We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Verdanza Hotel to your Saves list
Verdanza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Fredericktown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We recently stayed here for 5 nights while on vacation. It was a decent hotel for a decent price. Clean rooms but not very much room. We had a very small balcony that we could step out and look at the ocean which was nice. The only problem I had with the room itself was that the water was seriously dysfunctional. The first night, we had no hot water and had to call the help desk (who responded immediately). However, after that, we could barely turn the water on without being scalded. We bought the Club room & breakfast option; the breakfast was okay. I loved that there were so many restaurants to pick from within the hotel. J.H. Yees and Eighty20 are both wonderful, probably the best Chinese food I've ever had. Furthermore, the pool was very nice with plenty of room and chairs. The hotel was an easy walk to many restaurants and only a couple blocks to the beach and for the tours we went on, they came to pick us up at the hotel. I also love that they have an adopted dog who I got to see a couple of times during my stay. All in all, not a bad experience. Would probably go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    253
    131
    45
    45
See reviews for
163
246
38
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
xxx
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
916 helpful votes 916 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I just want to recap a few notable points about this independently owned hotel.
1) Value: Compared to other hotels in Carolina/San Juan area with high price, this one is a bit more reasonable. If you bid for a 3 1/2 stars hotel from website, you might save more and end up here.
2) Location: Less than 5 minutes away from "famous Isla Verde/Alambique Beach. Since, it is not facing the beach, this hotel needs to reduce the price quite a bit to remain competitive. May be 15 minutes drive to Old San Juan (if you know the direction, GPS is not very reliable there). Also close to fast food places like Pizza hut, McDonald or affordable Ponderosa buffet if you do want to pay a lot at hotel restaurants.
3) Beautiful lobby with cafe, Chinese/fine dining/tapa+wine restaurants on site. Pool area is well maintained and small, playful water park for kids also present.
4) Rooms are definitely better if it is on the main building. Otherwise, they will send you to an extended three stories building near the pool. So try to avoid this with a good negotiation skills. Otherwise, prepare to make a long walk with bags, no elevator, just for fyi.
5) Parking is around $12/day with in-out privileges, well not bad in PR. Make sure that you get a "coin" each time you go out of hotel. Need that coin to lift the arm at exit.
6) Also near "Charlie/ACE car rental." Arguably most honest rental place in San Juan.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

I had a bad experience from the start! They put us in the outdoor part of the hotel after we asked not to be in that part of the hotel. It seems like they did that just to get us to pay for the upgrade to the next room! The rooms are extremely small and very average definitely not a 3 and 1/2 star hotel to me! I couldn't wait to get out of the hotel to a real hotel . I hated it and will never stay here ever again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJOValcarcel, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Lady Ashley M, I am so disappointed and puzzled to read of your dissatisfaction. You booked a poolside room through Expedia. Upon check in you reconfirmed your poolside reservation; you then asked to be moved to the tower because you wanted a larger room and – after we accommodated your request – you once again felt the bathroom was not large enough and requested a bigger room. You were never pressured to upgrade – we offered you two choices in the room category you booked – but if a guest wishes to upgrade the room category, as you did, we simply advise the guest of the difference in rate and it is entirely up to the guest to upgrade. Lady Ashley M, we act in good faith to make our guests feel welcome, happy and at home. We made every effort every step of the way to oblige you so your stay was pleasant and enjoyable. We can only do so much within reason and we accept that there will be times when no gesture of goodwill is good enough. Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the Verdanza Hotel for a few nights before our cruise left San Juan. Very clean; super nice people; great pool; love that it is pet friendly! Wish we would have met their adopted dog but he wasn't on site when we were there. Easy walk to the beach and other amenities. Renting a car right on site was extremely convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zadar County, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed 2 nights before joining a cruise, overall very happy. The staff were very friendly and helpful about asked information. Breakfast abundant and very good quality. I would recommend Verdanza Hotel and would go back one day :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights pre-cruise, and a friend joined me for the last evening. No issues, clean room, great service. Got advice to take local bus service to Old San Juan, so for .75 got a great stop and go tour of the city, and walked all the way to the Old Fort. Just excellent! Thanks for great first time experience in the Southern Caribbean!

Room Tip: Note there is an elevator in the main building but no balconies - still nice view if you ask over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

clean rooms friendly staff and great pool.restaurants were great.can walk to many places in isla verde from the hotel.we will definitely stay here again.the Asian bistro is excellent.we were made to feel very welcome at the verdanza.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verdanza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.