We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't eat anywhere else at Gatwick South” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge Gatwick Airport North Terminal

Cafe Rouge Gatwick Airport North Terminal
Gatwick Airport, Gatwick RH6 0PJ, England
01293 557349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Gatwick
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Wouldn't eat anywhere else at Gatwick South”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Baffles me why people are queuing at the adjacent Costa Coffee when you can get a table and service next door at Cafe Rouge. This was our second very positive experience here, helpful and friendly service and understand if you are in a hurry (so long as you tell them straight away), but also seem happy if you want to linger. Breakfast was freshly cooked, coffee ok, bill not excessive. Sit by the window and you can watch your plane arrive . . .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    72
    40
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant if you have little time before your flight”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having always enjoyed eating in various Cafes Rouge, we opted to have lunch at the North Terminal Cafe Rouge as we had plenty of time before our flight. We stood for ages waiting to be seated and were completely ignored and had to call a waitress to get a table. We sat for about 20 minutes and again were completely ignored by the waiting staff and had to call a waiter who said he was too busy to take our order! We eventually decided to get up and leave and were then visited by a senior member of staff who said that she would have severe words with the staff!

Our drinks order never arrived and we had to re-order them. My son had sirloin steak and fries and when he asked if there were any sauces to accompany the steak he was told there was 'a delicious' peppercorn sauce. This arrived in a tiny pot and tasted of Bisto gravy with 3 peppercorns in it. It became a standing joke throughout our holiday! The steak was supposed to be medium rare but was overcooked on the outside and completely uncooked in the centre. It was impossible to cut with the knife provided and he asked for a steak knife, only to be told, rather abruptly that because we were at an airport steak knives weren't allowed. It would be good to be told this before ordering.

The service was truly appalling to the point of rudeness, apart from the senior girl who apologised for our long wait(s). When the bill arrived we were overcharged (a mistake we had to rectify) and also charged £1.50 for the peppercorn sauce which we were told originally came free with the steak.

There doesn't seem to be a consistency with other Cafes Rouge at all. Why? We will avoid this place at all costs in the future and probably eat at the seafood bar instead, or even Wetherspoons where at least one can get value for money, even if it is as always a little crowded.

Had we been catching a flight within an hour we certainly would have either missed our meal or missed the flight! Never again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good place for a meal before the flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have eaten at various Cafes Rouges and the food, ambience and service are in our experience consistent. The breakfasts (served until 11) are good and so are the ordinary meals. We finished a bit before our flight but we were able to order a drink and stay at our table for another half hour.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redbourn
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good quality at reasonable price .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Much better than the other fare on offer at the airport .My wife and I ordered rare steak and were pleasantly surprised to receive what we ordered . The steak was small but of good quality with a small quantity of French fries . No steak knife was provided but the steak were easily cut with the knife provided. We have had a poor meal at Cafe Rouge in St. Albans but the airport branch definitely will be on our list for a light lunch before our next flight . The staff were all pleasant and the service was efficient.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Disgusting food, horrible service, overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I never had such horrible service in my life. The waitress was extremely rude, we asked the manager to give us another server and he did however she still kept coming round delivering food and being rude.

The food was awful, I had a chicken that was microwaved and came with the dressing on the salad after I told them not to put it on. They took it back and just cleaned it up instead of giving me a fresh new plate.

Very disappointed, I go through Gatwick airport frequently and I will avoid this restaurant.

The view is nice but they can keep that, service and food quality is more important.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge Gatwick Airport North Terminal also viewed

Gatwick, West Sussex
 

Been to Cafe Rouge Gatwick Airport North Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge Gatwick Airport North Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.