We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than others” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hierapolis Thermal Hotel

Hierapolis Thermal Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hierapolis Thermal Hotel to your Saves list
Hierapolis Thermal Hotel
Karahayit Kasabasi, Karahayit, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Karahayit
Pakistan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Better than others”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

By the standard of a 4 star hotel, this is not a good one. But this is only 4 star in Pamukkale, so its better than most of the others in town. If u have a tight budget, this is not a good place for you.
Rooms: OK
Pools: Good
Meals: Good but too crowdy. U have to stand in a long line to get the meal.
overall ok.
If u r travelling with kids, this is better than other hotels in town, though more expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    2
    4
    15
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denizli, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

I had been several times in this holiday village in Denizli Province Karahayıt town. It is nearly 25 kilometers 15 miles to my town where I work and live. Due to various types of thermal water in the area, me and my family have stayed in several hotels and holiday villages in this region.
During late spring, summer and early fall, it is nice to spend time in the open areas of this facility. The red water, a type of thermal, is helpful and worth to be there. The open sky, since not any major settlement area, during spring and fall is very nice at night. The food is only average. Nice pool area.

Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

This hotel is out in the middle of nowhere so you are trapped. The buffet food was terrible. the room was disgusting. Dirty and very old. They supposedly have 'thermal hot springs' that looked dirtly and awful. They played Turkish music out by the pool on Friday night from from 8-11 pm. It was so loud and awful. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Karahayit hotels

Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed in Hierapolis Thermal on the 15th of May as part of our visit to Turkey. When we arrived the hotel from the outside looked just about OK. However, when we went to check in the reception staff was completely unprepared, insufficient and lacking basic manners and knowledge of how to cope with a group of 72pax -all elderly people with ages ranging from 70-82. We didn't know the hotel but booked through a Turkish Travel Agency, namely NILUFER TOURS in Kusadasi. They recommend it as one of the very good hotels in Pamukkale. The nightmare started as we entered the rooms. We found out that most of the rooms allocated to our group were in the basement. The state of these rooms was nothing like a 4*star hotel. The carpets were threadbare, the bathrooms were in a state of deterioration with cracked tiles and some missing tiles, all furniture were covered with a thick layer of dust, the A/C was not working, the TV in most rooms was not working, when we tried to have a shower the plexi glass partition fell on our heads; and the worst of all there were big cockroaches everywhere. The showerhead was covered in green moss; apparently legionella is something they ignore. In fact, this hotel is lacking basic health and safety standards; the corridors around the pool were insufficiently lit, no life rings around the pool, the corridors leading to the rooms again poorly lit, no fire exit signs anywhere, only a few fire extinguishers present and those expired. When we went to reception to complain about the rooms they just laughed at us and turned their back ignoring us. After spending 2 1/2 hours in reception quarreling with the manager and the receptionists we managed to persuade them that these rooms were not suitable for people to sleep in and at last they gave us rooms on the ground and first floor -not that these were a lot better but at least they didn't have cockroaches.
The so called buffet dinner was a joke. Only four hot dishes to choose from a stinky fish, fried potatoes and onions, rice, and chicken that I dared not taste. I would call the buffet dinner a salad bar because there was a wide variety of salads and desserts. However, I believe these are supplementary to the main course which I am afraid was not existent.
To conclude with if you asked me this hotel should be closed by TURSAB or whoever has the authority to do so. It is the worst, and I really mean the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

Travel agent said this is the best hotel in Pamukkale. The three of us were crammed into a room that barely acceptable for two twin beds, let alone three twin beds. The air onditioner is only one meter above my bed, fortunately, the hotel provide thick blanket.

The worse part for us was the shower box. It was leaking and if you want to bend down to soap your feet, you literally have to open the shower door, then bend down. We couldn't find where the leaks in the shower box and have to bear with flooding in the bathroom.

The dinner buffet provided both international and Turkish dishes. A woman was making a flat bread but we were unsure whether she wanted to get paid for the bread (because there was a bowl half full with coins) or it was part of the buffet.

Friend of mine tried the turkish bath and he said it was OK. I guess if no one can find better hotel in the area, this hotel was acceptable.

  • Disliked — The shower box was leaking and extremely small
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niedersachsen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

We stayed at this hotel during a round trip, but I advise everybody who has a choice to avoid it! Like another guest wrote, our whole group was put in basement rooms. This would not have been a problem in itself (as it was for the handicapped guests mentioned by the other traveller), but it was due to the thermal pipes running under the floors which had heated every room to near-sauna feel. A/C was there, but turned off, no remote control in sight. Our questions to floor staff and a trip to reception exposed the general problem: unhelpful and/or non-English (let alone German) speaking staff. Our tourguide helped, most people in the group received a remote control, we didn't. A second enquiry at reception and a telephone call (which was not answered), even our guide's call did not produce help. So we started the night in a sauna with open windows which cooled down remarkably during the night. The result on my part was a feverish cold with a harsh cough that developed the next day. Great.
Apart from that: our whole group got wake-up call an hour early which is aggravating at such hours (4.15 instead of 5.15). Not to forget, our room got an extra call at 3.15. Nice. Very professional...
And the rest: see the other comments (good at first sight, but dingy spa section); okay food, but table music for dinner that made conversation impossible.
Conclusion: avoid the place if you can.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

We stayed at the Hierapolis as part of an overnight trip to Ephesus and Pamukkale. Since the entire trip, including travel, food and entry to the attractions, only cost GBP40 per head, we weren't entirely surprised that this 'luxury' hotel didn't come close to the 4-star rating we were promised.

From the outside, the hotel looks pretty good, with a large spa pool heated by the natural warm spring waters that the region is famous for, plus a swimming pool. However, as soon as we stepped inside, it was clear that the hotel had seen better days.

To be fair, there was nothing wrong per-se with the communal areas apart from some very naff 1970s decor and an occasional cockroach wandering around. Our room, on the other hand, was pretty dirty; the provided towels were threadbare and the tiny TV set didn't work properly.

Overall, the Hieropolis was bearable for an overnight stay, but I would only consider staying longer if I were on a very tight budget.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karahayit
0.0 mi away
Doga Thermal Health & Spa
Doga Thermal Health & Spa
#1 of 9 in Karahayit
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spa Hotel Colossae Thermal
0.0 mi away
Polat Thermal Hotel
Polat Thermal Hotel
#11 of 27 in Pamukkale
3.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lycus River Hotel
Lycus River Hotel
#12 of 27 in Pamukkale
3.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#3 of 27 in Pamukkale
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melrose House Hotel
Melrose House Hotel
#4 of 27 in Pamukkale
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hierapolis Thermal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hierapolis Thermal Hotel

Address: Karahayit Kasabasi, Karahayit, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Denizli Province > Karahayit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Karahayit
Number of rooms: 180
Also Known As:
Hierapolis Thermal Hotel Turkey/Karahayit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hierapolis Thermal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.