We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still an excellent hotel, but...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of lti Louis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added lti Louis Grand Hotel to your Saves list
lti Louis Grand Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Glyfada Beach | Pelekas, PO Box 44, Glyfada 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glyfada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dorset, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Still an excellent hotel, but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My fiancé and I have just returned from a 10 day break following our 7 day stay last summer which we felt wasn't long enough.

Little has changed in a year overall. We arrived around 2pm and as per last year our room wasn't ready and we were sent for lunch, 30 minutes later we went back to reception and our room was luckily ready but there was an irate gentleman arguing with a receptionist about the situation and his room not being ready, seems a common issue. Our room was on the 4th floor, we didn't request or pay extra for a sea view room so we were facing the mountain and carpark, We are not fussed about a sea view as we are barely in our room but we over heard several people moaning that they hadn't got a room they had requested or paid for. We did email the hotel direct in advance though to request a decent room fairly high up to avoid restaurant noise or a view of the bins and they said they would do their best and they did. Rooms are great, free bottle of water daily, fridge, fruit and red wine on arrival, loads of storage space and hangers, the room is cleaned daily (although sometimes a bit late like 4.30pm) a tv with all 5 English terrestrial channels although most were poor quality pictures, air con, hairdryer, and 3 plug sockets.

We didn't use the safe and instead locked valuables in our padlocked suitcase, no issues, saved us €35ish.

The hotel is spotless, I don't think anyone can fault the cleanliness of the place. To break the 10 days up we booked ourselves onto the free courtesy bus to corfu town which was excellent, also grateful we could change our day at short notice. 3 hours in corfu town was enough for us, the timings aren't optional. Book early though with reception. Excellent service from the hotel. We also went to aqualand which Dan the Thomson rep (who was brilliant and a bit of a comedian) helped us organise.

The animation team put on activities more or less hourly from 10am until 6pm like volleyball, water polo, water gym, darts and archery but unfortunately these weren't as well supported as last year and we went exactly the same time, e.g 4 people playing water polo, 2 doing the water gym one day. They don't pressure anyone in to taking part at all. Can't comment on the mini club.

Table tennis, tennis courts, pool tables and air hockey are a few other things you can use.

One change to last year is you can now eat lunch inside as well as out, so they have taken on a lot of new restaurant staff, who along with all the hotel staff including management are polite and helpful. The managers greet you at the restaurant door most evenings. They have installed what look like wasp control fans around the outside restaurant and we didn't see any. All inclusive drinks tasted good apart from any with orange juice (see below) and service was quick.

On to some minor negatives:

Evening entertainment very poor apart from 2-3 nights, there are 4 in the animation team yet there is no show at all Wednesdays as they are all day off, surely they could alternate or at least 2 could come and do a quiz or anything for an hour or two...? Maybe they will later in the season.

Food quality (all buffet) wasn't as good as last year except for breakfast - dinner and lunch are still very good and range still good but we thought some meats were undercooked, foods repeated too often and the dessert range not as good. Didn't use the Asian restaurant.

Breakfast...orange juice was awful it tasted literally like water most days as did the same juice used in some cocktails.

Wifi 5€ for 90 minutes, signal in our room was very poor almost unusable.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone of any age although access for disabled is limited and whilst the negatives listed maybe a bit picky its only because we can make a comparison to our previous stay and we will certainly return one day but would like to try one of the other Louis hotels next year.

Room Tip: Email hotel in advance. Message me if you cannot find address.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear repeat guest,

We want to thank you for writing your comment about the Lti Louis Grand on the TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to read your praise for our staff and that you were pleased with the cleanliness of our premises. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the room you were staying in, and that the comfort and interior was to your liking. Moreover, we thank you for your valuable feedback, comparing the performance of our hotel to last year. Rest assured that we will follow up on your remarks, especially about the food. However, we are relieved that these minor issues did not prevent you from enjoying your holiday and from continuously recommending us.

It fills us with happiness that you had a wonderful time at the Lti Louis Grand, and we look forward to welcome you again to our Louis Hotels in the near future again.

Sincerely yours,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    245
    80
    18
    10
See reviews for
226
398
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Louis Grand LTI from Friday 24/05/13 to 10/06/13. We booked the holiday nearly 12 months in advance and having read all of the great reviews were looking forward to staying in the hotel and had great expections.

However, we were very disappointed with our room. We had booked a family room with sea views, and were allocated room 337 which overlooked the car park and staff entrance to the hotel and was directly above the kitchen. This was not what we bought into from Thomson. We spent a night in the room and were kept awake from about 4 am with noise from the kitchen. One of our kids beds was not made up and neither had any bedding been left for us to make it up. We were also travelling with two other families who were located on the same floor, who were also disappointed with their rooms, due to the noise and view.

We raised this with the Rep, Dan, who agreed to see if we could move rooms. We were moved the following Monday to room 601, which was a lovely family room with beautiful sea view, which is what we had expected to get in the first place.

I have to say that Dan was very helpful and genuinely interested in helping us with our problems. I was surprised to find though, that it seemed like standard practice for the hotel to put families in the rooms overlooking the car park and then move them at a later date if they complain, as reception had a long list of people who were looking to change rooms and had similar complaints to ours.

Having had a 'not so good' first night in the hotel, we went for breakfast. There was a great selection of food, but it was cold. Lunch and evening meals were lovely. As a family we tended to eat at around 8.30 pm. We were rarely greeted as we went into the dining room, the staff were very friendly but I have to say that plates were not cleared quickly enough. There was a good selection for the children to eat too.

The pool and beach area is absolutely superb. The beach is sandy and sea is shallow, ideal for small children. The hotels' setting and surroundings is beautiful. It is in a very secluded area and there is little else outside the hotel. During the first week the weather tended to be a little overcast in the morning, but the sun was out by lunchtime. The sea was good fun and we were able to do some body boarding! The second week the weather was hot and sunny.

The kids club was very relaxed and had plenty of activities for my young boys aged 4 and 7, to get involved in if they wanted. They seem to have an open door policy and the kids could just come and go as and when they wanted, which suited us.

We had a fantastic holiday because we were away with our family, I would not recommend this hotel to friends and family, but would be happy to return if we could guarantee a room at the front of the hotel. ;o)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are overlooking the beach and are quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Lti Louis Grand let us thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination.

Above all, we are thrilled to hear that we managed to create a relaxing holiday for you while your children had a delightful time at our Santelino Mini-Club, in the care of our friendly staff. Moreover, despite some issues with the temperature of the dishes for breakfast, we are glad to hear that you indulged in the various selection of our spectacular cuisine and your children enjoyed the Santelino Yummy Corner. We are overjoyed to read that you found the location of our hotel ideal, with its beautiful beach and pool area, and the spectacular views that the gorgeous setting offers. We hope you accept our sincerest apologies for the room mix-up and the troubles of your first night. We are relieved to hear that this problem was resolved swiftly and are nonetheless delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of the room you were moved to which you felt was ideal for your family. Rest assured that one of our priorities for next year is to further noise-proof our rooms. All in all, despite a negative start we are comforted to read that this did not prevent you from having a memorable time with your family and from returning to our hotel in the future.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you again to the Lti Louis Grand.

Your faithfully,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We enjoyed last year's early June holiday at the Louis Grand so much that we decided to return, hoping for the same uninterrupted sunshine. The weather was not so good, but everything else was, if anything, better.

First of all, Top Tip No. 1: Check in at the hotel can take quite a long time especially if many people have arrived on the same transfer. The Louis Hotels website has a downloadable registration form which you can print off and fill in at home, thus speeding up things considerably.

Top Tip 2: if you are arriving in the morning or at lunchtime, pack you bathing things in your hand luggage, as your room may not be ready. You can pick up towels as you check in and go straight to the beach. Saves ferreting through your cases to extract cozzies.

Last year we booked a sea-view room, and Elena the front office manager, very kindly gave us a fantastic room with amazing views. Rather than trespass on her good nature for a second time, we booked a swim up room. This was the very best thing we could have done. A lovely big room with sunbeds table and chairs on the decking outside, and the pool at our feet. Routine – beach in the morning, as the sun does not reach the swim ups until around lunch time, then back to our room and pool in the afternoon. We had the added blessing of delightful neighbours.

As last year, we were aware of some very disgruntled people who had booked a sea-view room only to find it was more of a sea glimpse. The Thomson rep who clearly was weary of fielding complaints, wished Thomsons/First Choice would market two sorts – sea view and partial sea view, with a price differential to avoid any misapprehensions and disappointments. Because so many guests are returners, even that status cannot guarantee you will get a prime spot. The swim ups rooms all offer exactly what the name says.

Our room was large, rather a random selection of TV channels, we enjoyed looking at the Louis Hotel channel, but decided that Glyfada was tops simply because of the swim up rooms which made the holiday very special.. We appreciated the welcome bowl of fruit, and the bathrobes and very comfortable bed.

As before we found all the staff friendly and helpful and very hard working.. The reception staff are unfailingly good natured, as are the bar staff and in fact everyone we encountered.

We had very fond memories of the food at the hotel, and again loved every meal. Breakfast covered everything from full English type of things to continental salad and cheese etc, wonderful feta and olive breads, little cheese and spinach pies, lots of interesting things to add to yogurt or cereal, crystallised fruit in syrup, Greek Delight (not Turkish!), halva, sesame crackers. Just ace. I felt the lunches at the beach restaurant were more varied than before, and the dinners excellent. There was a carvery roast every day, usually pork which can be a little tricky for some people. I found it so tempting and delicious that I stopped being a vegetarian for the week and also found the chicken in olive sauce and the kebabs irresistible. Lovely greek food, individual lamb Kleftiko - we have not found better food anywhere in Greece. Even the little things were top quality - the capers for example, and the fresh feta, utterly delicious.

In my recent review of a much more expensive hotel in Mauritius I commented unfavourably on the buffet food produced there, though to be fair the a la carte restaurant was great. If that hotel had any sense they would send out a pirate ship to the Ionian sea, capture the chef from Glyfada and take him back to Mauritius and make him demonstrate how to run a top class hotel buffet.

Obviously having been before we knew how isolated the hotel is, but that is another reason why we like it. We did get a bit fed up in the restaurant when parents let small children wander around pestering other diners, and run around under the feet of the waiting staff. However, we were ourselves embarrassed by my omitting to pack my husband’s long trousers which guests are requested to wear for dinner. Apologies to Maitre d’ Vassilis were in order and were very politely accepted. My husband did try squeezing into a pair of my linen trousers and though he looked divine, by the end of the evening he certainly he did not feel it.

Everyone agrees that the beach is great, sunbeds free and in excellent condition. Lots of shady parasols and the Brandy Alexanders produced by the beach bar staff are wonderful. The list of AI drinks actually advertised there is shorter than the one in the main bar, but there seemed to be no problem in asking for one from the “long” list. With our meals I preferred the red house wine, my husband the white, both were perfectly fine. I think the AI selection is one of the most generous we have encountered.

We are not really into evening entertainment, but the traditional Corfu event was outstanding.

So, another great holiday at the Louis Grand Glyfada. Thanks to all the staff, Elena and the reception crew, Costas and the barmen, Vassilis and the restaurant staff, Atina, the food and beverage manager and the rest of the friendly and “hands on” management team. I am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear repeated guest,

It was indeed a great pleasure to welcome you again at the Lti Louis Grand.

We are thrilled to hear that our hotel lived up to your wonderful memories from a previous stay, and our new swim-up rooms varied this holiday experience even more. We are so proud of our chefs, especially at our brand new Asian restaurant Mura, who earned your compliments, and we are glad that our service lived up to the level you remembered. It is nice of you to note our efficient Online check-in option. Regarding the room descriptions, you make some valid points and we are looking into ways of creating a more efficient system in the future.

We are so happy that you had another relaxing stay in Corfu, and we look forward to seeing you again at our property.

All the best from Lti Louis Grand team.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from our first holiday in Corfu (without our parents) We had booked a standard room with sea view as the swim up rooms were a bit expensive. We arrived at the hotel quite late and we were hungry, the staff provided us with with some food while they took our suitcases up to our room. Our room had recently been refurbished and was very big. We were a bit disappointed on the view which had as we were overlooking the car park but we didn't complain as we knew we wouldn't be in our room the whole time. There could have been more plug sockets in the room as we had to unplug the TV and the kettle. The food at the hotel was delicious! although I thought that there could have been more variates. Outside the hotel there are many sun beds around the pool and around the gardens, the pool is just the right size for the hotel not too big or too small. If you want a sun bed by the pool i recommend you get up early and secure one as they do go quick. The beach is literally a few steps away which has sun beds, tables and parasols which are with the hotel and are free of charge. Walking down the beach there are rusty pipes and quite a lot of rubbish on the sand around the rocks which doesn't give a good impression. Overhaul the beach is beautiful and the sea is so clear ! The entertainment at night, there is a club disco for the children and sometimes and Greek night or a magician, I think that the entertainment could be improved as it was a bit boring most nights. Overhaul the hotel is very clean and the staff are so friendly and welcoming. Thank you for making our first holiday special ! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We want to thank you for writing your comment about the Lti Louis Grand on the TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to read your praise about our staff, who made your first holiday so special and memorable. It is nice that you note our recent refurbishment and found our rooms spacious, also that you found our food delicious. We are surprised that you found our food not varied, as our 7 theme nights a week were specially designed to offer more variation, nevertheless we respect your opinion. Your suggestion about sockets, and evening entertainment will be taken into consideration for our future improvement.

It fills us with happiness that you had a wonderful time at the Lti Louis Grand, and we hope to see you again at our property.

Sincerely yours,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just back on the 14 June from a very good holiday at the Louis Grand. We had a relaxing 11days of good food, bottle water in room every day and drinks in our room. Very pleasant staff in reception, resturant and bars nothing was too much trouble, also the managers were always walking round the hotel and saying hello. Also its not just for sunbathing, you can see lots of birds,butterflies and flowers just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms over reception plenty of birds to see in the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for writing several lines following your stay at the Lti Louis Grand.

We are pleased that you had a relaxing holiday with delicious food from our chefs and attentive service from our friendly staff,

We hope to welcome you again to the Lti Louis Grand.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Recently refurbished, beautifully maintained hotel in a wonderful location. With cliffs and mountains all around and a clear blue bay in the middle, a setting you will never forget. We stayed in a junior suite with sliding doors and a sea view (which was well worth the extra!!). The room was a modern, clean and comfortable space with a small balcony for enjoying drinks looking out to sea in the evening. The pool area although very busy, calmed down in the evening in time for a quick drink and swim before it was time for dinner. However, most of our time was spent on the beach. A well kept sandy beach with loungers and sun shades with only a couple of steps to a swim in the beautiful clear blue sea. The food was abundant, although sometimes lacking variety. The service by all staff was fantastic and very helpful. All in all a great place to stay, would definitely recommend and return ourselves.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms essential!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for writing several lines following your stay at the Lti Louis Grand.

It is a delight how you speak about our hotel, with its recent refurbishment and our spacious rooms with breath-taking views over Ionian sea. We are thrilled that you indulged in our varied delicacies and enjoyed our attentive service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Lti Louis Grand.

Yours truly,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller from beds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

we had booked a double room with sea view the paperwork came back as a family room with a double two single and room for a cot but we were given room 334 which overlooked the car park and the air conditioning unit which kept us awake all the first night after going back to reception we was told to come back on Tuesday to see if we could be moved isaid this is half of our holiday it was,t good enough the receptionist then said come back on Monday I said it was not what we had booked .if he din,t move us now I would be sleeping on the sofa in the reception at this he found the keys for room 501 and said go and have a look at this room which we did and it was fine there were a lot of other people with the same problem who overbooked the rooms weather it was the hotel or thomsons whose rep was no help at all after all this you begin to wonder what else could go wrong but everything was fine the rooms were all clean very comfortable the restaurant was very pleasant with good choice of food good bar service and the beach was very good overall very good its a pity about the checking in

Room Tip: if you book a sea view room email them before you go to mke sure you get what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Let us express our gratitude for your stay and your comment about the Lti Louis Grand.

We are happy that you found the cleanliness of our rooms of a good standard and very comforting, also that the choice and the variety of our delicacies were to your satisfaction. First impressions are the fundamental to successful holiday experiences, and it is a shame that we failed to impress you from the first moment, however we are glad that our staff could offer you another room which was more suitable, and the rest of the time you had at the Lti Louis Grand was wonderful.

We hope to get another chance to impress you with our hospitality.

Regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to lti Louis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lti Louis Grand Hotel

Address: Glyfada Beach | Pelekas, PO Box 44, Glyfada 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Glyfada
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — lti Louis Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your lti Louis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Louis Grand
Louis Grand Pelekas
Lti Louis Grand Hotel Glyfada, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lti Louis Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.