We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portobello By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Portobello By The Sea to your Saves list
Portobello By The Sea
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   6 Beerburrum St, Dicky Beach, Caloundra, Queensland QLD, 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for five nights and were thoroughly impressed. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The accommodation was spacious, immaculately clean and nicely furnished. It has an excellent location, being only a couple of minutes walk from Dicky Beach and there are shops and food outlets immediately next door.

The only comment we would make is that the pool is only suitable for children or lounging around in. It is too small for adults to swim properly in, but that did not detract significantly from our enjoyment. The layout is very pleasant and the trees and other plantings mean that you could lounge around the pool and not feel unduly overlooked by other apartments.

We would gladly stay again and would strongly recommend this accommodation to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

While our apartment was quite spacious and its furniture in good condition, the bathroom was dated and not that clean (spots, rust and even some mould). Management was really friendly but cleaning personnel woke us up twice just after 6 am!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Ab
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

My husband and I went to Australia for our 25th wedding anniversary. We spent a week at Portobello By The Sea and absolutely loved it!! We had a one bedroom apartment complete with all of the amenities we would expect at home. The pool was beautiful. The management were absolutely fantastic. Upon arriving, our room was spotless. Since we also had a rental car, the secure underground parking was a huge bonus.
My husband and I loved the fact that Caloundra was a little quieter than Mooloolaba. There are restaurants and stores within walking distance of this resort which add to the comfort of the stay.
This particular resort is located across the road from Dicky Beach. It's a much quieter beach than some, but absolutely gorgeous.
Pia and Lance were an abundant source of information about the area and recommended some activities that they thought we would enjoy. We received discount tickets to the Underwater World in Mooloolaba. This was a nice break from the heat of the beach.
I would recommend this property highly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I stayed for two nights with family using 2 two bedroom apartments and a one bedroom apartment. The apartments are a good size and well furnished.

The pool is a good size and the atmosphere friendly and relaxed. The BBQ's can be reserved. Great for families.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We booked a 3 bedroom apartment, with en-suite and another guest bathroom which was located on the top (4th) floor of the second block back from the road. We were facing the sea and only had a glimpse of a sea view from the kitchen window. We stayed for seven nights with 2 other adult family couples and although we had not shared accommodation together before there was plenty of space with three balconies although only two have table and chairs. The apartment was very clean and the swimming pool was a hit with both young and old. We took advantage of the spotlessly clean BBQ's and booked one, of the two available, along with a BBQ table one night and had a wonderful evening by the pool enjoying beautiful steak and sausages bought from the Butcher in the shops beside the resort. Highly recommended but don't forget to book the BBQ. Undercover parking was great - we had two cars and one was able to park in the undercover visitors car-parking area. Resort staff were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful to make our stay enjoyable. Our adult son and his girlfriend (both are 6' tall) found the two single beds not very comfortable, but I'm sure they would be fine for children. The other two bedrooms had queen/king beds. Lovely bakery for your fresh bread and bakery needs, cafes, BWS, small superette for everyday grocery needs, chemist and a great fish & chip shop and surf shop all adjacent to the resort. Dicky Beach, opposite for swimming and surfing needs (we did neither) as the pool was great. A great place to stay for families young and old. We did a road trip up to Mooloolaba which was really busy, so loved returning to Dicky Beach. It is not the place to stay if you are after a nightlife. Local RSL clubs etc are well-patronised and offer great meals.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side would be noisier(traffic) and the view would be limited unless you get a top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed at this property for six nights in mid-November for our sunshine coast holiday. Portobello is situated in Caloundra, which is a coastal town about an hour north of Brisbane, less than an hour south of Noosa, and fairly close to Mooloolaba and Maroochydore.

When we booked our stay, we got a fantastic rate because we were staying for six nights. It was amongst the most reasonable of places to stay on the sunshine coast, whilst still having all the typical hotel amenities.

The apartments are directly opposite Dicky Beach, which is patrolled every day of the year. The beach was quite nice and certainly not crowded. There’s a pharmacy and a surf shop directly adjacent to the apartments, and a fish and chips shop and Japanese restaurant just a very short walk away. It’s also a short drive into the Esplanade area of Caloundra where all the restaurants are.

Check-in was simple and the person who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. We had a rental car for our entire stay, so the secure undercover parking was useful.

We had a one bedroom apartment on the second level, overlooking the pool area. No big surprises with the room, except that it was much larger than we expected. Their website has a detailed list of everything in the room and of the apartment facilities. Of importance to me particularly, the air conditioning could deliver an arctic blast if we needed it to. Other basics that were done right were the comfortable bed and large shower with good water pressure. There was also a washing machine and dryer in the room.

We only used the heated pool once but it was reasonably large and there were enough deck chairs situated around it. There is a barbeque beside the pool, and we saw some people making use of that. During our stay we couldn’t eat at the restaurant on site because it was actually closed for sale, but we ate in town for most meals anyway. Our room didn’t come with beach towels but they were available for rent from reception for a very low cost. They had a number of other useful things available for rent too like bodyboards. Tickets to Australian zoo and Underwater world were available for purchase from reception at a slight discount. Pre-purchasing our tickets made everything easy and smooth when we got to Underwater world.

Check-out was practically instant as we had settled our account beforehand.

We honestly can’t think of anything bad about our stay, or at least nothing negative stood out in our minds. Portobello provided comfortable and convenient accommodation on the coast at a great rate. We recommend this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We were staying for a week in November with a preschooler and loved the place. We had a two-bdr apartment (facing the sea). All facilities were in a great condition and very clean. Staff made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to help. A swimming pool in the courtyard, two BBQs, a beautiful beach just two minutes away and quiet surroundings - what else can you ask for?
Having an internet connection would be a benefit.
Overall, I can highly recommend Portobello by the Sea to others.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard will be quieter (there is a bus stop near the place). Rooms facing the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dicky Beach
1.4 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
1.6 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2.8 mi away
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
1.5 mi away
Monaco
Monaco
#2 of 50 in Caloundra
5.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aspect Caloundra
Aspect Caloundra
#1 of 50 in Caloundra
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello By The Sea

Address: 6 Beerburrum St, Dicky Beach, Caloundra, Queensland QLD, 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra > Dicky Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dicky Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello By The Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable 4 star luxury Caloundra Holiday Accommodation, just an hour’s drive north from Brisbane. Portobello By The Sea is located opposite beautiful Dicky Beach, an unspoilt stretch of sun-drenched white sand, on Queensland's magnificent Sunshine Coast. With a superb patrolled beach at the front door, excellent for both swimming and surfing, a holiday at Portobello will be both refreshing and memorable.The spacious one, two and three bedroom Caloundra resort apartments are set amidst landscaped tropical gardens and feature an open-plan design with large timber decks or private balconies to enjoy the sea breezes whilst enjoying your Caloundra holiday. Laze by the lagoon style heated pool with wading area perfect for the children, or enjoy a sizzling BBQ by the poolWith local shops, restaurants and cafes nearby, just park your car and relax whilst on vacation on the Sunshine Coast. And when it's time to take in the sights, Portobello is only minutes away from the heart of Caloundra and close to all the major tourist attractions on the Sunshine Coast - Australia Zoo, Underwater World, Montville, Maleny, The Glass House Mountains, The Hinterlands and so much more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Portobello By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobello By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.