We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definately return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Demotte, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Will definately return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

When we booked the hotel we didnt realize how close it was to the airport. Surprisingly, the noise was not even an issue! We upgraded our room to an ocean view. It was definately worth the money!! The beach was very clean. We could hear the waves from our room when the glass doors were open. The only bad thing I have to say is that we didnt get to utilize the swim up bar in the pool area because there were to many kids sitting there when they clearly had there own seperate pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    581
    215
    84
    53
See reviews for
392
518
59
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We started at a hotel in Old San Juan which was an unfortunate experience. We called Marriott and got out of the other reservation. This Courtyard was able to accomodate us for two nights and then we could move to Condado Beach as planned. Yes, this is an older property and the rooms are not updated, but it was very quiet and right on the beach. We were even given a partial ocean view and balcony despite our late check in. One of the hotel restaurants is right on the beach. Lounge chairs and umbrellas for the day are included in the resort fee which we appreciated. On the down side, we spent a fortune on food while at this property because there are not a lot of options to walk to other than hotel restaurants which are usually overpriced. Still, this property is good to know about especially if you are only staying for a day or two. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Good overall stay. A few pluses, a few minuses. Pool and beach are very nice. Room is average but comfortable. Main restaurant... not that good (mostly buffet style). Nice lounge and pool bar. Game room - closed. Gift shop - closed. Spa is gone. I don't understand how Marriott Corp. allows this. People are friendly, but with the lack of amenities, I may search for another location on my next visit.

Room Tip: All room are at least partial-ocean view, to my knowledge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
del mar, ca
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is not your typical Courtyard. It is a full service hotel with casino, restaurants, room service, etc. Rooms are smaller and dingier than the newer Courtyards in the States. We stayed one night on a layover --- hotel is only ten minutes from the airport. All hotels in San Juan seem over-priced, but this one takes the cake by tacking on a $50 "resort fee" even though we checked in at 8 PM and checked out 8 AM the next morning. Next time we'll go to the nearby Ritz-Carlton.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry N, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Sandiegoguy,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your layover in San Juan. Our location close to the airport makes us appealing for travelers staying one night in Puerto Rico and for those looking for a Pre and/or Post cruise stay. As you mention, we have more amenities than the typical Courtyard Hotel. We have five food & beverage outlets, casino, a freshly remodeled pool and a prime beach front location. We do charge a resort fee, which is a percentage of the reserve room rate. During the second quarter of this year, we will begin to upgrade all of our rooms using the brand new Courtyard Room Package. Give us another chance during your next visit to Puerto Rico. I will get you the best rate we have available. You may contact me at 787-648-8834 or Hneumann@sjcourtyard.com.
I see that you are a Top TripAdvisor Contributor and frequent traveler.
Enjoy all your travels,
Henry E. Neumann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I arrived late at night and arrived at my room to the door NOT completely closed. Later I realized it wouldn't close perhaps due to thick paint on door frame. Bolt lock wouldn't turn either. Only the flip lock functioned to secure room. My online complaint to Marriott got this reply in part: "We check door today. It is working correctly." For $400 one should get a room that properly secures.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry N, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your most recent visit to Puerto Rico. It would have been my pleasure to assist you with the door lock in order to make your stay a more pleasant one. After the stay, we received your message through Marriott and our Engineering Department promptly examined the door lock. If you would like to further discuss your stay with us, please feel free to contact me at 787-648-8834 or Hneumann@sjcourtyard.com.
Thank you and have a great day,
Henry E. Neumann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was here with my family,I must say it was excellent experience.john at breakfast was very good also appreciates house keeping to keep hotel clean.if your with family this is the place you should visit,thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Absolutely beautiful beach, the property is well maintained and the staff is very friendly. The night scene is lively and lots of fun. Great food, a little on the expensive side but tell me of a hotel that has reasonably priced food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Courtyard Carolina
Marriott Carolina
Carolina Courtyard
Carolina Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.