We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Black Rapids

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Black Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Black Rapids
Mile 227.4, Richardson Highway, Black Rapids, AK 99737   |  
Hotel amenities
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

When we arrived for a group event the weather was horrific but the lodge inviting - a fire blazing and the smell of fresh bread baking. The room was clean with luxury bed linens, beautiful understated decor (no clutter), overlooking a spectacular view of the Alaska Range, river valley and glacier. Hot showers, internet, great staff, excellent food, outdoor recreation options - doesn't get much better.

I cannot believe the quality of services and freshness of the food despite the remote location. My only criticism the "Atlantic" salmon which I must emphasize was cooked to perfection - but I'm a salmon snob and prefer wild Alaska species.

As an artist I was blown away by the setting and opportunities to create. Whether you want a quiet, secluded, private hide-away, or a venue for a group experience, the Lodge at Black Rapids delivers. I think this establishment provides great value for the money and I will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing glacier spectacular, also specially designed rooms for pets with outside entrance/exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukonblue, Owner at The Lodge at Black Rapids, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We do so enjoy feedback and appreciate your compliments so very much! Looking forward to your return. Annie & Mike Hopper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    10
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
22
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at the lodge back in September for a week and was highly impressed with the service, company and meals at the lodge. My schedule was highly fluid and the staff was flexible enough to accommodate any needs. The entire experience was another excellent part of my latest Alaska adventure. The area is excellent for hiking, checking out Alaska’s wildlife and interesting people from the area.

Room Tip: Up Stairs room with the large deck, the fitness center if you require one is just a step outside for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukonblue, Owner at The Lodge at Black Rapids, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! They mean a lot to us and we hope to have you back very soon! Annie & Mike Hopper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

To be fair, this place should have 4 stars just from the aesthetics, absolutely stunning location. The deck was probably the most enjoyable location with our stay. Food ranged from exceptional to digestible over the course of 4 meals. 2 Stars Dogs begging in our lap for food at each meal was beyond annoying, staff seems oblivious to this reality. -5 Stars
Rooms are nicely done, though truck stop like in cleanness and lacking details. Think quick wipe downs are the M.O. at this place, lacked that "clean" impression, instead had "chemical" smell to our bathroom and room had dust in obnoxious amounts. 1 Star

In short. Would not recommend despite being one of the lower priced values on the road system we encountered in
Alaska.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukonblue, Owner at The Lodge at Black Rapids, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
How disappointing to hear your response which we of course take seriously. For your information, we do have a cleaning team, coming in twice a week, overseeing this huge 7300 square foot building, cleaning from top to bottom, but that ole Alaskan wind is hard to keep up with! We will do our best to continue providing exceptional meals in this remote land. Thank you for your input. Please accept our invitation to dine on us unaccompanied by other critters.... We hope you will try us again your next visit. Owners, Annie & Mike Hopper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Annie and Mike, proprietors, builders, and all-around good company, made my stay in Alaska as warm and inviting as I could have asked for. This 4-year old lodge is set in a hillside, has a wrap around deck with front-row views of the river and mountains right across the street (Richardson Hwy). I enjoyed serenity, tranquility, and hiking, as well as great food. Curtis, the chef, is always cooking up something delectable, which I enjoyed in a family-style setting in their rustic, window filled great room with a fireplace. Annie often entertains with her guitar, as well as with visiting musical guests. Michael is an expert skier, if you're into that, too. I can't wit to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukonblue, Owner at The Lodge at Black Rapids, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! It is our pleasure to provide to notch service in a friendly and homely atmosphere! Annie & Mike Hopper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place is absolutely beautiful. All open wood, cozy, and an amazing spot. When we arrived we were able to do some hiking, and were privileged to have the company of the lodge dogs, in particular "Rowdy". He is truly a gifted dog who waited for us as we hiked and made sure we were safe. There were so many things that I loved about this lodge: the place itself is magnificent, the "homey" feeling with the dogs, the views were awesome, and Marsha and Annie made us feel very welcome. What we didn't love were the added expenses that we hadn't anticipated-we had an okay supper of hamburgers, salads and apple pie, but for what we were charged, we would have welcomed a better meal. The wine/beer was flowing during the evening with a party atmosphere, but in the morning we were charged for each glass we had. We declined the breakfast as it seemed very overpriced for what was offered. Overall, the Lodge at Black Rapids created a lasting memory for us. If I could make a suggestion to the owners, it would be to try to lower their prices a bit for the food and drink.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor with an amazing view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukonblue, Owner at The Lodge at Black Rapids, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed our lodge. We have the same pioneer spirit of our ancestors and hand built this timber frame lodge in a wild and scenic place! You can imagine what it takes to get fuel and food to this wondrous place when the closest grocery store is 40 miles away! We have family style meals served, with usually at least a three course meal, fine wines, beer, and occasionally a more casual fare is served depending on day! Unless you order a bottle of wine, or bring your own, just like any restaurant, drinks are served by the glass. Thank you for visiting us and be rest assured, we will go out of our way to impress you even more on your next visit! Thank you again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta Junction, Alaska
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Lodge is barely 2 years old now. Built on the hillside, with a view far and wide over the local Alaska landscape, this place can sleep 25 people. The rooms are large and comfortable with 'Alaska' decor. The bathrooms beautifully tiled. I spent some time talking with the chef and sampled soup and sandwich - delicious! Though I was there by myself, a group was coming in for an executive retreat - good idea! Whether you just want to go for lunch, or spend a few days there, I highly recommend the Lodge at Black Rapids (about 135 miles SE of Fairbanks, AK). OH - summer or winter. In summer, you can hike, photograph, fish, hunt, etc. In winter, you will get spectacular views of the Northern Lights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukonblue, Owner at The Lodge at Black Rapids, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We do appreciate your input and look forward to your return~!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We just had a girls weekend at this lodge. We had a great time. They were so nice and accommodating. The meals were great. We want to all come back and bring our husbands. Don't miss this gem on the hill.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Black Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Black Rapids

Address: Mile 227.4, Richardson Highway, Black Rapids, AK 99737
Location: United States > Alaska > Black Rapids
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Black Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new tradition of affordable hospitality at the gateway of this most accessible, wild mountain wilderness. A beautiful 7300 square foot timber framed lodge located in the heart of the Alaska Range. A little bit of luxury, road accessible, heavenly beds, fantastic food and company! Belvedere filled with stain glass portraits of northern lights. Romantic areas to visit, warm stone fireplace areas. Leather couches. Local cuisine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Black Rapids Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Black Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Black Rapids to your Saves list