We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soma Surf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Soma Surf Resort to your Saves list
Soma Surf Resort
Playa Guasacate, Popoyo, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“perfect vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I could not have asked for a better vacation than the one I had at SOMA. The resort is beautifully situated to take advantage of the breeze and the lush surroundings. The days were spent learning to surf, taking yoga classes and horseback riding - all of which Casey and Bill (the owners) arranged for us. After a long day nothing beat an hour in the hammocks. The food was spectacular and the staff was incredibly kind. My friend and I stayed in a bungalow which was more than enough room for the two of us. If you are looking to vacation in this part of the world, you can't do better than SOMA.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
52
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

First time in Nicaragua, and Casey, Bill, and their staff made the entire experience absolutely perfect. Friendly, welcoming, and down-to-earth, they made us feel comfortable and relaxed the entire time. The property is just the right size, with a beautiful infinity pool and plenty of space for lounging solo or with other guests. Great food, delicious drinks, and Bill is an awesome DJ in the evenings. It was one of my favorite vacations - can't recommend them more highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at Soma for our 20th anniversary. Casey and Bill Morton (owners) have set up a tranquil, tasteful, and luxurious resort (the "diamond"). The countryside is minimally developed (therefore the "rough") and so very peaceful and beautiful. The nearby beaches are amazing, clean, safe, and nearly deserted. From the minute we got out of the airport, to the time we left, we were pampered but in a very unobtrusive way. Bill and Casey entertained and educated us, the staff was attentive, rooms comfortable yet upscale, and food delicious. Eddy was our chauffeur, guide, teacher, concierge, and personal shopper. Elsa and the kitchen staff were fantastic and the kitchen is open all day. No getting out of bed to catch breakfast - you can have whatever, whenever! We enjoyed yoga, massages, and just unwinding. We went further south to pick up our family, and decided to skip the other resort we had booked on the way back and came to Soma again! Our teenagers enjoyed the hammocks, surf lessons under the expert and patient guidance of Bill and KeeKay, and the infinity pool. Casey was very involved with the smooth operation of the resort and very friendly and accommodating. We truly enjoyed Soma and would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: There are 3 bungalows with 2 double beds and a spacious bathroom. There are 2 rooms with 3 twin beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

SOMA Surf Resort is truly awesome, great, comfortable & large rooms, We have been there twice and prefer the bungalows. Casey & Bill make you feel at home & make every effort to meet your every need. Very nice people & the staff is very good & friendly. Eddy is a great driver, tour guide & all around great guy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

One of the most memorable vacations ever. First time in Nicaragua for my wife and I so we didn't know what to expect. The resort is small but first class - rooms tastefully furnished and beds were welcoming for our tired bodies. The food was fresh and delicious and served by a very friendly staff. Highly recommend the ceviche. Mornings/afternoons were spent surfing world class breaks while my wife enjoyed a massage or yoga class or just hanging out at the pool with other guests. We're already planning our next trip to Nicaragua and Soma!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

When it was time to leave, we did not want to! The owners, Casey & Bill were so hospitable as was the staff. My husband was able to surf with Bill everyday and Casey organized yoga classes (with a fantastic and well qualified yoga instructor Gabriela) whenever I wanted. They were always accommodating and flexible. The great things about this resort is that you can do activities everyday or you can sit by the pool or on a hammock and do nothing. Its up to you! By the end of our four night stay, we felt as though we were leaving friends. They also had 3 very sweet dogs at the hotel, which made it difficult to leave as well.
My husband and I have stayed in many 5 star resorts all over the world and the hospitality and willingness of Casey, Bill, Eddy (the manager), and the staff were unprecedented. Our rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. The pool and the outdoor areas were great. Casey and Bill had great ideas for things to do everyday including the Zen walk to Magnific Rock. In addition, Casey invited me to a Zumba class she was attending which was so much fun!
The resort's restaurant made fresh, tasty, and healthy food. Normally we try food outside the hotel but in this case, we always looked forward to our next meal. The tostones, jamaica juice, yucca fries, and mojitos were our absolute favorites!
We will definitely return to Nicaragua to visit SOMA. It was a great experience and great value. The hotel made our trip worthwhile. We would highly recommend it to families, groups of friends, and couples!

Room Tip: Any of the bungalows are great! You really can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hi I just want to share the fantastic treatment I received while hanging out for a few days last month . I was actually staying down the road but had no internet or a kitchen to cook in so I came each day to eat and use the wifi and the staff was sooo friendly they made great meals and the prices were reeeaaly reasonable and even loaned me the phone to set up my cab ride . Casey and Bill went out of there way to make me feel at home and I wasnt even a guest of the hotel. Its one of the best resorts Ive ever been to in the WORLD!! I give it 5 out of 5 stars. Cheers Casey and Bill. Best to ya Neil T

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Popoyo
20.2 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#2 of 2 in Playa Gigante
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
18.4 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
5.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
2.3 mi away
Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Spa
24.8 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#16 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Surf Resort

Address: Playa Guasacate, Popoyo, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Popoyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Popoyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy world class surfing, guided surf excursions, yoga, natural hot springs, tidal pools and more. Soma has a full service restaurant serving fresh fare with a distinct flavor using natural ingredients where you will truly savor the “farm to table” experience. Enjoy our infinity pool an open air rancho with hammocks, free WIFI plus many more amenities. We are a resort sustainably built and a portion of our proceeds benefit local charities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Soma Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Surf Resort Nicaragua/Popoyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soma Surf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.