We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican I've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Lupita's

Lucky Lupita's
1/4 Rupert Avenue, Bedford Park, Marion, South Australia SA 5042, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican, Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I've been wanting to go here for about a year now, and the couple of times we have gone to go the line has been so long that our stomachs couldn't handle more than a 20 minute wait.

Last night we finally headed out, and got there JUST after opening.... It was already full with a few people waiting for the next tables to become available. Coming at an awkward time, we waited for just over an hour before we got our table.

I can say with much confidence that the food here is amazing! The atmosphere is pleasant, the staff are lovely and the prices even better! I had one of the 'Hamburgeas' with one of the spicier sauce collections, and it was scrumptious and faultless. Definitely coming here again :)

Quick tip: Make sure you get there maybe 15 mins before opening to get in without having to wait a while

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the wait?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I warned my other half that we should turn up at opening time if we wanted a table, but he thought that was too early to eat, so we had to wait an hour for a table. While it was comfortable enough out in the cold rainy weather with some lovely heaters cranking, I know we both would've appreciated access to a drink or two. LL needs to get a bar happening.
I was impressed by the decor, but not so impressed by the facilities. We were seated near the door, so froze our butts off every time the door was opened, which was often.
Service was quick, friendly and efficient. We both had a taco to begin, then quesadillas. Delectable! My watermelon martini and sangria were yummmmmy!
It was a confusing trek to get to the bathroom, outside, through mud, to a loo that appears to service the whole set of shops.
We will definitely eat here again. Best Mexican I've had, but it does have its downfalls. If you come here, being your patience and maybe a six pack to drink outside!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican outside the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Cool atmosphere, nice staff and delicious food. We had the guacamole to start and it was fresh and so nice. I then had the chicken quesadillas and they were just amazing. So filling and great with some of the spicy sauce from the table too! A great experience and ill def be back. We did visit over lunch so didn't get any of the lines etc for dinner!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tasty tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A really nice selection of tapas dishes on the menu. It's a small shop but is popular by word of mouth. Expect a wait for a table as it gets busy and unable to book. Surprisingly the other restaurants seemed quiet in this row of shops and majority of visitors to the car park were for lucky lupitas.
Service was great and the waitress was happy to answer questions about the menu. Downside was the toilets but this seems typical in Adelaide. An outhouse at the back, no signs, walk over cracked floor tiles and over grown grass with minimal lighting. Pathway and toilets should be their next improvement!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Love the burgers, especially the Hogao, or Harbero Organe and the Quesadilla de Hongo y Frijoles is amazing too!

The corn is a must as well!

Small restaurant so if going for dinner is usually about a 45 minute wait unless you get there about 5-5:30pm.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Lupita's also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Marion, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Lucky Lupita's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Lupita's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.