We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Margaritaville Feeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach House Hotel to your Saves list
The Beach House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4851 Ave Isla Verde, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Margaritaville Feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was just the vacation I needed - No frills - just thrills and at a great price. This place is all about Location - just forget the frills of a fancy room. I don't get the reviews on cleanliness. I would not rate this place a 5 if it wasnt clean. It was sparkling clean! The staff were my friends within a few hours. The beach was a dream and the bar was so much fun. Order Mojitos on the beach or a feshly cut coconut, locally whiskey is added to the coconut water - quite good. I was here 5 days and wish I had 5 more. If you can get over the small rooms and just come to relax on the beach, this is the place for you. (Dont bother if you want the bells and whistles of a high end hotel room though).

Room Tip: I didnt come here for the rooms - I came for the beach so i had no issue with the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at The Beach House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Maria D, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our property. We are very happy you had a great time and got to enjoy how heaven it is to have cold drink while sitting at our beach. Yes the fresh coconut water with Whiskey is a hit!!!

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    32
    31
    66
See reviews for
27
101
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Good location, but not the cleanest room. Not sure if anyone even cleans the rooms. Toilet and shower did not look like they were cleaned when we checked in. Spend the extra money for a major hotel on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at The Beach House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
mmmms2013 thank you for writing a review.

We are sorry our hotel was up to your expectations. Our housekeeping staff cleans every room and the front desk checks to make sure everything is OK. A point to take into consideration is that our property is right on the beach and sand slips under the doors blown by the wind and is also tracked in by shoes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I definitely recommend the food at the restaurant associated with the hotel. It was really very good and right on the beach. Service was slow but eager to please. The owner/manager seemed really hard at with to make sure the guests were happy with the food. But don't stay here unless you want to be up until past three am. The bar is incredibly loud.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at The Beach House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for writing! We are very happy you enjoyed our restaurant and bar! Our chef is very proud of his food and we are thrilled it was to your liking.

Regarding the noise levels, we recommend the rooms facing the front of the hotel since they are farther away form the bar. From Sunday to Thursday are the quieter days at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We fell in love with this hotel Oct 2012 during our first 3-night stay. We are back again this year and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else! We LOVE the view and the somewhat private beach. There are beds, couches, and chairs right on the beach for use day and night. When we wanted to have dinner they said we could sit inside, outside, or on the beach. We asked to sit on the beach and the host actually picked up a table and walked it out into the sand and brought out tiki torches- it was very romantic! The service was great and the food was delicious. We are excited to be back in this relaxed atmosphere again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at The Beach House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review!

So happy you had a great time at our property. We will make sure to tell Jennifer, Enzo and Michael that you enjoyed their service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just got home from a w/e with my husband....The food and drinks are excellent ...staff are very polite and friendly (Jennifer ,Enzo) Marcos is the best, very eager to help....rooms can be upgraded... Right on the beach... If you want good drinks and a nice beach...this is place...a great w/e get away....see you in Jan for the festival....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at The Beach House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about our property!

We are happy you had a great time and look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are single and in your twenties you would probably enjoy the vibe at the beach house there is a techno party all weekend long music all hours of the night (which is not even a complAint the party vibe was nice). However to review the HOTEL itself - just plain horrible. I have never stayed at such a run down hotel in all of my life. To call it dirty doesn't begin to describe it. Where to begin? The rooms are dirty, outdated and just plain dismal. The water pressure is so bad I physically had to have my face up against the wall just to rinse it under the dribble of water coming from the shower. Rinsing shampoo was an even bigger challenge. We did experience two different rooms during our stay because the first was even worse. The walls are concrete and the seating in our room was a big concrete slab with a cushion on it. When it rains be very careful as there will be puddles all over the place making the tile on the stairs very slippery. The room was not cleaned properly before we arrived as there was sand in the sheets and someone else's hair ties in the shower. The air conditioning was mediocre at best and the whole room was painted Orange and white and when I say whole room I literally mean everything, random cords sticking out of the walls, outlets etc. There was even a big broken piece on the door of our room as if someone had tried to kick it in or punch it. There is a tiny little shelf attached to the wall with a coffee pot and one cup so if you and your guest want coffee prepare to share! There is no phone, no safe and no cleaning service. One afternoon we told them there was a dead bird laying outside our room, it was still there the next day!!!! This place is basically a once trendy place on the beach to go drink and hang out with an 18 room MOTEL attached to it. Please don't let the online pics fool you even the staff at the restaurant asked us why we were staying there and commented how it looks nothing like the online photos!! Lastly it should be noted as well that all the "furnishings" you see on the beach are beat up and all the cushions are stained dirty and moldy. This place is thoroughly disgusting. Spend a few extra dollars and stay elsewhere. Please think long and hard about it before booking at the beach house.

Room Tip: No pool no gym poor sleep quality as techno music thumps all weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen R, Public Relations Manager at The Beach House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are sorry that your vacation was not as expected and that you had different situations during your stay. We had trouble in the past with the water pressure and we have upgraded our system with the help of a water pump and water cistern so we make sure that our guests have running water at all times.
The housekeeping staff work 7 days a week during daytime hours, and we inform guests at check in to use the sign provided on the rooms for "Maid Service" before 1pm so our housekeeping staff would clean your room. We are a "green" hotel so we like to be friendly with the environment.
Regarding music, we have entertainment on Saturday and Sundays from 2pm to 7pm in our outdoor lounge and beach area close to the bar. There are times that we have private events that could also involve music, but we always take under consideration our guests and neighbors.
As mentioned before, we are sorry for the inconvenience. We appreciate your comments, they help us improve and will make sure that our complete staff give their best every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A companion and I spent 4 nights here, and we were charmed beyond measure. This is a small hotel, on a beach where the undertow is tough, but the beach area has outdoor furniture and palm trees, the bar, the restaurant, and a fantastic staff. We ate once at the hotel, but we preferred to eat across the street at Ruben's Cafe, a small, quaint place with the best coffee and milk in PR. All and all, a marvelous stay, and I will go back as soon as I can. Great for anyone who doesn't care about seeing all the sites, and would rather sit in the shade on the beach, in a lovely ocean breeze.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor -- not really a bad room anywhere in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen R, Public Relations Manager at The Beach House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us at The Beach House Hotel. We love our beach and location and our goal is to share our little piece of paradise with our guests. We look forward for your return, call us ahead to make sure that everything is perfect for your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House Hotel

Address: 4851 Ave Isla Verde, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is Puerto Rico's beach front sanctuary of relaxation in the middle of the world's most exciting cities. Located in Isla Verde Avenue only five minutes away from the International Airport and fifteen minutes away from the Historic Old San Juan. A small boutique hotel nestled amid the top hotels on the island - it now has a fresh new face and has become the must-be-seen gathering place for San Juan's social set. Fabulous outdoor French cafe restaurant (Cafe la Plage) and personalized Beach Club service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Beach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Carolina
The Beach Hotel
Beach House Hotel Puerto Rico
The Beach House Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.