We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Verdanza Hotel to your Saves list
Verdanza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Booked this hotel as part of a deal w/ CheapCaribbean.com so wasn't expecting much, so was very pleasantly surprised. I'd give the pool and common areas 5 stars, the service and staff 5 stars, the room only a 3, but didn't spend much time in the room and had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool. Great location (1.5 blocks from beach) and close to the airport. Nice little water play area for kids -- I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the pool -- staff works very hard to accommodate requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    279
    150
    53
    50
See reviews for
206
271
44
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Verdanza hotel was awesome!!!! The staff was great and the resteraunts we very good too. The rooms were ok not very big but I like to travel in a budget and my wife and I booked through cheap carribian flight and hotel it really wasn't that expensive. My wife and I loved the pool there. The car rental place downstairs in the lobby was pretty inexpensive so we rented a car an drove around the whole island for a couple days :) if there are any questions about my PR experience feel free to ask :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a great hotel, located less than 2 miles from airport. If your looking to experience san juan on a budget & near everything. You can walk to the beach, grocery store, fast food all in one shot. If your looking for local cuisine, take a few step toward the beach and your sure to find local vendors with bbq roasting! Puerto Rican pops are served at check in. The hotel room offers fridge, microwave & two bottles of Fiji water. Ask the front desk clerk for access to the 8th floor(Concierge room) where you can have breakfast & cocktails b4 bed. Great vies on top floor wher the workout room is located. Free breakfast(not sure if its always free) is also served in restaurant downstairs on first floor! The sports bar serves up excellent steak & rice w/chimichurrie sauce. The hotel also offers massage services on 8th floor(jst ask).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Every thing was great. Bathroom could have been bigger but hey what can you do. I also liked the water cooler with a different fruit inside to flavor it up. OnlyThe asian bistro was good as well as the restaurant and sports bar called Home. Only issue I had was this weird smell coming fron somewhere near the pool and room lobby. I could not make out the smell its not garbage but it really distracts from the beauty of this place.At first I thought it was food from the bistro but it could be from the plants. If they could take care of that it would be a great getaway resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
skad69, thank you for taking the time for sharing your experience. I believe the smell you refer to is the plant food we use periodically to nourish the plants in our gardens! Rest assured it is not harmful, although it does have a strong smell that lasts a day or two. I am glad however that it did not ruin your vacation and you took the time to enjoy our different restaurants, each being distinct from the others. Come back soon! Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night, and it was awesome! The staff was great and friendly, they give you puertorrican ice pop ( coconut, passion fruit) they were yummy!! They give you two Fiji water, they have fridge and coffee in the room. The hotel is very beautiful, clean, and have a variety of restaurants (try the coffee there and it was awesome). I really recommend this place, because it have everything a person needs to make their stay an awesome experience. Beautiful pools for adults and kids, I give them 5 stars!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Verdanza for 5 nights. We absolutely loved it! Excellent accomodating staff! Super friendly and helpful, everything is close by the pool is gorg! The rooms are just right! I cant say enough it was just really really great..

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room the 1st floor were tiny really good for 1 person though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel location: Everything is walking distance, restaurants, pubs, walgreens, supermarket, etc
Beach: Is walking distance (aprox. 3 minutes).
Swimming pool: nice area
Kids amenities: nice area at the swimming pool, but there is no game room at the hotel
Service: Prompt response when we had an inconvenience with the tv.
Buffet: The breakfast buffet is really good, but they didn't have french toasts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
2.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.4 mi away
ESJ Towers
ESJ Towers
#11 of 14 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verdanza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.