We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for anyone who has a mobility problem” 3 of 5 stars
Review of lti Louis Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added lti Louis Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
lti Louis Grand Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Glyfada Beach | Pelekas, PO Box 44, Glyfada 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Glyfada
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not for anyone who has a mobility problem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Looking at the last 2 reviews makes me think that perhaps I expected to much from a 4 star + in Corfu.Yes it was kept very clean and the staff worked very hard.The pool is much to small for the amount of people,sun loungers around the pool were gone by 7am.The food was ok but nothing special,the animation team worked really hard for water aerobics 15/20 mins then didn't see them till the evening,where I found, along with many others what they called entertainment was too stupid for adults to watch.The rooms are a good size - but if you need a family room the two single beds are sofa's but the price is the same.The towels are not bath size but a bit bigger than a hand towel couldn't tell the difference.There was three adults in our room but only two of everything ie glasses mugs etcThere was a lot of people who were given the wrong rooms.I was assured by a Thomson advisor that this hotel was suitable for mobility impaired.Be warned it is not.Where ever you go in this Hotel you will be climbing steps and flights of stairs.There seems to be a problem with the sewers as the smell is constant around the pool.I would give this hotel 3 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to holiday at the Lti Louis Grand.

We are thrilled to hear that you took note of our spotless premises, and our hard working and friendly staff. We thank you for your feedback in regards to our entertainment program; your observation is very import to us as it highlights the areas in which we can improve. Moreover, concerning your mention at a lack of sunbeds, we would like to inform you that we just made available 100 new sunbeds that will certainly reduce the problem. Furthermore, we thank you for bringing some issues you had with the room to our attention and we will follow them up immediately. All in all, we are saddened to read that you would only give us a three star rating as we have been rated as four stars by many guests. Nevertheless, despite these issues, we sincerely hope that you had a pleasant stay and that this will not stop you from giving us a second chance.

We hope to welcome you back to Louis Hotels in the future, perhaps to another of our resorts which may be more suited to your tastes e.g. the Louis Zante Beach in Zakynthos.

Yours truly,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    216
    69
    16
    10
See reviews for
197
331
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

On the whole we were very pleased with our stay at Louis Grand. We stayed at Louis Corcyra last June and expected the same standards, sadly they don't have the same standards. As a vegetarian I found the food at Corcyra far better and the 'Vegetarian Corner' really had veggie meals. Whereas at Louis Grand the area marked 'Vegetarian' was just vegetables. The Corcyra had veggie mousakka last year and it would have been good to find it at the Grande this year too.
The second thing we were not happy with was that the hotel states that towels must not be placed on beds around the pool to reserve them. What a laugh! We looked out of our window at 6.20am most mornings and the row facing the hotel had a towel on every bed. We even saw towels on the beds on the beach at this time too. At the Corcyra the pool area has a locked gate until 9.00am and then it is unlocked. There was never a mad dash to get towels on beds and everyone behaved very well and took their turn. We came home last Friday and spent Thursday morning on the beach. After lunch we managed to spot two beds by the pool so moved to that area. This was at 2.00pm and at the side of us two beds were 'reserved' with a towel on each one. Nobody came to the beds at all until 5.00pm. Then a man came whipped the towels off and went back towards the hotel. He was not dressed in beach wear so I presumed he had reserved the beds just in case they wanted them. How selfish is that? These beds were held for at least three hours that we know to and in that time people were walking around the pool looking for beds. I even saw a family on two beds on the beach but also reserve beds by the pool so they could go back and forth. There has to be a system introduced to stop this selfish behaviour. I dread to think what it will be like in high season. I honestly think that some folks put towels on beds before they go to bed.
The other gripe I have is that we were advised that men must wear long trousers at the evening meal. What a laugh that was too. We saw men wearing shorits above the knee, below the knee. One young man came in one evening wearing a sleeveless vest and above the knee shorts. Well I consider this is beach wear and not suitable for evening dining. I expect better from a so called 4 star hotel. There was no one on the door to aprehend such people so they just walked in.
My last comment is about the 'smell' that appears in different places and at different times. I have read where others have complained about this. It is very unpleasant and we smelt it when going into the evening dining room one day. We can only presume there is a problem with the drains. On the day we left it was very bad around the pool and as you walk back into the hotel, between the swim up rooms it is particularly bad.
I read that lots of people don't get the room they have paid for. On someone else's advice I emailed the hotel, explaining that I had paid extra and expected a sea view room. We mentioned it again when we first arrived at reception. I am pleased to say we did get a sea view room, number 321, and it was a nice room.
The good points about the hotel have already been mentioned, friendly staff, Dan the rep is excellent in his job and most helpful. But because we were not happy with some of the things at the hotel we will not be returning. I just hope the management take all these comments on board and do something about them.

Room Tip: I advise anyone who has paid for a sea view to contact the hotel before getting there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We are grateful to receive your feedback about a stay at the Lti Louis Grand.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your room with its splendid view, and that you found the service of our staff to be of utmost friendliness and care. We thank you for comparing us with your previous visit to another Louis Hotels, and for highlighting the aspects in which we can improve, especially concerning our cuisine which we will certainly follow-up on. Nonetheless, we are surprised to hear that the quality of our dishes did not live up to your expectations as we usually receive much praise for our outstanding cuisine. Moreover, we would like to apologize for the smell you felt in some areas of the hotel, please rest assured that we are working towards an immediate solution which is coming into effect in the next few days. Furthermore, concerning your problem with finding available sunbeds, we are thankful for your feedback and would like to herewith inform you that we recently purchased 100 additional ones that will ensure plentiful choice for our guests. Furthermore, we would also like to thank you for drawing our attention to the issues you had with the evening attire, and would like to let you know that we do inform our guests about our dress code; nevertheless not everybody is comfortable with wearing heavy clothes in the 40 degree heat. All in all, despite these negatives, we hope that you had a relaxing holiday and that this will not prevent you from returning to one of our other Louis Hotels which might be more suitable to your taste.

We appreciate your recommendation and hope to have the privilege of seeing you again at one of our Louis Hotels.

Kind regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thatcham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just spent 10 days at the Louis Grand with my sister 14-24 June. A quiet location which was what we wanted and we did a couple of excursions to break the holiday (recommend the Albania excursion). Hotel was just perfect. Very clean and the staff were amazing. A good selection of quality food and nicely presented. The pool was lovely and the 'Animation Team' were brilliant, offering anything from water aerobics to archery. Our only disappointment was the 'sea view' we paid extra for. We were on the 4th floor and most of the sea was obscured by the front on the building. Having said that, we overlooked a pretty courtyard which was good for 'people watching'. Hoping to go to Rhodes next year so will definitely choose lti again.

Room Tip: If you want sea view to include pool, beach etc avoid 4th floor. Swim-up rooms look good if you fanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Let us express our gratitude for your stay at the Lti Louis Grand.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our quiet and gorgeous location which was excellent both for a relaxing holiday and for many excursions. Moreover, we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the high standard of service from our staff, the extensive selection of our cuisine and the activities of our delightful entertainment team. We are sorry to hear about your displeasure over the location of your room, for which we would like to apologize, nevertheless we wish you had informed us during your stay as we would have tried our best to find a pleasing solution. Despite this minor negative, we are overjoyed to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you would speak so highly of our hotel.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to the Lti Louis Grand in the nearest future.

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our holiday got off to a bad start. As previous reviews state it is a good idea to pay the extra for a sea view which we did. On arrival we were shown to a small side room overlooking what looked like a compost heap. The room was not even prepared with the receptionist having to quickly remove dirty wine glasses and coffee cups. No sea view. We picked up our bags and went straight back to reception. All that was on offer was to move to a better room 4 days later. We refused and were told to wait in reception for the reservations manager who was not on duty till later. We were not even offered a drink while we waited. We eventually rang the Thompson 24/7 line and within half an hour we were miraculously taken to a double room with sea view so why did we have to go through this. I find it hard to believe this was a mistake, they were just trying it on.
The pity is this was an excellent hotel in most other respects. The food was good, the cleanliness of the room and all areas of the hotel was excellent and the staff were friendly and help full. The pool is too small for the size of the hotel and impossible to swim in at busy times due to the large number of young children and inflatable air beds. It is also true that all the sun beds around the pool and surrounding grass are covered with towels by 9.00 am although there were a few still available on the beach. Don't forget your flip flops though as the sand is too hot to walk on.
It is also trough that the hotel is very isolated but we knew this and hired a car for the week enabling us to tour the island which we think is the most beautiful of the Greek islands.
We cannot comment on the entertainment as we were totally unaware of any.
In conclusion we think to give this hotel a 4 star rating is very generous. Yes the food was good and excellent cleanliness but facilities were very limited and the pool area was always overcrowded. We would only rate this as a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room you are offered if it is not what you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to holiday at the Lti Louis Grand.

We are sorry to hear that we did not manage to impress you at the beginning of your holiday, as the arrival in usually the stage during which we exceed the expectations of our guests, however for this we would like to sincerely apologize. We hope you forgive us this mistake, and are relieved to hear that the situation was quickly resolved, and you enjoyed the stunning view and cleanliness of the room you were moved to. Moreover, we are delighted that you appreciated the natural setting of our hotel with its beautiful beach, our friendly and helpful staff and that you indulged in our splendid cuisine. We thank you for your feedback in regards to our facilities and are nonetheless pleased to hear that you had a relaxing holiday at our hotel. With three restaurants and two bars, as well a gym and spa, we feel that our hotel does deserve a 4-star rating, especially considering its stunning location and beach.

We hope to welcome you back to the Lti Louis Grand some time in the future.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmilns Ayrshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in so far having stayed in other Louis hotels. Some people might think it remote but we were there for a quiet holiday so it was perfect. We had a beautiful room on the second floor with a sea view. It was very clean and the huge bed was very comfortable. The staff kept it really well. There was a bottle of wine on arrival and water was replenished daily(a lovely touch). The meals were very good and there was always plenty to choose from. The staff in the dining room were very attentive. The beautiful Lounge was great for meeting friends in the evening. The terrace was also lovely. Being beach people we were delighted to find that it was easy to find a bed at any time and they were free to all inclusive guests. The first week was perfect for swimming but the waves were too high for much of the second (nothing the hotel could do about that). The staff were all very helpful and cheery. We did go to Corfu Town on the courtesy bus but with such comfort at the hotel who wants to spend time away. We had a fabulous holiday and will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the lovely review of a stay at the Lti Louis Grand.

It is a great thrill to hear that our hotel is one of the best you have ever stayed at and that you had an all-round flawless holiday at our premises. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room, the comfort of your bed and the complimentary wine that was waiting for you upon arrival. Moreover, it is a delight that you found our staff cheerful and friendly, you were pleased with our beautiful beach and our plentiful sunbeds, and that you were satisfied with the quality and choice of our delicacies.

We hope to see you soon again at the Lti Louis Grand.

Sincere regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have just returned from two very relaxing weeks at the Louis Grand (14th to 28th June). We chose the hotel after doing some internet research and partly based on reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a beautiful setting with a long sandy beach surrounded by green hills and is accessed down a long winding road. It is remote, with only a couple of shops and bars nearby, so if you are looking for anything more than that then its not for you, but for us it was perfect.
We had a fantastic seaview room on the 7th floor, the room was spotless and the bed really comfy. We had a bottle of wine in our room on arrival and a bottle of water left in our room every day.
We found the choice and quality of food was amazing throughout the whole of our stay and we could always find something we liked.
The staff are all very welcoming and helpful, they are always smiling and cannot do enough for you to make sure you have everything you need.
The hotel lay on a free bus to Corfu town giving you about 3 hours to shop or do some sightseeing. We went on this once to buy presents for the family but I would recommend it even for the atmosphere of Corfu town, it is an amazing place with it's little side streets and the Old Fort.
To sum it up, this is an excellent hotel and if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday then I would highly recommend it. Thank you Louis Grand, and all of your staff, for our perfect holiday. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,

A big thank you for the delightful comments following a stay at the Lti Louis Grand.

We are delighted to hear that you chose to visit us due to the lovely reviews describing our hotel on this website and that we only excelled in every expectation you had prior to your arrival. We are thrilled to hear that our beautiful natural setting turned out to be everything you were hoping for and that you enjoyed our marvellous views from your comfortable and spotless room. Moreover, we are glad to read that you indulged in our spectacular cuisine and were thrilled by the caring and eager-to-please service ethic of our staff. All in all, we could not be happier to hear that we managed to create such a serene atmosphere in which you could unwind and enjoy your break.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon back to the Lti Louis Grand.

Yours faithfully,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have just returned after staying here for a week, we did a cruise first and stayed here for the 2nd week, the reason we chose this hotel is because it said in isolated position which is ideal to chill out after a busy week on a cruise and that is exactly what we did. To get there you drive down a very steep hill and all that is at the bottom is this hotel on the beach. The rooms are large and have plenty of drawers and hanging space, the shower is over the bath. We had a sea view room but I know lots of rooms overlook the car park/ mountains behind. Only 2 lifts in the hotel and the reception is on 3rd floor and restaurant 2nd floor, The food was plentiful and you can eat inside or outside on the terrace overlooking the sea. Blue Cheese on the cheese board every night:) lots of choice of pasta normally a joint of meat being carved and plenty of vegetables, the waitresses come to your table to ask what wine you would like and they bring you a small carafe. The bar is opposite the restaurant and this opens at 4pm till midnight the terrace runs outside the bar so again you can sit in the lovely lounge area or outside. You can also go down to the pool bar in the evening and this is the area the "entertainment" takes place, I would just like to say the entertainment is atrocious but this did not affect us as it wasn't a factor in choosing the hotel, but if you do like evening entertainment DO NOT stay here. The beach is lovely and the sunbeds have a parasol and a table, you can get beds on the beach any time of the day but if you want round the pool you need to get towels out by 7am! alternatively we laid on beach all day then beds round pool became free around 4pm and we moved there, lots of beds on grassed area around pool with trees for shade.
Only complaints we heard were people saying it was more isolated than they thought....but surely isolated means just that!
I would not pay extra for swim up room as these are in the shade all morning and then have full sun all afternoon/evening but again personal preference.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on a stay with us at the Lti Louis Grand.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a relaxing holiday at our secluded hotel in its beautiful setting after your days at sea, which is exactly what you needed and were looking for. It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed our spectacular views from our many seating areas, especially while dining on our splendid dishes, which you found excellent in both choice and quality. Furthermore, we thank you for brining you opinion regarding our evening entertainment to our attention and are nevertheless glad to hear that this did not have any negative effect on your holiday, which was reserved for complete relaxation.

We hope to see you soon again at the Lti Louis Grand.

Sincerely yours,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to lti Louis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lti Louis Grand Hotel

Address: Glyfada Beach | Pelekas, PO Box 44, Glyfada 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Glyfada
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — lti Louis Grand Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your lti Louis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Louis Grand
Louis Grand Pelekas
Lti Louis Grand Hotel Glyfada, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lti Louis Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.