We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portobello By The Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Portobello By The Sea to your Saves list
Portobello By The Sea
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   6 Beerburrum St, Dicky Beach, Caloundra, Queensland QLD, 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“The Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay that is away from the hustle and bustle with an ideal location, Portobello By The Sea is the place for you. Caloundra is a few minutes drive and the hinterland and many other popular beach locations are not far away.
PBTS is located above restaurants and small business shops where you are able to acquire any item required for day-to-day living. The patrolled surf beach is approximately 100 metres walk and the surf club about the same. Great meals at the club.
The rooms are large, very comfortable with all facilities included. I appreciate undercover parking and this is available in an after hours secured car park.
The on site managers are second to none. We have stayed at PBTS on several occasions (we are not unit owners) and the complex is always clean, well maintained with tidy grounds. The managers are very hospitable and prepared to go out of their way to ensure that guests enjoy their holiday experience.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Portobello as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask the Managers to answer any questions that might make your stay more personalised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickybeach, Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Ken, thanks so much for your review, we really appreciate your comments and advice for other travellers. We of course agree, the location is great with all amenities nearby, the rooms are very comfortable and the Managers....well what can we say!!! Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nana Glen, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We will be back for sure. Portobello has the beach across the road, skate park also, take away, supermarket, chemist, BWS, and Restaurant, within a blink of an eye! We also found that it was quite a comfy drive from various attractions. Loved it and are planning our next trip already!

Room Tip: Northern side rooms have better views, but are a bit noisy (didn't bother us though). Southern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickybeach, Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for the great review Andrea, look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second visit to Portobello. We love the pool, which is lovely and warm. The apartments are very well appointed, with everything you need to self cater. There are 2 BBQs by the pool for use by guests. The ocean is just across the road, perfect for a couple of nights as it is only about 90 minutes north of Brisbane. But equally good for a longer stay. I would happily go back.

Room Tip: We like high up (3rd floor) overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickybeach, Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi Erika, thanks so much for taking the time to post a review on Portobello By The Sea. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your 2nd stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I found the unit very clean and presentable. The complex is closely located and short walk to Dickey Beach. There are quite a few convenience stores close by with a few take aways, liquor store and a mini market.

I was a little concerned that the rooms had no privacy fitting on the door other than a handle button. So, there is nothing stopping anyone simply entering if you were asleep or in the shower etc. I would have thought a door chain or similar would not be too much of a problem to fix to the entry door.

I was also a bit put out that despite my informing them I have a disability, they still put me in a room that needed me to climb a number of stairs every time of left or returned to the room.

Other than the small issues, it was a very enjoyable break in a very good facility.

Room Tip: Floor above ground level have stairs, if you have stair problems ensure to stipulate a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickybeach, Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi Peter, thanks for your review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Our apologies for not addressing your need for no stairs, that must have slipped under our radar. As you would know, we do have quite a few one bedroom apartments with lift access & no stairs so hopefully on your next visit we can accommodate you in one of these. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Lovely clean quiet large apartment, lovely warm friendly managers. Dicky beach is a great place to stay. Free buses dec/ to jan 6 all along the Sunshine Coast, a real bonus. Will defiantly stay their Again.

Room Tip: Not sure fitness centre but had Lots for kids to do across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We love Dicky Beach and had driven past Portobello By The Sea and always thought it looked like a great spot...and we weren't disappointed.
This property has all the charm of older style resorts and is beautifully clean and fresh with really great size apartments. We stayed in a 1 bedroom and were suprised how many amenities there were...dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, microwave and cooking burners as well as electric frypan if you want to cook - just to name a few. Or there is a number of chip shops, iga etc right out the front door....we loved and it and will definately go back.

Room Tip: if you are late to bed, late to rise you might want to see if any of the higher level rooms are avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

With the beach just across the road, a bottle shop, fish and chip shop and bakery 1 min walk away and the Dicky Beach Surf Club 3 min walk away the location could not be better for a family holiday.

The resort itself is clean and tidy and looks to be freshly painted. The pool is plenty big enough and being protected, it's ideal when it gets to hot or windy on the beach.

We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom units which was huge but I believe there are also one and 2 bedroom appartments.

Five Stars!

Room Tip: Ask the manager to give you the best room available. She was very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dicky Beach
1.4 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
1.6 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2.8 mi away
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
1.5 mi away
Monaco
Monaco
#2 of 50 in Caloundra
5.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aspect Caloundra
Aspect Caloundra
#1 of 50 in Caloundra
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello By The Sea

Address: 6 Beerburrum St, Dicky Beach, Caloundra, Queensland QLD, 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra > Dicky Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dicky Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello By The Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable 4 star luxury Caloundra Holiday Accommodation, just an hour’s drive north from Brisbane. Portobello By The Sea is located opposite beautiful Dicky Beach, an unspoilt stretch of sun-drenched white sand, on Queensland's magnificent Sunshine Coast. With a superb patrolled beach at the front door, excellent for both swimming and surfing, a holiday at Portobello will be both refreshing and memorable.The spacious one, two and three bedroom Caloundra resort apartments are set amidst landscaped tropical gardens and feature an open-plan design with large timber decks or private balconies to enjoy the sea breezes whilst enjoying your Caloundra holiday. Laze by the lagoon style heated pool with wading area perfect for the children, or enjoy a sizzling BBQ by the poolWith local shops, restaurants and cafes nearby, just park your car and relax whilst on vacation on the Sunshine Coast. And when it's time to take in the sights, Portobello is only minutes away from the heart of Caloundra and close to all the major tourist attractions on the Sunshine Coast - Australia Zoo, Underwater World, Montville, Maleny, The Glass House Mountains, The Hinterlands and so much more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Portobello By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobello By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.