We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Silver Lake, Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed here for the first and last nights of our honeymoon, going to Vieques for a week in between. The first night, when we mentioned it was our honeymoon, the awesome concierge upgraded us to a wonderful suite with a great view. Our last night, we still got a very nice room, though it was on the small side, I thought the value was excellent.

The only reason I don't give this hotel five stars is that I felt that the dining options were overpriced and the food was mediocre. The breakfast buffet was pretty good but cost about $40 for a couple, including tax and tip. Unfortunately we didn't find much to walk to in Isla Verde, so plan on eating at the hotel unless you take a cab elsewhere. That is my only caveat, otherwise this hotel was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    550
    205
    81
    50
See reviews for
381
479
57
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st louis,mo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

we stay in this hotel and I was a little worry about other reviews . I loved it wed thru Sun is jamming if you like to to Dance and you like salsa. The front desk is a little slow as I ask for some towels and never got them but one of the cleaning ladies were on our floor and she gave me some . Don't worry about the airport noise im a light sleeper and it didnot bother me. kids had fun they have a game room and computer room. The food is hight but if you want to try puerto rican crusine that where to go.If not try mi casita rest down the street very good and reasonable. I am puerto rican and I had not been to PR in 28 years and I loved it and my people are so friendly and polite. I do have to tell you if you book your hotel threw priceline or something you will have extra charges at the end lots of taxes and resort fee that priceline didnot tells us.anyway if you rent a car go to el junque rainforest no fees casa barcardi no fees and if you go to el morro theres two castles to see for 3 dollars each or 5 for both and you have 7 days to use that ticket. go early so you can park in street they have a free trolley that will take you all over old San Juan. They also have a park garage near sheraton hotel for $2 an hour. oh did I mention the beach beatiful. Hves fun and God bless

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

This hotel is located on one of the most beautiful beaches in Puerto Rico and its located about 5 minutes from the airport. We caught a cab for about $13 then rented a car for the middle of our trip for about $150. You MUST have a car for at least part of your trip if you want to see any of the sights. The hotel has 4 different pools of varying heights so that the adults and the kids can enjoy. There is also a hot tub that was helpful in meeting many friends during our trip. The beach is just a few steps away from the pool and there are two shower heads to assist in getting the sand off your feet. The food in the hotel is on the expensive side but many restaurants lie within walking distance. I would recommend Metropol and Chili's...about 1/4 mile down the road.

The rooms are acceptable though unremarkable but the staff was above average in cleaning and servicing our room, bringing lots of towels each day and stocking us with plenty of free bottled water. We had a small issue with our keys not working on day 4 of our trip, but as a result of this the hotel gave us 4 free drinks in the hotel bar for our inconvenience, a $32 value at least. So, all in all, this will be our destination if we are ever in PR again. Perfect location and solid staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Well-maintained property, right on the beach, clean rooms and comfortable beds. We loved the smoke-free casino with the 4-deck black jack (WITHOUT the continuous shuffling machines). The salsa band was a lot of fun. I highly recommend this hotel if you had a one-night lay-over at the airport, because of it's close proximity and lack of noise. Hotel was booked through Hotwire at $99/night, then we upgraded to a suite for an additional $50 more at check-in. Niccccce.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We have just returned from the Courtyard by Marriott. The hotel was nice, great beach, wonderful pool with a swim-up bar. The staff very friendly and helpful. When we arrived we were placed in a room right over the dumpster which was very smelly and very disappointing we were moved the next evening only to a room alittle higher over the dumpster, they have covered the front of the dumpster now. The food prices are way to high I would have loved to eat at the Salsa buffett but $15.95 each is a bit high when you have children who cannot eat that much, no discounts for kids. The combo's at Banana's were ok but who wants that every meal. I was also shocked at the price of beer and the rum drinks and the price of plain black coffee. We walked daily about 5 mins from hotel to eat. We enjoyed our stay except for the dumpster view I learned not to look down and the high price of food. I do want to say Thanks to all the staff for being GREAT.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

We highly recommend this hotel. The staff is very, very hospitable and accommodating. This is a reflection of the oversight and leadership of the General Manager, Luis Rivera, and the excellent Restaurant Manager, Hector Sanchez.
All the staff went out of their way to make our stay happy and relaxing. Staff would stop and say things such as, "Please feel that this is your home."
Since it was the busy season during Christmas week, there was a sumptuous buffet each evening. In general, the food tariff was reasonable compared to other hotels.
The location on the beach side is lovely with the only drawback of airplane noise, especially in rooms on one side of the building, but this is unavoidable mostly anywhere if you want to enjoy the Isla Verde beach area.
Even though it was a holiday week, there were plenty of lounge chairs around the pretty pool, and we were always able to find a shady spot. We know hotels try to appeal to an eclectic clientele, but we do wish that soft, soothing music be played outside.
The room was fine, and housekeeping is conscientious and responsive. Sitting on the balcony just looking at the waves and the colors at sunset was the perfect antidote to job stress and exhaustion.
Our goal was simply to relax. We only spent a few minutes in the casino, and there is no gift shop. We basically didn't leave the hotel even though it's an easy walk to other hotels.
We very much enjoyed the lively nightly music for listening and dancing. We also watched a beautiful wedding on the beach.
If you want a sweet escape with room rates that aren't in the stratosphere, then book a vacation at the Courtyard by Marriott in Isla Verde.
I was feeling very guilty about postponing writing a review of this hotel until now since the one I originally tried to submit a long time ago somehow never materialized on Tripadvisor. My husband and I were treated so nicely by everyone, and so I'm trying once again to say some good words in thanks for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

It was great... The staff is very helpful. They have a jacuzzi outside, pool and swim up bar. The pool and jacuzzi are open 24 hours. Also the fitness room is open 24 hours but didn't see any one actually using it. On the weekend in Picante, they have a great salsa band. It gets packed but the music and and drinks are good. They have a game room for the kids right next to the casino. So you can play as well as the kids, lol. Finally, the beds are COMFORTABLE. i normally can't sleep when i go on vacation but i was knocked out.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Courtyard Carolina
Marriott Carolina
Carolina Courtyard
Carolina Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.