We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent new restaurant in Isla Verde” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden - CLOSED

The Garden
2413 Calle Laurel | Punta Las Marias, Isla Verde, Carolina 00913, Puerto Rico
787.963.0087
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean, Healthy
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
175 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent new restaurant in Isla Verde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Our server was absolutely fantastic. She was aware of every need we had, she spent pretty much time explaining every aspect of the concept, dishes, beverages and environment of the restaurant. She also pleased us with interesting information about the ingredients used and way of cooking of the chef. The owner was very friendly and professional. The food is spectacular and different in terms of concept and flavors. The selection of crafted foreign beers is huge and inviting. Wine list can be improved but I'm sure they will in the near future. The decoration, music and environment are inviting, good taste and modern with a flare of rustic/garden. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    5
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Liked the vibe music and more importantly the dishes! All organic always a plus! Kelvin was a great server! Wirth a visit!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Above average food. Nice ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

Decent food in the Ocean Park area. Potential to be much better. Staff was very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent combination between Puerto Rican and Mediterranean Cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This place has one of the best beer and wine menus in San Juan at reasonable prices. Also, it is one the better meals our family had when we were visiting Puerto Rico. We have a tough family to please, and this place made everyone happy. They have excelent saladsand interesting appetizers. For example, we had a hummus plate, grouper ceviche, and conch salad. All of them were most excelent. The main courses were varied and what we had was all really good. The staff was very friendly, and spoke english. This was a place that was filled with locals and their families, not another tourist in sight.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most tropical and newest restaurant in Isla Verde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

It offers a high end environment, with outside and inside seating. Quality fresh and organic food mostly salads, gourmet, fish and organic beef. The kitchen is open and visible, very clean with modern equipment.
Inside and outside it is pleasant to the eye, a tiki bar with organic drinks and a long list of specialty beers. Plenty of parking and excellent service. A bit on the expensive side but a good value for the quality. I was tired of eating the same thing in the popular restaurants in Isla Verde, " Churrasco skirt steak and plantain mofongo." It is difficult to get original and tradicional foods from Puerto Rico with the new trend of Dominican Republc and south american influence.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden also viewed

 
Isla Verde, Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.