We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“SALSA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Wonderful property in front of beach. Casino and salsa is a good mix. Average rooms with beach view. Good Pool amenity in a quiet neighborhood but very near night action. Only 5 minutes from Airport. Parking is expensive and the 24 hours casino provide with snack service all night long. DIrections in Puerto Rico are kind of confusing. We went to a Jamboree with son and to find the field was confusing. Even concierge and GPS were troubled to find address. For relaxing in the sun and explore San Juan excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    565
    209
    81
    52
See reviews for
383
503
59
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here the night before our cruise left from San Juan. The beach was beautiful, we got upgraded to an oceanview room. I didn't rate it excellent because the food we had at one of the restaurants was awful. My burger was charred. Staff were friendly, pool was well kept. Our favorite part were the hammocks on the beach. I could have skipped the cruise and just stayed in the hammock for a week! Other reviewers mentioned airport noise, while it was very close, we didn't notice it. There are a few restaurants and a Walgreens within a 10 minute walk. It is about a 25 dollar ride to the cruise port. But that is about the same as from the airport area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had dinner 12/2/2012 in the Salsa restaurant and signed for the credit card charge.that night the charge popped up on my phone and they charged my credit card a different price then what was really owed.I tried for 3 days for them to give me a answer as to why there was an over charge that went thru my bank.No one would give me an answer.I talked to 3 different managers and all promised me a reason for the overcharge.never heard from any of them.Be aware that the price you sign for is not always the price that goes thru your bank.they will take your money and no reason given

Room Tip: Just watch your receipts and make sure it is what you owe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarklake, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My friend and I spend 5 nights at the Isla Verde Marriott to celebrate her 50th birthday. We had an amazing vacation. The room, which was upgraded by Hotel Manager Jose Padin was spectacular with a beautiful view of the ocean and coastline. We sat on the balconey each morning to enjoy the view and our morning coffee.
The Beach was wonderful, we had NO problems with the sand mites. We went on several walks both ways, one way is very quiet and few people, the other way is very entertaining with lots of people on the beach enjoying friends and family. Massage on the beach was well worth it.
The Pool was my personal favorite. The pool is large enough for children playing and to be able to swim if that is your pleasure. We enjoyed the swim up bar as our favorite place to meet people and have birthday cake shots compliments of our new friends on my friends birthday. It was very relaxing sitting by the pool in shade or sun. You could order drinks or food from your chair or go up to the covered veranda with tables to eat. The lunches were large enough for my friend and I to share.
The staff were FANTASTIC, we met and chatted with Mr. Padin, and the food service manager, the bar tenders inside and out were fun too. All the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful at all times.
We enjoyed the casino for an hour or so each night, even though we didnt win big... we were able to play each night and stay about even, which was alot of fun, the slot machines give and take enough you can play without big losses.
So many good times and memories, the concierge, Angel, helped us to arrange our plans, we went to 1/2 day rainforest which was good, just enough as we are not big hikers. We went to Old San Juan, to the Bacardi tour, which was OK, but took alot of time that we wish we would have went down town earlier. After 7ish, lots of the stores close and there were very few people on one of the main streets, we headed back to the bar on the main street across from the marina and had nachos, and enjoyed watching all the people dancing and having fun.
Really the best part of the trip was the Marriott, we spent most of our time there, relaxing, we could walk to the nearby Walgreens for snacks and went to 2 restaraunts that are only a few blocks away, but better to walk, the taxi fare for less than a mile was high.
Have fun in Puerto Rico, it was a great vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very disappointed with this hotel after reading all the great reviews. Just came back from 3 nights at this resort and given the VERY EXPENSIVE rates we expected much better.
This is probaby the most expensive Courtyard in the network... charging upwards of $200/night, where the same building somewhere else could not charge more than $75... Just an average Courtyard on a beautiful beach.
When you are paying an extortionate 16% resort fee, you expect to have the capacity of relaxing and enjoying yourself... This wasn't the case on our Thanksgiving trip.
Apparently there was a wedding being planned for tonight, Saturday night and this wedding was probably more important than ruining a loyal member's holiday...
Tents were being put up and down in the area around the pool since the day we arrived (Wednesday).How can you relax by the pool if you have construction workers shouting and hammering all morning long by an area where guests paying $200+ a night were supposed to be relaxing.
Why do they put up tents 2-3 days before the event, only to take them down later when the event hasn't even occurred?
Is an event more important than the enjoyment of their guests?
The beach area was more pleasant, but the surf is a little bit too rough to just go for a relaxing swim... The guys setting up the beach chairs were the only highlight of this trip.
The front desk was absolutely clueless most of the time, clueless when I asked about the possibility of taking a bus to Old San Juan (which I had read on other reviews, seeing that a roundtrip by taxi will set you back $50) and clueless and rude at the time of me asking for a late check-out (I am a Platinum MR member, and I get late checkouts as late as 4PM in every hotel in the network, apparently not here). I only got a 1PM check out... and they barked when I asked for a mere 2:00
Definitely rent a car if you still plan on staying here (and you shouldn't) because the closest restaurants are a 5-6 block walk away which becomes impossible during the frequent tropical downpours that can happen at anytime in SJ...Rendering you subject to an (again) extortionate $12 taxi ride to drive less than a mile.
Do not recommend this hotel and will return to the Marriott Resort in Condado on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We just got home from a family trip to Puerto Rico. We stayed at the Marriott Courtyard Isla Verde Resort. We had a wonderful time. Our rooms, on the eighth floor and facing the beach, were very spacious and comfortable. The views were gorgeous and, although the resort is near the airport, we were not at all bothered by airplane noise. Additionally, I think that the beds were some of the best hotel beds I've slept on in the past couple of years! The staff was very nice. Three people really made the trip extra-special for us - Angel (the resort's Concierge who patiently answered tons of questions), Daisy (at the Picante bar), and Shyam (our tour guide at El Yunque Rainforest - we booked the tour through the hotel). Additionally, I want to mention that the Banana snack bar here is perfect for snacks if you've got hungry teenagers! I would definitely recommend the Marriott Courtyard Isla Verde as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a very good hotel with friendly and helpful staff and typical Marriot quality. Wonderful walks on the beach. The restaurant choices are limited, particularly on Sun and Mon eve. There is an excellent ocean front restaurant choice with outdoor seating right on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Courtyard Carolina
Marriott Carolina
Carolina Courtyard
Carolina Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.