We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and service but..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Gastrobar

Salt Gastrobar
4820 Ave Isla Verde | 1st Floor of Howard Johnson's, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
+1 787-919-7575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Isla Verde
Cuisines: Caribbean, Tapas, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An exuberant gastronomic experience especially designed for all lovers of fusion and international cuisines. Salt Gastrobar promotes a synergy between modern and minimalist elements to create a wide array of spaces to suit your every need. Simply put...We create the perfect setting to enjoy the simple pleasures of sharing.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and service but..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We ate here for our anniversary, so it was a special night. Since we read so much about this place, our expectations were pretty high. The atmosphere and service were, indeed, very nice but the food was only meh... I ordered the salt-black deal and it arrived completely cold - all of it, including the steak. My husband had some sort of a pasta dish and it was OK but nothing spectacular. The best was probably the appetizer - escargot and dessert - mini donuts. Oh, and the side "fufu" was very nice too. The wine list at Salt is pretty limited though. Nonetheless, we still enjoyed our night and the meal was better than average but I would not call it 5 star. Our total bill for 2 meals, appetizer, shared dessert, and two glasses of wine was just over $120.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    23
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb Brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The atmosphere was great. Good service and value. Sunday brunch was tasty with great sunny side burger and french toast! Try the mimosas!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Aruba
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ask for the specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Friendly wine and small meals bar. Overall very friendly service. Limited menu, but if you ask for the specials you are in for some very tasty high-quality bites, from appetizers to entrees. Sunday brunch a-la-carte also very tasty with great omelettes, french toast and pumpkin pancakes, and different juice toppings for your bubbly. All menus include kids' meals.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place, Highly recomended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband already went whit some friends and he is not the kind of guy who likes to repeat places, so when he told me to take him here for father's day I knew the place had to be good. I have no complains, great place, great service and super great food. For all the lover's of mac & cheese you have to get the one here with lobster, I had the Himalaya which is the plate you can see here at this page, it has shrimp, scallops and filet mignon on the top of a salt block and for locals they have a "carne frita" in tamarind sauce. For the dessert had the pumpkin doughnuts with the hot chocolate sauce and coffee. For us sharing this 4 plates was enough. If you are near this place don't think about it and get here, you won't regret it. You would get high quality food!.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent taste,, awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Salt experience was really good,, you must try the rissotto mamposteao its taste was unique,, the scallops were very tasty,, restaurant was empty and is sad because the food, decoration, service, price was great,, my impression is that people think its a very expensive restaurant just because the place is very beautiful I recommend to put the menu with some pics outside in front of the rest. entrace and hotel lobby so people can look at the prices and decide to go in,,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Gastrobar also viewed

 
Isla Verde, Carolina
 

Been to Salt Gastrobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Gastrobar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.