We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely couple of weeks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of lti Louis Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added lti Louis Grand Hotel to your Saves list
lti Louis Grand Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Glyfada Beach | Pelekas, PO Box 44, Glyfada 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glyfada
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely couple of weeks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We got back from our two week holiday a few days ago - two adults, an 8 year old and a 5 year old - and overall had a very good time.
We arrived in the evening, and our room was ready - and spotlessly clean, and actually we found the beds ok (apart from our 8 year old, who would have liked a softer one!). There wasn't much food left in the bar, which was a bit of a shame as we'd had no supper and were all hungry and tired - but dry cucumber sandwiches and delicious baclava filled the gap till morning.
We had a sea view family room, a beautiful view of the pool, gardens and sea, and found it perfectly comfortable (we're fairly fussy, too). It was a tad noisy in the mornings as the dining room must have been just above it - scraping chairs etc - but as we're used to living under the Heathrow flight path, got used to it very fast.
The sea and the pool are just gorgeous. The beach never felt too crowded, even in August, and we always found chairs and parasols there - we did manage to get up early and bag chairs by the pool a couple of times but found it more peaceful on the beach anyway.
The first day or two we wondered if some of the staff were a tad depressed - not very smiley - but as the days went past, and people recognized us, links were forged and we found everyone very courteous, friendly and helpful. The maitre d' in the restaurant was hugely kind, when my daughter dropped and smashed a plate full of food he was the first to reassure her it didn't matter, mop up her tears, and cheer her up. The lady who cleaned our room on most days (Maria, I think?) was absolutely lovely - friendly, flexible (our little one took siestas at room servicing time) and helpful. The girls felt confident going to the beach bar by themselves to get soft drinks, and loved being recognized and chatted to by the bar staff. You get the picture...
Animation Team: what can I say?! Wonderful aqua gym! I haven't been so fit in years, and although not normally a 'joiner' enjoyed every single session - the leader (whose name I never knew, sorry!!) was brilliant. How he keeps it up I have no idea :)
Kids stuff: the children's mini disco was a smash hit every night - the girls are still dancing those dances. We tried the kids club once and were a bit disappointed - seemed very low key, and no one really tried to engage with our 5 year old who was shy and needed to be drawn in a bit. We didn't keep trying, and some kids clearly enjoyed it and were there every day, but I would think this is possibly not a high point of the hotel's. Ditto the playground, which had damaged/broken equipment that was potentially unsafe - no one used it much, or needed it, but it needs attention before next season I think.
Finally, the food - we thought (and we are fussy Londoners) it was really very good, and some of it was superb. Fresh, loads of choice, and would recommend the salads, the fruit, the fish, the heavenly ratatouille, and the delicious lunchtime pizza. The girls recommend the afternoon waffles :)
Two weeks is too long unless you really need to relax (we did) but we would love another week there one day.....
Oh - the wasps! I was dreading them. They were really not that bad mid August, only got nasty at very end of our stay at the end of the month. I did sit on one at the beach, and had to ask the decorative Lifeguard for ointment - but even my wasp phobic 5 year old managed to cope at lunchtime, by avoiding meaty meals: they really go for meat. Pizza, pasta, salads, all good.
And the staff were excellent about clearing plates fast, to keep wasps to minimum. Very efficient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Let us thank you for visiting the Iti Louis Grand and for sharing your comment with the online community.

We are grateful to you for appreciating our very pleasant staff, the comfortable room and its stunning sea view plus cleanliness, as well as the gorgeous sea and pool. Further, we are glad that you admired our superb food, the brilliant animation team as well as the activities available for the children. Nevertheless, we are saddened to hear that you were left hungry upon your arrival; sadly you did not take advantage of our late-night snacks. Moreover, we regret hearing that you were a bit disappointed in our usually highly praised kids club. Rest assured that we will let the team know about your remark and necessary changes will be implemented. Also, your comments regarding the playground will be followed up immediately in order to maintain safety. Hopefully the happenings will not prevent you from returning to the Iti Louis Grand.

We are thankful to you for your compliments regarding the efficiency and politeness of our staff members and hope that you will please us or one of our other beautiful Louis Hotels with a return visit.

Yours faithfully

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    243
    78
    18
    11
See reviews for
222
392
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at Louis grand last week of August 2 adults 4 kiddies 16 15 12 10,, arrival we had no room for over an hour most other people who arrived with us had same problem and was told by many other guests this happens a lot hotel should really sort this out as it seems a major complaint.Hotel is very clean inside and out. Breakfast and dinner ok good choice although we were never able to walk in and sit down as a family of 6 tables were not cleaned as people leave restaurant could do with more staff, the food was good a lot of choice every day .How ever lunch if you enjoy eating with wasps you will be ok the outside eating area is over run with them again another big complaint we were told corfu is grape season aug/sept so lots of wasps it's a real shame as the only place to eat in the day is outside.even around the pool and grass areas wasps were a big problem due to this we would not return to Corfu.Our 2 sea view rooms which we payed extra for we're ok usuall hotel rooms The air con would often go off at night and the rooms get so hot it does get fixed the next day..The 3 animation team were very good evening entertainment ok ish typical holiday stuff magic show tribute bands, they finish bout 11pm then music is played .Pool side bar was good for service again over run with wasps. The hotel is in a remote place but on a lovely beach, only 3/4 shops and few bars restaurants. There are trips you can go on via rep and free bus to Corfu town and the water park daily.On the whole we had a great holiday kids made friends and enjoyed it and we came back relaxed but would not return due to the wasps.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Iti Louis Grand and for taking your time to share your opinion with the online community.

It gives us joy hearing that you admired the cleanliness within our hotel and that you like the nice and wide choice at breakfast and dinner. Also, we are happy that the two seaview rooms met your expectations, that you found our animation team and the evening entertainment very good and amusing, and that you enjoyed the lovely beach. Nevertheless, we would like to apologize for keeping you waiting for your room to get ready upon arrival. Our checking in policies are clear and state that rooms are vacated by 12pm, thereby allowing new guests to receive them by around 2pm. This is something that many hotels worldwide do, and it is not easy to change such a procedure because guests will always be unsatisfied; either the arriving ones for checking in late, or the departing ones for leaving the room early. What we really do not understand is why Tour Operators schedule flights so early; if they scheduled them after 2pm nobody would feel aggrieved. Anyway that is a long discussion and hopefully we will get a chance to suggest it to them in the future. We absolutely understand your annoyance regarding the unpleasant wasps and inform you that the number of them is already in process of being decreased, due to the effectiveness of our newly introduced specialized fans. Please note that this problem is faced only in August and September in Corfu due to the grape harvests, so we urge you to book earlier in the season if you wish to come again. If not, Louis Hotels has properties also in Cyprus, Zante, Mykonos, Creta and Rhodes, and none of those destinations face issues with wasps. Also, we are sorry to hear about the air-conditioning in your room, but are delighted to hear that it got fixed as soon as possible.

Thank you again and we hope that we will get the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Iti Louis Grand and/or to one of our other beautiful Louis Hotels, also in Cyprus.

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Myself, husband and 5 year old son enjoyed a 2 week stay here in August. The hotel is spotless throughout and recently had a high standard refurb. There are plenty of areas to relax and have a drink/sit and read and the staff are friendly and courteous.

There is a main pool and childrens pool outside which are both clean. Whilst there are plently of sun loungers the 'premium spots' overlooking the beach were taken by those who, I can only guess, set their alarms for 6am in order to 'reserve' with their towels!

The food is plentiful, fresh buffet style and generally a high standard (we did have the odd offering of hard potatoes and cold, uncooked carrots), there was lots to choose from so overall not a problem to us. Lunch is served as an outside buffet which was also good, as others have mentioned pizza was a huge hit with our son! The only downside to lunch (and to a certain extent all of the resort) was the enourmous number of wasps which plagued everyone. The hotel did have a number of wasp deterrents about but really to no avail.

Evening entertainment for kids was very limited, 20 minute mini disco for the kids which our son loved but it doesn't start until 9.15pm which most thought was a little too late. The main evening shows for families consist of tribute bands, greek dancers, magic shows, quiz nights and overall we found entertaining.

The hotel is right on the beach which is lovely and has plenty of sun loungers, the sea is clear, warm and gentle and lots of small fish which were very exciting to our snorkelling 5 year old!

The resort is in an isolated spot although you can book onto the hotel free bus to visit Corfu town and Aqualand, both worth a visit. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, super relaxing (except for the waspy lunches!!)

Room Tip: We had a mountain view on 7th floor which was fine and I think probably much quieter than sea view w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Iti Louis Grand as your holiday accommodation and for your kind review.

It is a pleasure to read that you found our hotel spotless throughout and that you admired our friendly and courteous staff members. Also, it makes us happy seeing that you found our pools to be very clean, the food served of high standard and with a lot to choose from, and that our main evenings shows amused you well. We are glad you loved the fact that our hotel is right on the beach and that you enjoyed the sea with its clear, warm and gentle water, where your 5-year-old son was able to explore all those small fish, making him excited. We completely understand your comment regarding the wasps and will do our best to further decrease their number by introducing even more specialized fans soon. Also, your remark concerning the evening entertainment for children will be taken into consideration for improvement.

We are pleased hearing that overall, you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that it was very relaxing for you. We wish that you would come back to our hotel or any other Louis Hotel to experience the same feeling you have just described!

Yours faithfully

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just back from staying at Louis Grand in Corfu and felt the need to comment on our stay - as we had used Trip Advisor when choosing where to stay. We had to wait 6 hours for our room on arrival - however we were given a room to change/shower in - until our room was ready. The reception staff couldn't be more helpful and we were given the use of the safe in our room free of charge. We enjoyed the food (excellent) and the day/evening entertainment. My children (10 & 9) made lots of friends and participated in the kids club activities - which allowed us to relax and enjoy the resort. The animation team are excellent especially Stellas - loved the chocolate song. My favourites were aqua aerobics and water polo.

The wasps - we didn't have any issues. If you ignore them - it's fine. We took the children suba diving (water hoppers). It was very well organised and they had a great introduction to this sport. We also went to Aqualand - great fun.

The hotel is remote - but the free bus allows you to explore Corfu Town and there are plenty of trips to be organised with the Thomson rep.

This hotel delivered on everything we expected and we had a lovely time. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Iti Louis Grand we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday accommodation and for such a kind review online.

Your comments are very helpful and we are glad to see that you had a really good break and that you appreciated the help by our amazing staff members. It is nice to see that you enjoyed our excellent food on offer, the hard work of our entertainment plus animation team, and are glad that your children made a lot of friends here and had fun participating in the numerous activities provided at our hotel, allowing you to relax and enjoy your days off.

We are pleased when hearing that the Iti Louis Grand was able to perfectly meet your expectations, resulting in you having an absolutely lovely time. Thank you for recommending us and we hope that we can welcome you back for another great time in the near future.

Kindly yours

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Arrived at the hotel on 24th August first thing in the morning due to flight being delayed by 4 hours, we were very disappointed upon arrival to the hotel, firstly we got picked up by a heap of junk which was so untidy. The entrance to the hotel was very poor as they only show the back of the hotel, reception lacks any wow factor especially as they boost that it has been renovated, we asked for a pool view room and were shocked to find that we were facing a shabby car park on the side of the hotel and when we complained they tried to fob of us by saying that their fountain was their pool view, their so called fountain was just a sad old hosepipe splattering water out of it, bear in mind this is the first thing you see upon your arrival to the hotel...
The grounds were unkept and looked a mess with unmowed lawns the hotel is definetly not 4*plus, it looked out dated even though they say its been newly renovated, all thats been renovatd are the bedrooms and bathrooms which are basic, so don't be fooled by their glossy pictures, we were given towels that were torn and they had an infestation of wasps and hornets all over the place, they on no occassion while we were there even bothered to get a pest control out even when they were becoming a nuisance and annoying in the restaurants and constantly sitting on food and ending up dead in your drinks...
I just canot understand how this hotel got its standard of excellence as they just could not careless about their guests its lacks attention to detail in every way, its really shabby, unkept and outdated just not worth spending your hard earned money on, the gym was perfectic with equipment not stable we had to really fight to extend our room as our flight was not until 4am even though we had e-mailed them in advance to keep the room - AVOID AT ALL COSTS, definetly not worth £4,500.00 that we spent for a week.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Iti Louis Grand and for taking the time to share your experience online.

We truly regret hearing that the services and facilities provided at our hotel did not meet your expectations and thus satisfy your needs. We must admit that we were absolutely surprised to hear that you, compared to our other guests, were disappointed with your break spent here and are sorry to hear that our hotel's design was not to your likings and that you were not satisfied with the view out of your room. Further, we apologize for the torn towels and assure you that this will be addressed immediately. As for the wasps, specialized fans are being put into place to decrease their numbers and we are discussing whether we should also cater the food indoors as of next summer. Moreover, we are sorry to hear that you did not consider us of 4 star standards and would politely like to disagree with you and remind you that according to our guests and to reviews and ratings on Tripadvisor, our hotel offers 4 star quality. Further, to receive a 4/5 rating on this website and to be ranked 1st in the Glyfada area says that the majority of our guests are pleased with what they receive.

We thank you again for sharing your opinion and hope that you will give us another chance to prove how easily a Louis Hotels holiday can turn into a delightful time off! We would also like to inform you that we have other All Inclusive hotels which we believe are better geared to your expectations, like the Louis Zante Beach, or even non-All Inclusive hotels with more personalized service, like the Mykonos Theoxenia or the King Jason.

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borough green
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We enjoyed our holiday here very much. The hotel and all areas were very clean and our room, a standard, was comfortable and fine for the three of us, two adults and our 12 year old son. Whatever time we left the room it was always tidy when we went back with clean towels available.
The staff were helpful, polite and efficient and we never experienced any rudeness; perhaps you reap what you sow?
Wasps were a problem but they were not aggressive as British ones can be and after a few flaps of a serviette they seem to leave you alone. You get used to it.
The pool area was kept very clean and the pool itself was lovely and warm.
The beach is very busy directly outside the hotel grounds but if you wander off 100 yards to the left it becomes quiet and even further down you have the beach to yourself. There are fish to be seen so snorkelling is a must. In a ten day stay the sea was a bit rough twice but nothing you can't cope with. It is lovely and warm and crystal clear.
You must experience the 'Chocolatte' dance, it is great fun and the Animation team are brilliant, especially Stellos!
As the hotel is remote there is very little you can access locally but if you hire a car you can easily travel into Corfu Town; a Fiat Panda with air-con cost 70 euros for one day, well worth it!
Food can be quite repetitive but is of a very high standard and the restaurant staff are fantastic. You must visit the Asian restaurant if you can, wonderful.
The only criticism about the hotel is a lack of drink dispensers in the outside areas which meant queues occurred and some people would lunge over you to get their drink before you had finished getting yours.
If people want to get up at 4am to place towels on sunbeds it's up to them. We were quite happy to sit slightly back from the pool on the grassy area; we could still see what was going on and were away from the main noise of the pool, lovely!
We would certainly recommend this hotel especially for families.

Room Tip: We did not have a sea view but as it was so hot we did not see anyone using their balcony. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Let us show you our gratitude by thanking you for visiting the Iti Louis Grand and for posting a charming review on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to read your comment about your lovely stay at our hotel, in particular that you liked the overall cleanliness in all hotel areas and your room, the helpfulness, politeness and efficiency of our staff members, the clean, lovely and warm pool, as well as the snorkeling in the nice and crystal clear sea. Further, we are glad that you found our animation team brilliant and that our cuisine of very high standard was to your likings. Rest assured that your suggestion of more drink dispensers will be discussed straightaway for our improvement.

We are satisfied when reading that you very much enjoyed your holiday at the Iti Louis Grand and are grateful to you for highly recommending us to others. We hope that you will please us with a return visit in the near future!

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is grand.All the staff are very freindly.There is a massive selection of food and the reception staff are there 24 hours.The put up beds are a bit hard but the real beds are quite soft.Great for children.
Pretty sea view.The swim up rooms are grand, (with an infinitive swimming pool).The rooms also have a TV, hair dryer, phone and comfy robes!There are loads of sudbeds on the beach and about 100 near the pool.
The day entertainment was good, the animation team having fun aswell as the guests.
I would recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: If around the resturant can be noisey. Swim up rooms are great for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Iti Louis Grand we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for leaving a kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to see that your overall stay with us was pleasant and that you admired the friendliness of all our staff members, the massive selection of tasty food on offer, and the nice room with its beautiful view overlooking the sea. Further, we are happy to read that the daytime entertainment and the grand room was to your likings and the animation team amused you well.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and hope that you will come back to the Iti Louis Grand for another enjoyable break!

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to lti Louis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lti Louis Grand Hotel

Address: Glyfada Beach | Pelekas, PO Box 44, Glyfada 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Glyfada
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — lti Louis Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your lti Louis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Louis Grand
Louis Grand Pelekas
Lti Louis Grand Hotel Glyfada, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lti Louis Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.