We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly personell in the Salsa Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Isla Verde
Clackamas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Friendly personell in the Salsa Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Joselind and Yomara at the Salsa Restaurant were great! Very friendly and made me feel very comfortable and well cared for. They have a "Make your own Pasta" bowl which was very good and the breakfast bouffett was also plentiful. The beach looked very inviting but we did not take advantage of it because it was very windy while we were there and we wanted to do some sight seeing. The pool area very nice as well. There is a Cassino in the lobby. People seemed to be having a good time there but we did not participate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    515
    540
    205
    81
    50
See reviews for
377
474
56
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have just arrived back from our stay at the Courtyard Marriiott in Isla Verda. We really ended up there as a last minute thing since we got totally scammed from the apartment that we booked in Old San Juan. We had been in Puerto Rico since December 18th staying in Rio Grande then going up to Utuado in the mountains to stay at Casa Grande. It had been great so far and we were looking forward to spending New Years Eve in Old San Juan and the what seemed like, a great apartment for the last week. When we arrived there was already someone staying at the apartment. Our family was left high and dry on New Years Eve as well as the rest of the week with nowhere to stay. So in shock and tears we tryed to find a place and ended up staying at the Milano that night. So long story short, we got on Expedia and decided to book one night here. We kept rebooking so in the end we ended up staying there for a week.

We found the price to be great value for a really nice place that is modern and right on the beach. The hammocks were a great touch. And the pool was great too. Loved the fact that they don't do bingo or aerobics in the pool. The big comfy couches were excellent to lounge in at happy hour. Make sure you have bug spray at dusk if you are sittling outside. The staff was excellent, especially Jennifer who was so sweet and gave us lots of advice on Puerto Rican food and places to visit. We had a car so we were not committed to eating at the hotel every night. One night we decided to eat at Sirena's which is the very nice outdoor restaurant at the hotel. My husband ordered the scallops. He was very disappointed and felt it was incredibly overpriced for what he got. 2 days later he decided to nicely tell the manager about the dinner. They were very apologetic and made sure we had complimentry drinks and an order of the scallops again. We found them to be excellent. We were very impressed with how we were treated and how the situation was handled.
As far as the noise from the airport, we found it just to be background noise and it wasn't a big issue. Once you're on the beach listening to the waves crashing in and your nose is in a good book, what is there to complain about? We even were able to get a new room on a higher floor for the last 4 nights of our stay. We would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

we arrived at the Hotel early, they had no problem taking care of us and giving us a room, the second floor is what i had selected, had no idea that the view was partially cover because of the roof to the lower restaurants. the room was very nice, a walk to the beach was amazing, the beach was clean, hammocks everywere, tables w umbrellas, the restaurant staff was very nice and helpful. always a smile on their face. our room was clean every day, we had family come over for a few hours one day ane they gave us extra towels, shampoo/ conditioner so we all could take a shower after enjoying the beach. the restaurant personnel were nice, we just had one night that the food was not the best, the king fish was very dry and salty, my husband loves seafood and this was one he would never order. but that is nothing.
,
we had a wonderfull time there. the front desk were helpful and went beyond their duties, i do want to give thumps up to:Jose Padin andd his staff for a great job .

Thank you! We will be back for another vacation and will stay there.
Mr. and Mrs. Moss
time there from 12-15 to 12-20

Room Tip: the second floor is parially cover because of the rof of the lower restaurant. if you want a nice vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just returned from a week long family vacation with our two daughters (21/23). It was our first time staying at this hotel (previously stayed at the Hilton Caribe) and had a fantastic experience. When we first arrived, we waited a bit in the lobby for our room. The lobby itself could use a bit of updating so I was a bit skeptical about what kind of room we would be getting. I was very pleasantly surprised...The spacious room was completely renovated with new furniture/bedding/bathroom with a beautiful ocean view. We were upgraded from the room we booked to an ocean view thanks to Jose Padin (general manager) who is like no other manager I've ever encountered...This guy is everywhere and his staff is incredibly helpful and supportive. The hotel is on a stretch of beach that is absolutely gorgeous, complete with palm trees right on the beach with hammocks for just chilling out and relaxing. There are also some shaded big comfy sitting areas on the beach deck for getting out of the sun and having a drink or reading...or working on your laptop (there is free wifi for the entire resort). There are complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas which staff set up daily. The beach itself is fantastic...the water is emerald green and there's plenty of staff on the beach taking orders for food and drinks. The pool is heated and is pretty with plenty of chairs and a swim up bar. I didn't at all notice the airplanes from the airport around 1 mile away. Other reviewers have complained about the airplane noise but I didn't notice that, at all. The restaurants at the hotel were so-so. The breakfast buffet out on the beach is wonderful. The view is beautiful and the buffet is good value with eggs to order/waffles, fresh fruit, breakfast meats, etc. or there is a continental option which is decent, as well. We wound up having breakfast there daily (around 10), skipping lunch (light snack) and going out to dinner either in Old San Juan (El Picoteo in Hotel El Convento great tapas bar!) or a couple of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel (Metropol or Lupis are wonderful and reasonable). There's also a Walgreens within walking distance of the hotel for sundries, snacks, etc. The local bus stop into town is right outside of Walgeens which goes to old San Juan every half hour ($.75 each way versus a taxi for $21). Our daughters did this several days on their own which kept them entertained. Hope I'm not rambling on too much, but wanted to share my experience so that others considering a trip to San Juan, and possibly the Marriott Courtyard Isla Verde, would have some worthwhile information.

Room Tip: Request ocean view...it's worth it and made our trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here one night before flight back to states. Rooms are slightly better furnished than the average Courtyard but definitely dated. Room A/C did not appear to work until we jiggled the balcony door repeatedly - there is a switch on it to kill the A/C while the door was open and it was sticking. Generally service was pleasant and fairly efficient but there is a sizable casino right off the lobby and all restaurant service seems to be geared much more towards the casino's customers. No gift shop open after 8pm on a Monday night, so only place to buy a soda or water from the room was the casino snack bar which had poor service and outdated wall menus.

It was night, but beach was very brightly illuminated by floodlights. Looked like it might be okay during the day. Place is a $14 cab ride for 2 ($10 zone charge + $2 for 2 pax + $2 for 2 carry-on size roller bag) to the airport. But beware - when we split a cab to the airport with another party the next day the cabbie tried to insist that we had to pay $14 PER GROUP. That doesn't appear to be legal, but he argued it until we said we'd file a complaint.

http://www.discoveringpuertorico.com/2008/07/san-juan-taxi-rates/

Not a terrible place to stay if transitioning thru SJU but in no way felt like a place worth spending more than 24 hours at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francis, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Although im a bit late in writing my review, I was married here in November of 2010. We had many family and friends fly in and come from across the island. I was born in P.R. As far as the wedding, the food we served and the service we received it was outstanding!! Michelle and her partner on the hotel side of things (cant remember her name) were excellent, attentive and efficient. Live music was great and we had so much fun. The rooms and facilities were on point. Casino small, which didnt matter much to us. Within walking distance to other restaurants, walgreens, burger king.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed for only a night at this hotel, because I was transiting through Puerto Rico. It is close to the airport, and probably the better of the hotels in this area that aren't in the Ritz Carlton or Intercontinental price range.

As other reviewers have commented, the rooms are showing signs of age. The A/C in my room was so old, delapidated and noisy that it was impossible to sleep through it and I turned it off. Despite the hotel appearing fairly empty, I was put in a room opposite some room which seemed to be associated with the elevator, which was incredibly noisy. Only turning the volume right up on the TV could mask it. This might have been (just about) forgiveable had the hotel been full, but it very plainly was not.

My biggest complaint was in the quality of the restaurant area. I ate in Salsa, supposedly a Spanish restaurant. I was presented with a piece of paper and a pen to invent my own pasta! As an alternative, I took the Churasco steak, which came with a baked potato - still in its foil. It was edible, the potato less so, but badly presented on the plate without any side salad or veg. The restaurant areas have more in common with a canteen than they do a supposedly half decent restaurant; waitress aside, they were utterly devoid of charm, and the feeling was of a slightly run down, dirty area which was poorly maintained.

If I had been vacationing here, I would have been significantly more disappointed. The Isla Verde area is quite some distance from any tourist destination worth visiting, or from San Juan itself. I would not recommend this hotel for anything except transit. Even then, a drink at their fairly pleasant bar (with lacklustre service) aside, I would think about eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Courtyard Carolina
Marriott Carolina
Carolina Courtyard
Carolina Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.