We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value hotel, certainly adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Verdanza Hotel to your Saves list
Verdanza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Mtn View, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value hotel, certainly adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights, the hotel lobby is quite nice, the rooms are in serious need of an update, despite the flatscreen TVs. Staffing at the lobby was variable, at times well trained and helpful. At the busy check-out times, quite slow and uncoordinated. Rooms have small, rusty bathrooms, but nice balconies and fridges with coffee makers. Be aware that cab fare to Old San Juan is $25 each way.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    279
    150
    52
    50
See reviews for
205
271
44
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed one night during the December holidays as a family with a young child. The price was definitely right for what we got, especially during a peak time of year, and we were happy about that! However, despite the attempt to make this place stylish and hip, the hotel's Holiday Inn roots still show through.

The location is a short walk to beach and restaurants. I'm not a big fan of Isla Verde, but it's certainly convenient to the airport. A trek from Old San Juan, but such a short drive to Pinones which has a great kids beach, and lots of good dining options within walking distance.

The pool was a bit small but adequate, the temperature was good, and the kid's splash park was a nice bonus. The grey stuff growing on the tiles around the pool and hot tub was kind of nasty though.

The room was adequate, but the bathroom area strangely maze-like and the shower/toilet area is TINY. There was a stain on the bed cover (it doesn't touch your body, but still, it taints one's view to see that when walking into the room!). The A/C is incredibly loud even on "low" fan setting. But in general we were happy with the room and especially the price.

Despite some shortcomings, we'd likely stay here again just because of the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I think the website portrays a much more upscale, up-to-date hotel than it actually is. It was perfect for only one night. I would have been disappointed if we had stayed here for our entire vacation. The breakfast was very average and overpriced. They ran out of towels for the pool at 9:30 am, and the front desk (where you pick up the towel) was extremely apathetic about it.

Positives: close to airport, walkable to the main strip of restaurants, Walgreens, etc., Dollar Rental is located in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent two nights at Verdanza Hotel. We were greeted warmly and allowed to check in even though it was before noon. Our king room had a flat screen TV and a small desk, otherwise it was pretty standard inside. The toilet/shower room was one of the smallest I have ever seen. Outside we had a massive verandah! We overlooked the swimming pool and the beautiful grounds. Amazing pool with a water play area for kids! The hotel lobby is stunning, but the fancy touches are not everywhere. We had the feeling this might be an older property that is slowly being updated. The location is less than a 5 minute walk to the beach. There are many restaurants within walking distance. We did not go to any of the hotel restaurants. We would not hesitate to stay here again as it was a good value and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

i was really shocked at how great the hotel was for the price we paid!!! the lobby was beautiful, the grounds and pool were stunning!!! it was very handy to have a laundry facility for us as we had just got back from a cruise. very close to the beach, food and stores. our was well kept and beautiful. we cant wait to go back and hope we get another great deal!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I loved my stay at the Verdanza Hotel. There are three great restaurants (and a wine and tapas place) and housekeeping does a great job. The front desk staff was very friendly. Without a doubt this was the best stay I have had at a hotel. The Eighty20 Bistro (the tenderloin of beef au jus is one of the best steaks I have ever had) and DiVino Wine & Tapas inside the hotel are excellent. The other two restaurants Coladas ( The burger and the skirt steak are amazing) and J.H. Yee's are quite good also. The beach is two or three minutes away by foot. I will definitely stay here again the next time I visit San Juan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Verdanza Hotel is just a couple blocks away from the beach. Good price and AMAZING SERVICE. It is very well kept and clean. It's perfect for children because they have a small but great water park by the pool (that's a huge plus for us that we traveled with a toddler). Another big plus is that they are located really close to the airport (5-7 minutes away) and 15 minutes away from Old San Juan.
You will find plenty of restaurants in the area if you don't feel like eating at the hotel.

We stayed there 3 nights and every single person we got in contact at the hotel, from the bell boys, to the check-in desk, to the coffee place, etc they were very very polite, helpful and made sure that your stay was pleasant. Will definitively go back there if I can.

Room Tip: While you stay there, we got a great tip from one of the bell boys, go and have dinner at Metropol f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
2.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.4 mi away
ESJ Towers
ESJ Towers
#11 of 14 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verdanza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.