We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep in the room, party at the open bar and enjoy the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach House Hotel to your Saves list
The Beach House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4851 Ave Isla Verde, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sleep in the room, party at the open bar and enjoy the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Second stay here in November 2013 was as expected, while the rooms are no frills, they offer the basics, okay beds, very hot water in the shower :) and sand everywhere! There is simply no place with a location like this on isla verde,and I've stayed many places in San Juan. Leave your room and you are in the waves in 2 minutes on a perfect part of isla verde. All amenities you need are right here, no need to go anywhere else on the island if you are looking for maximum beach time. Stayed for five days, bartenders were awesome and the food from the on-site restaurant Café la Plage was really good. The ceviche is excellent as well as all the food we ate. Great beach bar to meet folks and listen to great music. Walls are thin so don't get too loud if you are feeling romantic or turn the TV volume up. Right across isla verde avenue from the hotel is a bar and restaurant called los pinos open 24 hours, also GREAT food and cheap drinks anytime with a great staff. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy themselves and not to sensitive to a little noise and music. Parking is a little tight, as it is everwhere in isla verde, so valet and eat the 20 bucks or so, it's worth it. The days I had to leave the hotel I wish I had stayed on the beach here. The staff has always been helpful and accommodating as they can be

Room Tip: stay upstairs if possible, you will have less traffic from the bar, parking lot and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at The Beach House Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Sanjuanamaniac Thank You so much for your review of our hotel! We are very happy that you had an awesome time. We look forward to your next visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    32
    31
    67
See reviews for
27
101
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stay away from this hotel. We stay in this hotel for two nights on September 2013. Our experience was really awful!!!! The rooms and the hotel in general are very dirty. The blankets are all stained and dirty. The hotel is rundown and the manager don't do nothing to restore it and make the guest happy. All the furnishings you see on the beach are beat up and all the cushions are stained dirty. When we spoke with the manager about the issues he refused to compensate us. Awful customer service, in fact no customer service whatsoever. Manager didn't know how to treat patrons.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at The Beach House Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
ivettenieves thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

We are very sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Our property as you know is right on the beach and the climate and takes a real toll on the furniture, the paint and everything that is exposed to the elements. We do our best to try and repaint as often as possible. RIght now we are in the process of reupholstering the furniture that is on the decks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Extremely disappointed with the room,it needs a lot of renovation,we ask twice for hand towels ,never reiceived ,in our stay of three nights ,sand on the floor,the water in the shower do n't work ,purely furnished,patio small table for nightstand,plastic chair,and a small piece of wood nailed on the wall for the coffee maker and the two cups(where is the coffee?)wi fi is free but was not working ,breakfast very poor, food at the restaurant was good ,the beach side was pleasant but the loud music from the bar was unbearable till four o'clock in the morning and all noon ,I never experience anything like it in my life of traveling!!!!!!! I recommend the travel agency's must check out places before sending tourists out,please save your shelf from big disappointment don't book on this hotel.from a very unhappy visitor.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at The Beach House Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Eva F. Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry that our property was not of your liking. The sand on the floor is something that is a little difficult to keep at bay when the wind blows it under the doors and just walking on the property it's tracked on the floor. Regarding the music, our bar is a hot spot in San Juan and on the weekends customers at the bar and restaurant expect music by the beach.

Regarding the WiFi usually works quite well and sometimes if you move around the property like in every other place with an open WiFi access some spots have better reception than others. The continental breakfast is a basic continental breakfast with muffins, breads, basic fruit, coffee, tea, etc. and is FREE a gesture from our property for the guests. There is full breakfast service available at the restaurant if you want different choices, obviously at restaurant prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Staying at this hotel completely ruined my vacation. The online pictures are very misleading. The hotel is very dirty and the rooms are very small. I moved to the suite and that was bigger but still not clean. My first night in the suite I found an empty shampoo bottle in the shower that I had not used. The ice "buckets" are actually tupper ware without lids. The continental breakfast is three plates with fruit and some bread. The roaches are huge and the floors are always gritty because they mop all the floors with the same sandy mop water. The Maintenance man is very rude and actually cursed me in spanish thinking I wouldn't understand him and it was for something that wasn't my fault. The blankets are all stained. Their credit system was down and because I didn't have cash I had to walk to the bank and pay 7.50 in fees to withdraw cash for a dish that only cost 10 dollars. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL. I ended up staying down the street at Hampton Inn and Suites and that was amazing too bad it was only for one night.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at The Beach House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
BargainHunter2317, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very sorry that our property was up to your expectations.

The majority of the pictures posted on trip advisor are by people who have stayed here. The pictures of the rooms are just the way the rooms are. The rooms are small not like chain hotels they are more european size.

We have a pest exterminating service that comes on monthly basis and sprays the property for pests and roaches.

The continental breakfast usually includes, basic fruit choices, coffee, teas, pastries and yogurt. Pretty much the standard complimentary breakfast.

If the credit card system was down it has nothing to do with our facility and the fact that the bank charges $7.50 for withdrawal fees neither.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was just the vacation I needed - No frills - just thrills and at a great price. This place is all about Location - just forget the frills of a fancy room. I don't get the reviews on cleanliness. I would not rate this place a 5 if it wasnt clean. It was sparkling clean! The staff were my friends within a few hours. The beach was a dream and the bar was so much fun. Order Mojitos on the beach or a feshly cut coconut, locally whiskey is added to the coconut water - quite good. I was here 5 days and wish I had 5 more. If you can get over the small rooms and just come to relax on the beach, this is the place for you. (Dont bother if you want the bells and whistles of a high end hotel room though).

Room Tip: I didnt come here for the rooms - I came for the beach so i had no issue with the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at The Beach House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Maria D, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our property. We are very happy you had a great time and got to enjoy how heaven it is to have cold drink while sitting at our beach. Yes the fresh coconut water with Whiskey is a hit!!!

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Good location, but not the cleanest room. Not sure if anyone even cleans the rooms. Toilet and shower did not look like they were cleaned when we checked in. Spend the extra money for a major hotel on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at The Beach House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
mmmms2013 thank you for writing a review.

We are sorry our hotel was up to your expectations. Our housekeeping staff cleans every room and the front desk checks to make sure everything is OK. A point to take into consideration is that our property is right on the beach and sand slips under the doors blown by the wind and is also tracked in by shoes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I definitely recommend the food at the restaurant associated with the hotel. It was really very good and right on the beach. Service was slow but eager to please. The owner/manager seemed really hard at with to make sure the guests were happy with the food. But don't stay here unless you want to be up until past three am. The bar is incredibly loud.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at The Beach House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for writing! We are very happy you enjoyed our restaurant and bar! Our chef is very proud of his food and we are thrilled it was to your liking.

Regarding the noise levels, we recommend the rooms facing the front of the hotel since they are farther away form the bar. From Sunday to Thursday are the quieter days at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House Hotel

Address: 4851 Ave Isla Verde, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is Puerto Rico's beach front sanctuary of relaxation in the middle of the world's most exciting cities. Located in Isla Verde Avenue only five minutes away from the International Airport and fifteen minutes away from the Historic Old San Juan. A small boutique hotel nestled amid the top hotels on the island - it now has a fresh new face and has become the must-be-seen gathering place for San Juan's social set. Fabulous outdoor French cafe restaurant (Cafe la Plage) and personalized Beach Club service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Beach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Carolina
The Beach Hotel
Beach House Hotel Puerto Rico
The Beach House Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.