent friendly service from the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The lunch options also changed each day and were of an equally high quality.

The grounds are spectacular and the walks, organised activities and bikes at the chalet mean you are never short of things to do between easting for Australia at breakfast lunch and dinner.

The nocturnal tour is a standout, but go on a clear night so you can really see the milky way, we could see both Mars and Jupiter without binoculars. Also the wombats' Kangaroos and Sugar Gliders were everywhere on the tour. Definitely do the organised bushwalk, the guides are really knowledgeable .

This is a wonderful resort, we only wish we could have stayed for 3 nights which I think is the perfect length to stay. One final tip make sure you book your spas stuff before you get there, they may be fully booked.

Room Tip: Rooms are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the resort. The staff were amazing and the food delicious. We took part in the activities - horse riding, wildlife and nocturnal drives and bike riding. Nothing was too much trouble for staff and the kitchen. We would definitely stay again for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were wondering if this was expensive for the sake of it before going, but after being there we couldn't work out how they provided everything for the price! Wonderful service, a choice of a la carte or degustation for dinner, villa has to be seen to believe. Horse trekking through the valley a must, although the horses are quite frisky. Was like riding a brumby at times...!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at Wolgan Valley for two nights mid week. Having stayed at similar resorts around Australia, such as Sapphire and Longitude, we felt like we were in a good position to compare.

The location of the resort is breathtaking. It could not be in a more beautiful setting. The location is reason enough to visit. Set roughly a three hour drive from Sydney, it is the perfect distance for a short relaxing escape. We drove ourselves and left our car at the entrance to the resort were we were met by hotel staff. Unfortunately our first impression was not the best. A footpath takes you from the car park into a little building were you sit and wait for your transfer car. Now that's all well and good, but there was a pile of rubbish and crates right next to the pathway...and in such a beautiful natural setting that was a sure way to ruin it. It would take them 10minutes to clean up, and then our arrival would have been much better. In saying that, the rest of the resort was spotless. Just a bad first impression.

The rooms are beautifully decorated. They have a real wintery feel about them with a double sided fireplace and indoor pool heated to 27degrees. I would definitely recommend it as a winter escape. It's hard to leave your room! Make sure you don't get room 37 though. It has what looks like a giant cement air conditioning vent or something, right in front of the verandah. This completely ruins the view from that room. It is the only room like that and again it could be so easily fixed. We asked to be moved for our second night as it wasn't very nice sitting on our verandah staring at a large cement duct. All the other rooms have good views.

We found the fact that certain items in the mini bar had to be "extra charges" this is not very fitting with the all inclusive theme. Similarly, you had to pay extra to have the matching wines paired with the degustation menu. Other top luxury lodges have everything included and Wolgan Valley needs to step up.

The food was good, the service was ok in the dining room. We felt that waiting 15 minutes for a table on our first night was a little strange. Apparently the restaurant was full. Again this shouldn't happen when your paying so much a night.

The cheese room was wonderful and the man who worked in there was great.

We did a few of the included tours which were good. Go on the afternoon safari and you will spot a white albino wallaby!
I would definitely recommend going horse riding. Riding through such a serene setting was a highlight of our stay. Be sure to book everything, including the inclusive tours, before you arrive. They book out very quickly. Same deal with the spa. We were unable to get an appointment because they were booked out on the day we wanted. So book in advance for everything!

The main homestead is tastefully decorated, we loved having a glass of wine in front of the big open fireplace each evening.

It's a definite must stay for a short break from Sydney!
Whilst there are some small things that management could easily improve on, the overall resort was great and we would definitely go back.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I just returned from Wolgan Valley and the warm glow of a great little holiday is still upon us. Our experience with the staff was very good, they were attentive and thoughtful and often asked how we were enjoying our anniversary (without hints or prompts). As aussies ourselves I can see how some locals might find the staff a little laid back at this price point however we found them to be genuinely interested in us and our experience at the resort and I think overseas visitors would enjoy their 'Australianness".The rooms (suites) are amazing, we've been lucky enough to stay in suites in some of the best hotels in Asia and Europe and this is as good as any. Breakfast and lunch were excellent meals on both days with good variety and eat as little or as much as you like. Dinner however was hit and miss , the chefs appear to be aiming at clever, minimalist food but we found it quirky and not up to the standard of a good Australian restaurant. But don't be backward in asking for more or for some variation to what's presented, the staff are accommodating and the sides we requested were really excellent.
We would recommend the place as a truly unique experience

Room Tip: Request the high side of the resort to get a panoramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is my fifth visit to Wolgan Valley Resort & Spa and again, the time here was fantastic in every way. As we drove in over the mountains, the fig was low and light rain, but as we approached the valley, the sun peaked through and most of the low level cloud rose. As we entered the resort plenty of sunshine and low cloud that made the resort stunning to look at as we stood on the expansive balcony of the main lodge.

Joost, the ever attentive and brilliant General Manager was on hand to ensure all went well for my stay. No wonder he was named. Best Hotel General Manager by Leading Hotels of the World and Andrew Harper.

After checking our suites out, we headed out on an afternoon safari and saw many kangaroo, wallabies and wallaroos with our Aussie guide Nick!

Back to a huge degustation dinner with fine wine pairings made me ready for a sleep in the most unbelievable beds I have ever slept on.

Waking up, there was a kangaroo on the lawn outside my suite to welcome me to another stunning day.

If you want to best, you must come here.

Room Tip: Great for families with their huge 2 and 3 bedroom suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolgan Valley
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
12.6 mi away
Black Gold Country Cabins
Black Gold Country Cabins
#1 of 2 in Wallerawang
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
18.8 mi away
Eagle View Escape
Eagle View Escape
#1 of 2 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
The Bowen Inn Motel
The Bowen Inn Motel
#3 of 5 in Lithgow
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
15.6 mi away
Zig Zag Motel
Zig Zag Motel
#2 of 5 in Lithgow
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
24.8 mi away
Ghost Hill Road
Ghost Hill Road
#1 of 3 in Bilpin
5.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley

Address: 2600 Wolgan Road, Wolgan Valley, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wolgan Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolgan Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley offers the rare opportunity to experience true luxury in a spectacular Australian bush setting. The property borders the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage wilderness region, just 190kms from Sydney. Nestled between two National Parks and spread out at the foot of towering cliffs, Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley is set within its own private conservation and wildlife reserve. The resort itself occupies just two percent of the total land area of 7,000 acres and its design, reminiscent of traditional rural Australian homesteads, reflects a timeless appeal and a natural sense of place in the vast and dramatic landscape of the Wolgan Valley. The 40 individual suites each have their own private deck and indoor / outdoor swimming pool. The main homestead offers distinctive dining, luxury facilities and the stand-alone Timeless Spa features six double treatment rooms, and a range of signature treatments. The seclusion of Wolgan Valley creates a natural sanctuary where guests can relax and explore in unsurpassed luxurious comfort. This is the quintessential luxury Australian bush experience - a unique blend of wildlife, dramatic natural beauty, conservation, heritage in a spectacular Australian bush setting, which can be explored through a range of activities including four wheel drives, heritage tours, wildlife spotting and horse riding. All meals are included in the tariff with a strong focus on regional and seasonal produce, and where possible organic ingredients are used. Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley is a member of One&Only Resorts and Luxury Lodges of Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolgan Valley Hotel Blue Mountains
Wolgan Valley Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.